GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Recent content by Dee1

1. Dee1

What air compressor do you use?

What particular brand/model of air compressor do you use for your tires? I tried a VIair 85P, but it didn't work -- air didn't flow into tires when connected. Maybe I just had a defective one, but I'm still looking for a good way to inflate tires. Your experience...?
  2. Dee1

Whats your occupation?

When I don't want to make any money, I'm a bicycle mechanic. But writing about online advertising -- as an analyst at a research company -- takes up most of my time.
  3. Dee1

GTI, Loving the Small Things

I love my new GTI for the big thing, the main thing -- how it drives, hugs the road, accelerates swiftly. But I also love a lot of small things. Here are two: When I press the "mute" button, that doesn't just shut off the sound, it's also a "pause" button. So when I press it again, my music...
  4. Dee1

Gear Ratios & Speed

After looking at dozens of websites, I am still looking for a formula for figuring out my GTI's speed based on the gear I've shifted into. I know there are websites that have calculators for this kind of thing, and there's even a thread from a couple of years ago that lists a chart for a GTI's...
  5. Dee1

What was your last car?

Like this thread's OP, I traded in an Acura TSX -- mine a 2007 model -- for my new 2011 GTI. While I liked the TSX quite a bit, two main reasons for the switch: Wanting a hatchback, to easily get a bicycle in and out (high-end bikes, they don't ride on car roofs) Wanting a car that was fun to...
  6. Dee1

Offset & Spacers ??

I'm thinking of going from the stock wheel on my 2011 GTI to another wheel. Here's how this site (Wheel Offset Calculator) tells me the changes would go: Original wheel = 7.5" width + 51 mm offset New wheel = 7" width + 54 mm offset The calculator tells me the changes will be this: Inner...
  7. Dee1

Tire Rack Categories: What's the Difference ???