GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Golf 6 - Ticking/Clicking noise

vwkiwi

Hi everyone,
I am new to VW, and have a Golf 6 DSG Comfortline - i have 1500 km's on the clock and have a noise im not sure is normal.
I have only just noticed it, it could have been there from the start i am not sure.
Its a clicking/ticking noise, like someone snapping a plastic ruler or similar when i break or accelerate. I have read that it could be a leak detector activating?
Its loud first thing in the morning but i can still notice it after the enging has warmed up - however not as much.
I rang the dealer who said that i should bring it in so they can check it but have to wait 3 weeks to get in. - The dealer asked if it is when i have a/c on.. not sure what that wouldhave to do with it? It sounds like a relay clicking or something from the rear breaks? Im no mechanic.
Does anyone know what it could be?
Thanks for your help in advance.

Cheers

gerard

I have a single click/clunk sound whenever I traverse a speed hump. Still to figure out what it is. Other than that, cars very refined

vwkiwi

Took it in on Saturday

Well, still ticking and clicking along so took it into the dealer on Saturday morning. They were extreemly helpfull, although the problem was not fixed.
I went for a ride with the service manager who heard the noise and confirmed it was not normal. They tightened the suspension and checked under the car but could not fault it - They spent a good two hours on the car which was impressive for driving in off the street on Saturday.

The car is booked in for a full day to try and locate the noise.. will post after problem fixed.

MTL

hi vwkiwi,

any update on your sound issue?

i have the same thing but just take it as part of the car's weirdness.

can you kindly share your journey with us?

thanks!:thanks:

Mick431

Ready to race!
I have a single click/clunk sound whenever I traverse a speed hump. Still to figure out what it is. Other than that, cars very refined