GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Exhaust swap on a 2.5L 2012

ILoveGrains

I want to swap my exhaust with an exhaust of a GTI or an R but I'm not sure if it's possible, I'm new to the whole modding thing so I'm not sure.
Does anyone know which model of GTI or R exhaust is compatible to put in a 2.5L base 2012? Anything helps thank you.

somerset9

Go Kart Newbie
AFAIK the GTI exhausts are not long enough, you have to find some kind of piping to make it fit.
Also, the mk6 GTI have the dual exhaust, so you'd have to look for a mk5 exhaust which have tips only on the single side. And even then, you'll have to make up the length that's missing.

Moreover, all mk6 exhausts are 2.5", i think stock Golf/Rabbit exhaust is 2.25". Easy fix but just something to keep in mind.

If you're in the SoCal area, I might be parting ways with my Eurojet catback, should bolt right up in your 2012.

ILoveGrains

AFAIK the GTI exhausts are not long enough, you have to find some kind of piping to make it fit.
Also, the mk6 GTI have the dual exhaust, so you'd have to look for a mk5 exhaust which have tips only on the single side. And even then, you'll have to make up the length that's missing.

Moreover, all mk6 exhausts are 2.5", i think stock Golf/Rabbit exhaust is 2.25". Easy fix but just something to keep in mind.

If you're in the SoCal area, I might be parting ways with my Eurojet catback, should bolt right up in your 2012.
yeah I'm actually from SoCal, how much would you like for your Eurojet catback?
But overall if I wanted a dual or quad exhaust I would have to make adjustments to the piping?
One of the main reasons why I wanted the GTI or R exhaust was to fit a diffuser on it, but I might just find a universal fit one and install an exhaust that is dual side.

Wascally Wabbit1

Drag Racing Champion
yeah I'm actually from SoCal, how much would you like for your Eurojet catback?
But overall if I wanted a dual or quad exhaust I would have to make adjustments to the piping?