GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 05:06 PM   #15
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkerjake View Post
Arin, can you verify if the 2010 ECU was updated? I've been hearing rumors that stage 1 and 2 for the 2010's has been tweaked. Yea or nay?
Yup. All the North American CCTA/CBFA 2.0 TSI's are updated.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:41 PM   #16
dbest6808
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 GTI DSG
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 542
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
Yup. All the North American CCTA/CBFA 2.0 TSI's are updated.
So Arin here's my question I already have stage 1. I'm installing the RSC Turboback and will go to stage 2. Will the stage 2 flash be at no cost?
I may do the install myself or go to my local APR here in White Plains NY which also happens to be my VW dealer.
dbest6808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:21 PM   #17
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
If you have APR stage 1, we do not charge you for the stage 2 file.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:10 PM   #18
dwp2
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 225
Stage 1 Tweaks?

Arin,

Can you share any details on the differences between the old and new Stage 1 flashes?

Can I get updated, without removing the ECU, since I already have a Stage 1 flash?
__________________
2010 CSG GTI | 2D 6MT | APR Stage 1 | Carbonio Stage 1 | S3 FMIC
dwp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:46 PM   #19
Stevec717
FIA GT Newbie
 
Stevec717's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 VW GTI MKVI
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 725
Stupid question maybe, but does an APR Program require removal/modification of the ECU, or just a software reflash?

Thx
Steve

Also, do you have any test data or specs on how much torque the stock clutch can handle?
Stevec717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:44 AM   #20
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwp2 View Post
Arin,

Can you share any details on the differences between the old and new Stage 1 flashes?
3 years after the release of our first stage 1 & 2 TSI tunes, APR motorsport and our APR engineering teams have jumped deep into the TSI engine and even slept with pistons, injectors and turbos on their pillows at night. They've learned quite a bit, sweet talked the turbos and massaged the injectors. The result? Better tunes. :-)

Quote:
Can I get updated, without removing the ECU, since I already have a Stage 1 flash?
Every now and then their will be a stubborn ECU that needs to be pulled to reflash but for the most part, it's all through the port.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:45 AM   #21
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevec717 View Post
Stupid question maybe, but does an APR Program require removal/modification of the ECU, or just a software reflash?
Removal. Yes.

Modification. No.

It's just a software update. :-)
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 06:00 AM   #22
A23
Go Kart Newbie
 
A23's Avatar
 
Drives: MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
Removal. Yes.

Modification. No.

It's just a software update. :-)
I just got the 6-hour trial from APR Malaysia last week and they did not need to remove the ECU. Just flashing through OBDII Port. Can you clarify?
A23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 06:21 AM   #23
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
Probably the encryption is a US thing, people from around the globe are all reporting chipping using only the OBDII port, i sent out my ECU to APR US, they are probably not going to open up the casing of the ECU.
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 06:32 AM   #24
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgary View Post
I suppose that answers your question (emphasis mine)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
It would probably be better to run the 95 ron file.

Basically, if your pulling timing because the fuel is not up to snuff, the ECU will pull a little more than it needs to pull, just to be safe. It may actually pull enough to make your timing advance less than what you would see on the 95 ron file. You can grab a vag-com, log, and test it our yourself to see.
That's a good point, i have been reading about this topic before and the car should run better on the appropriate map.

Another question..!

Is it OK to switch to stock mode with the APR 3" DP installed? will i get a check engine light for the dp?
Is it BAD to have the stage2 software with the stock DP?

I am asking this because i will be receiving the DP and chipped ECU from APR in like a week and half or so, i will install the ECU on my own at home and then drive my car to a good shop that will install the DP, should i switch to stock mode first?
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:19 AM   #25
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by A23 View Post
I just got the 6-hour trial from APR Malaysia last week and they did not need to remove the ECU. Just flashing through OBDII Port. Can you clarify?
Yes. Not all ECU's have the new encryption. North American ECU's were hit first and the hardest.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:24 AM   #26
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by xHeartcoreboyx View Post
Is it OK to switch to stock mode with the APR 3" DP installed? will i get a check engine light for the dp?
Is it BAD to have the stage2 software with the stock DP?
No CEL & it's not bad to do. :-)

Quote:
I am asking this because i will be receiving the DP and chipped ECU from APR in like a week and half or so, i will install the ECU on my own at home and then drive my car to a good shop that will install the DP, should i switch to stock mode first?
To be safe, that would be the best idea.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:35 AM   #27
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
Ohhh the excitement! thanks for the heads up
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:40 AM   #28
omgturbo!
Formula 5000 Driver
 
omgturbo!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI, blk full option - 6spd MT
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, CA
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbest6808 View Post
So Arin here's my question I already have stage 1. I'm installing the RSC Turboback and will go to stage 2. Will the stage 2 flash be at no cost?
I may do the install myself or go to my local APR here in White Plains NY which also happens to be my VW dealer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
If you have APR stage 1, we do not charge you for the stage 2 file.
i was just about to ask this but nevermind lol thanks!
__________________
REVO Stage 1 | Neuspeed P-Flo intake | Custom exhaust | Eurojet Downpipe | Yellow Nokya Fogs | BSH mount insert | VF Engineering Short Shifter | Tiquan pipe (Noise Pipe Delete) | 30% Front, 3% Rear Tint | 1000w JL Audio Amp and W7 Subwoofer | Video-In-Motion | Klii Vinyl rear/wheel insert | Smoked Sidemarkers | Everything LED | VagCOM by me!!
I have VagCOM! | My Feedback Thread! | HellaFast Autosport
omgturbo! is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.