GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2018, 08:10 AM   #925
spicypiel
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT TDI 170ps
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 89
Yeah I noticed it doesn't save all my volume settings on 5314, calls are resetting to quiet and if I fix that volume then map navigation is quiet.
spicypiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 08:21 AM   #926
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spicypiel View Post
Which android phone? If it's slow in normal use then it'll be slow on the head unit.
Works smooth as one would expect on a flagship handset.
Sony Xperia XZ... Awful phone.
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 08:22 AM   #927
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gokturks View Post
I was try galaxy s7 and s8. Galaxy s7 work slow then s8 . Not hu only depens your phone work slow or not . Carplay work well. I try mib II on 2017 jetta belive me mibII slow then rcd330. Android auto work with 187A 256mb ram and work fine.
So are you saying it's my phone then?
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:28 AM   #928
spicypiel
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT TDI 170ps
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 89
I noticed a difference between the Sony X performance and the HTC10 I'm using now if that matters much, not much inside apps but lag changing between music and maps usually - that isn't there on the HTC10. If you can borrow a friends Android (something nice like a pixel or galaxy s8) to rule it out that'd help.

Factory resetting and not relying on hybrid SD Card storage would probably make the world of difference to the responsiveness of Android Auto though.

On paper it's quite a fast phone, so not sure why it's so slow in normal use.
spicypiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:47 AM   #929
spicypiel
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT TDI 170ps
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 89
Mirrorlink is awful and basically useless compared to android auto. If it wasn't so bad I'm sure the demand for the Android Auto firmware wouldn't be so high!
spicypiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:51 AM   #930
Mr_Dog
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GLI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Toronto
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIDrive View Post
So are you saying it's my phone then?
Yes, it is your phone! What phone do you use for Carplay?

All the heavy lifting for Android Auto & Apple Carplay is done by your phone and just projected to the screen.
Mr_Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:55 AM   #931
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spicypiel View Post
I noticed a difference between the Sony X performance and the HTC10 I'm using now if that matters much, not much inside apps but lag changing between music and maps usually - that isn't there on the HTC10. If you can borrow a friends Android (something nice like a pixel or galaxy s8) to rule it out that'd help.

Factory resetting and not relying on hybrid SD Card storage would probably make the world of difference to the responsiveness of Android Auto though.

On paper it's quite a fast phone, so not sure why it's so slow in normal use.
Yeah my mate has an S8 which i'm hoping to test at some point. My phone does need factory resetting i think... it's been awfully slow for a while now, constantly overheats.
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:56 AM   #932
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gokturks View Post
For Sony you dont need to use android auto. It will work with mirrorlink as well full screen. Because mirrorlink brend sony
The Xperia XZ doesn't have Mirrorlink, i looked into it yesterday.
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:57 AM   #933
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Dog View Post
Yes, it is your phone! What phone do you use for Carplay?

All the heavy lifting for Android Auto & Apple Carplay is done by your phone and just projected to the screen.
I used an iPhone 8. Hoping to use my mates S8 to test Android Auto to definitely pin it down to my phone, i'm pretty sure it is.
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:58 AM   #934
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
I've read that they are going to make Android Auto work over Bluetooth... Is this gonna apply to the RCD330 you reckon?
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 10:00 AM   #935
spicypiel
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: Golf Mk5 GT TDI 170ps
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 89
It's wifi direct, it's being announced at CES this year, and no it won't be supported on the RCD330.
spicypiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 10:03 AM   #936
TDIDrive
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spicypiel View Post
It's wifi direct, it's being announced at CES this year, and no it won't be supported on the RCD330.
Oh okay, mybad...
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 10:16 AM   #937
sorun343
Newbie
 
Drives: Golf6
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: asia
Posts: 4
i using mi max, the android auto pretty ok on response . Except waze freezes , any one know what to set for waze?
sorun343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 10:19 AM   #938
sorun343
Newbie
 
Drives: Golf6
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: asia
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by spicypiel View Post
Yeah thanks for testing it before lots of people broke their head unit.

yeah, thanks for sharing . gokturks!

BTW , have you try contact your seller see if they can ship a 5515 with 1gb ram and the latest firmware?
sorun343 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.