GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com

Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Old 08-09-2017, 10:19 AM   #1
Acoolusername
Drag Race Newbie

Drives: Vw GTI mk6
Water pump concerns

So after reading on here a lot it seems to be the water pumps constantly fail. Mine has not yet luckily. I want to be prepared if it does. I'm learning a lot from this forum but I'm a noob with this stuff. I want to know what the signs are. I'm guessing of course the fluid will be low under the hood. I drive an hour to work every day and wondered what would happen if the car overheated on the highway. Do you let it sit for a while before driving again? Is there a certain temp that you don't let it get past on the gauge?

Btw this forum is a gold mine for maintenance and repairs.
Acoolusername is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 11:02 AM   #2
ahard48
Rally Car Newbie

Drives: '14 GTI Wolfsburg Powered By Paypal
Just keep on eye on it, check the reservoir once in a while. Your low coolant light will go on if its leaking below min. Id keep a small bottle of G2 coolant(with distilled water) in the trunk just in case this happens you can top off. If you see leakage contact dealer for replacement.
APR Stage 1 l APR Carbonio Intake 1+ 2 l OEM Roof Rack l DeAutoKey l Nokya 2500k Fogs l 35% Tint l CW Rear Inlay l HPA shifter/42dd bushings l P3 Vent Gauge l ST Coilovers l Eurojet DP l Beluga Exhaust
ahard48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 11:36 AM   #3
Acoolusername
Drag Race Newbie

Thank you for the reply. Is covered under a recall or warranty? Mine is a 2012.
Old 08-09-2017, 01:15 PM   #4
ahard48
Rally Car Newbie