GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2017, 05:58 AM   #589
The Red Warrior
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: Mk5 GTI
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourne96 View Post
So I got the 330 Desay model. I drive a 2011 Jetta with two tweeters in the front pillar and 4 door speakers. For some reason, the driver side door speaker is now cutting in an out. I don’t know if I didn’t notice this before or what, but it is frustrating. Could it be possible the 330 doesn’t have enough juice as the RCD510 has, thus cutting out? Or could it be the speaker just going bad? It is only the driver side that does it. I know the 2011 has reports of electrical issues. Some even said it being winter time could have something to do with it, as the issue seems to go away in the summertime...

Besides that, I love this HU. CarPlay works great. Sometimes Spotify gets buggy, but a simple close and reopen fixes it. I hope the HU isn’t faulty or anything, shipping it back would be expensive!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I very much doubt it is anything to do with the head unit. They are both 4x20 watts unless I'm mistaken. It could be a speaker going bad but it also could be broken wiring (or broken insulation causing a short) in the door wiring harness.
This happened to me recently. The mid and the bass speakers would sometimes drop out leaving only the tweeter working on the driver's door. Sometimes giving the door a whack or opening and closing it again would get them working.
Anyway, I decided to install new speakers and made custom aluminum mounts. However with my broken insulation they would short to ground. That's when I took out the wiring harness to find many broken bits of insulation.
I have a photo if you want to see it.

Also, you can try swapping the wires around on the plug going in to the head unit. You only need to swap the middle 4 wires of the 8 speaker wires as these are the ones responsible for the front doors. The wiring diagram will be on the back of the head unit as well. Then if the passenger door speakers stop working then it could be the wiring before it reaches the doors.
It was a simple enough job for me as I already had the door card and outer door skin off (do Mk6 door skins unbolt too, I don't know). Otherwise it's a lot more work.

Last edited by The Red Warrior; 11-12-2017 at 06:11 AM.
The Red Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 08:44 PM   #590
Bourne96
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Red Warrior View Post
I very much doubt it is anything to do with the head unit. They are both 4x20 watts unless I'm mistaken. It could be a speaker going bad but it also could be broken wiring (or broken insulation causing a short) in the door wiring harness.
This happened to me recently. The mid and the bass speakers would sometimes drop out leaving only the tweeter working on the driver's door. Sometimes giving the door a whack or opening and closing it again would get them working.
Anyway, I decided to install new speakers and made custom aluminum mounts. However with my broken insulation they would short to ground. That's when I took out the wiring harness to find many broken bits of insulation.
I have a photo if you want to see it.

Also, you can try swapping the wires around on the plug going in to the head unit. You only need to swap the middle 4 wires of the 8 speaker wires as these are the ones responsible for the front doors. The wiring diagram will be on the back of the head unit as well. Then if the passenger door speakers stop working then it could be the wiring before it reaches the doors.
It was a simple enough job for me as I already had the door card and outer door skin off (do Mk6 door skins unbolt too, I don't know). Otherwise it's a lot more work.


Thanks for the detailed response! Thatís what someone was saying as well, it could definitely be wiring. Iíve felt that the speaker was always a little wonky as even with my old HU it would always be distorted, but it never just outright cut out. Iíll definitely try swapping the wires first before ordering a new set of speakers, just to confirm.

If you could provide a picture of the broken insulation, Iíd definitely appreciate it!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bourne96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 04:02 AM   #591
Bourne96
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Newstart_2015 also has the 187b for $199 OBO now. Lost out on $20




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bourne96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 04:54 AM   #592
The Red Warrior
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: Mk5 GTI
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bourne96 View Post

If you could provide a picture of the broken insulation, I’d definitely appreciate it!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here you go:





And after I put some heat shrink over it.



Mind you, although I've fixed the problem of it shorting out, it will continue to flex in the broken bits of insulation and may eventually cause a break in the wires themselves. Then I'll have to get the revised loom part.

Last edited by The Red Warrior; 11-14-2017 at 04:59 AM. Reason: More photos
The Red Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:11 PM   #593
Bourne96
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Thank you for the pics!

Iím currently looking at getting new speakers, and people suggested that I get new wires anyway, especially if I want high powered speakers. In that case, Iíd be replacing the wire that is currently bad anyway, right? I might just go that route since I do plan on replacing my front speakers soon anyway. Wonder how much new wiring would cost..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bourne96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 12:02 PM   #594
The Yetti
Oval Champion
 
Drives: 2013 CSG GTI
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Queens, NY/District of Columbia
Posts: 156
Got mine in last night, took about 40 mins to install mostly because I am a complete idiot and didnt realize how to take the actual plugs off the old unit.

