GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 01:19 PM   #1
pdan
Autocross Newbie
 
pdan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 VW Jetta TDI (sold), 2013 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastern PA - Alabama
Posts: 89
No oil pan bolt??

Hey guys, I figured I'd check with someone before I did something stupid. Going to change the oil today, and saw it was a 19mm bolt online that needed to come out to change to oil. Go down, and where I thought the bolt is there was this





So am I being completely dumb and just missing something, sorry this is my first actual oil change ha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:29 PM   #2
ZiggyMKVI
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ZiggyMKVI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black GTI
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Red Lion PA
Posts: 541
Looks like someone decided to put in a different style bolt. Where did you get the oil changed before?
__________________
2010 GTI _ mods: Magnaflow-Catback, DG short shifter, BSH catch can, Neuspeed Throttle body and Discharge Pipe, ESC intake, R8 Coilpacks, Forge Motosports coilovers, Rotiform TMB 18 x 8.5, SPM Catless DP, Stage 2 Unitronic, ARM front mount
IG: Scottziggs
ZiggyMKVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:33 PM   #3
pdan
Autocross Newbie
 
pdan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 VW Jetta TDI (sold), 2013 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastern PA - Alabama
Posts: 89
This is the first time I've changed the oil, I bought it CPO back in November. So that is definitely where the oil pan bolt should go, now I just have to find something that will fit it I guess.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:51 PM   #4
1ashchuckton
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
1ashchuckton's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Carbon Steel Grey DSG
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 502
That is the oem bolt. My 2013 has one of those. When I went to the dealer for some crush washers I asked the parts man about that bolt. He handed me the exact same one & said it was normal.

Make sure to replace the crush washer otherwise you'll have a drip.

It's a T45 Torx bit. I bought a nice set at NAPA.


Last edited by 1ashchuckton; 05-18-2017 at 02:05 PM.
1ashchuckton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 02:05 PM   #5
ZiggyMKVI
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ZiggyMKVI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black GTI
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Red Lion PA
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ashchuckton View Post
That is the oem bolt. My 2013 has one of those. When I went to the dealer for some crush washers I asked the parts man about that bolt. He handed me the exact same one & said it was normal.

Make sure to replace the crush washer otherwise you'll have a drip.
Ah my 2010 has a hex head bolt, not one like that. I have since gone to a ecs magnetic drain plug tho.
__________________
2010 GTI _ mods: Magnaflow-Catback, DG short shifter, BSH catch can, Neuspeed Throttle body and Discharge Pipe, ESC intake, R8 Coilpacks, Forge Motosports coilovers, Rotiform TMB 18 x 8.5, SPM Catless DP, Stage 2 Unitronic, ARM front mount
IG: Scottziggs
ZiggyMKVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 02:24 PM   #6
pdan
Autocross Newbie
 
pdan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 VW Jetta TDI (sold), 2013 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastern PA - Alabama
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ashchuckton View Post
That is the oem bolt. My 2013 has one of those. When I went to the dealer for some crush washers I asked the parts man about that bolt. He handed me the exact same one & said it was normal.



Make sure to replace the crush washer otherwise you'll have a drip.



It's a T45 Torx bit. I bought a nice set at NAPA.





Ahhh thanks a bunch. I too have an ecs plug I'll be replacing it with. On the way to get yet another torx bit ha


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 02:41 PM   #7
notovicrious
Formula 5000 Driver
 
notovicrious's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTi 2.0T
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdan View Post
Hey guys, I figured I'd check with someone before I did something stupid. Going to change the oil today, and saw it was a 19mm bolt online that needed to come out to change to oil. Go down, and where I thought the bolt is there was this





So am I being completely dumb and just missing something, sorry this is my first actual oil change ha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


It is a bolt but not the hex bolt you probably imagined. This is a T45 torx head. I think the mk5 is a hex I'm not positive on that. Either way if you own and do work on a mk6 a fine torx set is a must have along with a "triple square" set. Just be careful not to confuse torx with Allen as you may get it the first time but will eventually strip this head using the wrong tool. Good luck and don't be afraid to ask us all for questions bro!
notovicrious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:43 PM   #8
FocalPoint
Formula 3000 Champion
 
FocalPoint's Avatar
 
Drives: MKV GTI/MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 4,607
Had this one my new long block after my old one took a shit. I was just as confused. It works fine though, and I never replaced the crush washer and have had zero leaks since.
__________________
FocalPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 11:33 PM   #9
ithrashmotors
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
ithrashmotors's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk6 gti
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San jose
Posts: 428
I prefer the t45 over the hex plug.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
APR stage 1//Carbonio intake//R8 coilpacks//GFB DV+
ithrashmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:22 AM   #10
BudgetPhoenix
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 09 GLI
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 408
My 09 had that bolt, but I ordered a new one and it appears it was superseded with the 19mm hex one.
BudgetPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:59 AM   #11
notovicrious
Formula 5000 Driver
 
notovicrious's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTi 2.0T
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithrashmotors View Post
I prefer the t45 over the hex plug.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Same.
notovicrious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 12:08 PM   #12
pdan
Autocross Newbie
 
pdan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 VW Jetta TDI (sold), 2013 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastern PA - Alabama
Posts: 89
Soooooo went and bought a t45 and big surprise it doesn't fit. It's slightly too large. Does anyone know of a standard bolt that they would have used instead, otherwise I'm just gonna go out and try and buy a whole set


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 12:58 PM   #13
1ashchuckton
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
1ashchuckton's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Carbon Steel Grey DSG
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 502
It's rather odd that a T45 doesn't fit yours. I just went out in the garage & checked again & yes it's a T45. The one in my pan was removed & reinstalled with the T45 & the spare on the garage shelf is also a T45. I'm at a real loss to explain why your T45 does not fit.
1ashchuckton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 01:37 PM   #14
pdan
Autocross Newbie
 
pdan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 VW Jetta TDI (sold), 2013 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastern PA - Alabama
Posts: 89
So I have no idea why a t45 didn't really fit, but a t40 was too small. So what I ended up doing (for better or worse) was taking a hammer and I managed to hammer the torx into the bolt lol. It went in and I was able to get it out.

I have no idea why it didn't want to go in, there didn't seem to be any deposits or anything on the bolt head. Anyway got it out, changed the oil and replaced it with an ecs tuning drainplug, I feel a lot better now ha.



Thanks everyone for the help, should go much smoother next time


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pdan is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.