GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

2010 GTI vs 2010 WRX

spessx

Ready to race!
So I've been saving up and planning to buy a WRX for about 6 months now. I went out and test drove both of them on the same roads within 20 minutes of each other on Saturday. I wanted to see if anyone else has done the same. Here's what I found:

GTI:
Very refined
Higher paint quality
Much higher interior quality (I'd say it rivals my wife's '06 bmw 530!)
Smooth drive train
Much better handling
Much better stereo
No torque steer (I hate front wheel drives and torque steer in particular)
Better fuel mileage
6 spd transmission

WRX:
It's super fast compared to the GTI. I mean SUPER fast.
The brakes feel much better.
The interior look/felt pretty economy car like
The suspension was sloppy and didn't have much steering feel
The drive train was coarse but made some cool sounds
WRX seemed to have more room overall
It has crazy straight line potential that the GTI would never be able to match

Pricing will be about the same on both cars so that's a wash. Anyone else got any feedback? Right now I'm leaning towards the GTI.

-S

darknightohio1

Ready to race!
Subaru paint quality is crap. (Very soft clear, very thin, and is prone to chipping.)

Subarus are known for great engines, and drivetrains. (I had an 04 WRX for 5 years and very few things went wrong aside from the crappy paint and the very thin sheet metal. From what I understand the sheet metal on the 2010 WRX is also very thin.

Aftermarket is large for both cars, but the Nasioc community is hard to beat.

I went for the GTI because of the great interior, paint quality, handling, Xenons, and I out grew the modding bug. Plus I feel the GTI looks better than the 08-10 WRX.

If you like to play in the snow the WRX is very nice with some snows, but I don't really care much for snow and here in Ohio we only have 2-3 really big snowfalls a year.