GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > DIY Guides and Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2018, 01:56 AM   #1
typeronin
Touring Car Newbie
 
typeronin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW GTI
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 191
Center Console Buttons

Can someone tell me what kind of buttons the TPMS, parking sensor, etc buttons are?

I mean these:

I'm wondering which, if any of them are wired to be a normally open, momentary toggle switch.
__________________
Instagram: @edlauphoto
typeronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 07:51 AM   #2
TimS
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: '12 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 344
Double Apex sells button kits that fit our center consoles, you can get them configured as momentary.
TimS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 02:39 PM   #3
Cbell3186
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: 2011 DSG
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 69
I got a couple of them off ebay, with the wire harnesses. I think they are all momentary. The 2nd and 4th in the picture. I wired them up as a mute button for my radar detector and the garage door button for my opener. there are light inside to match the interior console lighting too.
Cbell3186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 09:30 PM   #4
typeronin
Touring Car Newbie
 
typeronin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW GTI
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimS View Post
Double Apex sells button kits that fit our center consoles, you can get them configured as momentary.
No disrespect to those guys but I'd much rather buy the part from eBay and save myself $50.

Those guys put in the works to make the OEM parts end-user friendly but I wire planes by day so making the harness myself takes a few minutes...and all my components are aircraft grade!

Just wanted to know if the switches are a certain config. I couldn't find a pinout for the part anywhere.
__________________
Instagram: @edlauphoto
typeronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 12:33 PM   #5
Cbell3186
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: 2011 DSG
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 69
The 3 that I bought were all momentary.
Cbell3186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 09:47 PM   #6
typeronin
Touring Car Newbie
 
typeronin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW GTI
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cbell3186 View Post
The 3 that I bought were all momentary.
Thanks for the info. Just regular OEM buttons, right?
__________________
Instagram: @edlauphoto
typeronin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.