Sound quality is fantastic, everything is very snappy which made me realize that's something I never really appreciated about my RNS315 which was also snappy.

MFI is doesn't display any music or nav as expected. Never really used it other than just for the speed and menus and what not.

Do have a question, during the installation of my unit, I ended up snapping the harness lever thing for the quadlock (an idiot as seen above). The lock is completely off so I just pushed in the harness super tight and then reinstalled anything. There shouldn't be a problem of the unit becoming unhooked or any other issues right? I took it for a vigorous drive on some rough roads and even pounded the dash to hear for any rattles from the extra cables not connected into the new unit and had no issues.
__________________
'13 CSG/APR Stage 1 V2.1/Carbonio Intake/Magnaflow CBE/H&R 26-22/DG Springs/Depo Tails/EuroSwitch/UB and RB/Hawk 5.0 Pads/SS lines/TyrolSport Brake Bushings/Enkei RPF1 17x7.5/Conti DWS06 225-45/VagCom Tweaks/35% Tint/DeAutoKey LEDs: Interior kit, Reverse, Front-Rear Turn Signals, Fogs/RCD330+/
The Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 06:29 AM   #595
sohe68
Newbie
 
Drives: 2013 Sharan TDI
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by spicypiel View Post
Anyone purchased this yet, if so how long did it take to arrive? 30 to 50 days seems a lot for the shipping price they're charging.
RCD330G Plus - R340G

Edit: seller claims 4-7 days for Europe...
I got this one, took five days from order to delivery (Sweden). Have not hooked it up yet, awaits a converter for the OEM (RGB) reverse camera. Hopefully it will work.
sohe68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:49 PM   #596
therealmattryun
Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 GTI Autobahn Edition
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: California
Posts: 1
Hey guys, picked up my 2011 GTI last week and ordered a RCD 330g that night. Got it in the mail Tuesday and installed it on the spot. Now it has just shut off on me. It seemed to have crashed while I was driving, then I couldn't get it to power back on. Still charges my iPhone when plugged in to the USB, but otherwise nothing. Anyone have anything experience anything similar?
therealmattryun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 07:58 AM   #597
scsikid
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 GTI - Manual
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinamack View Post
Finally got some pics:

https://imgur.com/a/MWngD

not sure if you guys can see that.

as for OEM - most likely, it sure feels that way. The vendor did put their own sticker over the OEM one so Im not sure if it was a modified firmware or not. Not sure how we can find out.

For quality - dont get me wrong, it still feels really good. My comment is mostly for volume/tuner dials. It does feel as...dampened? However Im comparing it to my german made MK6 whilst remembering the new MK7 made in Mexico didnt feel as nice.

Not sure if I can help with usb extensions has I currently do not have any. If I find one at work, I'll try it out and report back.
I live in your area, just wanted to ask, so AM radio doesn't work? From all that I've read it doesn't but just wanted to be sure.
scsikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 01:56 PM   #598
vinamack
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: 2011 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsikid View Post
I live in your area, just wanted to ask, so AM radio doesn't work? From all that I've read it doesn't but just wanted to be sure.
the radio antenna that they shipped only allows for 1 radio connection. You pick either AM or FM. My adapter came with AM. Installed it and wondered why FM was just silence. I moved the wire over to FM side on the adapter and FM works great. Alternatively I believe you can also combine the wire so you get both or get another adapter. I was too lazy and I dont listen to AM much (at all)
vinamack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:48 AM   #599
slobodan48
Drag Race Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 Volkswagen GTI
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 51
Is it possible to play video off a memory card on the rcd330 plus with carplay? I have an RNS510, not sure if its worth upgrading.
slobodan48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:55 PM   #600
Egbert
Newbie
 
Drives:
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
Hi all

Iím thinking of buying an RCD330 for the CarPlay functionality but am worried Iíll miss some aspects of my RCD310 DAB.

Thereís not much information out there about the radio options on the unit - wondering if anyone in the UK can answer the following?

- Does RDS definitely work or not? And if so, what RDS standards does the unit support? Radio Text? Alternate Frequencies? Programme Identification? Traffic? Etc etc.

- Does the unit allow saving of custom station logos to the radio presets via SD card in the same way the new MIB2 units do?

- Has anyone tried fitting an aftermarket DAB adapter?

- Does the unit recognise existing MDI or Aux inputs via the centre armrest?

Thanks!
Egbert is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.