GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Question about rev matching

lawnchair

Greetings all. I have a couple questions about rev matching. A little about me: I've been driving manual transmissions for about three years; my first was a 2008 Mazda3, and right now I'm in Japan driving a 1999 Daihatsu Mira (one of the tiny 660cc engine buggers). My next car, when I return to the States in the fall, will be a Golf, probably the 2010 or 2011. While I do have experience driving the manual transmission, I have been confused about the proper way to treat one, and have found a lot of conflicting information, so I thought I would give a shot asking my specific questions here.

So my first question is about rev matching while slowing down (to a stop, to go around a curve, etc.). I have heard variously that it is completely unnecessary in modern cars because of synchronized gear boxes, that it can help relieve wear on the synchros, that it can help but can do unnecessary damage if not done perfectly, and that it is up to personal preference and will not significantly contribute to wear and tear on the transmission. What are your takes on this? I expect responses as varied as what I have outlined about, but we'll see.

My second question is about what kind of rev matching to do. Are double-clutching (clutch in, shift to neutral, clutch out, throttle blip, clutch in, shift down, clutch out) and single-clutching (clutch in, shift to neutral, throttle blip, shift down, clutch out as I understand it, never done this one) different means to the same end, or do they do different things? The reading I have done has left me uncertain on this point.

My third question is about shifting down to accelerate, either to pass somebody or because you slowed down and now have to downshift in order to accelerate again. In this case, would it be appropriate to rev match?