GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2017, 05:39 PM   #1
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
Helix soundbox balance problem

I had my soundbox installed by a stereo shop. I noticed after it was installed that the sound just wasn't right. Also the front speakers were louder then the rear. So I'm thinking it just needs to be programmed. I got it programmed at a dealership. All that did was make my subwoofer sound better. So I did a balance check. It turns out that only the right channel is coming out of all 8 speakers and the front speakers are still louder then the front. Anybody know if it was installed or programmed correctly?

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 08:54 AM   #2
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,764
take it back to where you got it installed and let them know its not performing properly and would like it fixed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 10:00 AM   #3
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
I did they say they installed it right. They told me to find out what could possibly be wrong with it and let them know

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:11 AM   #4
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motrellim View Post
I did they say they installed it right. They told me to find out what could possibly be wrong with it and let them know

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
what? lol did you talk to a manager... have them sit in your car and be like how the fuck could this be right? I would want compensation if they arent willing to fix it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:17 AM   #5
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
They said it might be the amp.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:34 AM   #6
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motrellim View Post
They said it might be the amp.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
yeah i would be like well something is wrong so please fix it and if you cant thing there needs to be a offer of something else to replace it or fix it or compensation or something.. but always lead off with that you just want it working properly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:35 AM   #7
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
Installing the soundbox in an MK6 GTi 2-door they don't have to repin any wires?

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:13 AM   #8
snobrdrdan
Formula 2 Champion
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 7,710
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
Not many dealers (if at all) have the programmer on hand. Was it truly coded?

There are some guys on golfmk7.com that rent it out for $15 or $20. My advice would be to rent the programmer & code it for a 2 door MK6 specifically (file #43 on the SD card)

See here:
http://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28448
or
http://www.golfmk7.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29190
__________________
2017 Passat VR6
2017 Passat R-line
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:31 AM   #9
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
Yes a dealership coded it. I'm just wondering if wires need to be repined or not because I have a two door MK6 GTi

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:54 AM   #10
snobrdrdan
Formula 2 Champion
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 7,710
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
You have to depin a couple wires on the radio harness & then insert the Helix harness wires instead.
And there are special harnesses used on the older radio, in your MK6
It's plug & play essentially & only installs one way. (it'd be pretty hard to screw up)
If they didn't do that right....it wouldn't be working at all (your door speakers or the Helix).



Did they change the balance/fader at all?
__________________
2017 Passat VR6
2017 Passat R-line
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 01:25 AM   #11
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
You have to depin a couple wires on the radio harness & then insert the Helix harness wires instead.
And there are special harnesses used on the older radio, in your MK6
It's plug & play essentially & only installs one way. (it'd be pretty hard to screw up)
If they didn't do that right....it wouldn't be working at all (your door speakers or the Helix).



Did they change the balance/fader at all?
Hello, thanks for the response. If they didn't change the brown and black wire what would happen? Would it turn on at all? When you asked if they

Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
You have to depin a couple wires on the radio harness & then insert the Helix harness wires instead.
And there are special harnesses used on the older radio, in your MK6
It's plug & play essentially & only installs one way. (it'd be pretty hard to screw up)
If they didn't do that right....it wouldn't be working at all (your door speakers or the Helix).



Did they change the balance/fader at all?


Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 01:30 AM   #12
Motrellim
Ready to race!
 
Motrellim's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Shadow Blue
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Maryland
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
You have to depin a couple wires on the radio harness & then insert the Helix harness wires instead.
And there are special harnesses used on the older radio, in your MK6
It's plug & play essentially & only installs one way. (it'd be pretty hard to screw up)
If they didn't do that right....it wouldn't be working at all (your door speakers or the Helix).



Did they change the balance/fader at all?
Hi, thanks for the response. What would happen if they did not repin in the wires? Also I don't understand when you asked if they changed the balance\ fader. You can change that?

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
Motrellim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 03:28 AM   #13
snobrdrdan
Formula 2 Champion
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 7,710
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
If they didn't repin it, it wouldn't work (that's where the Helix is getting power from)

And the balance/fader is done thru the radio itself
(left & right and front & back adjustments)

That picture above is from VW as a "tech tip" for the techs at the dealership when installing. I'd take it back to the stereo shop and show them to confirm that it's hooked up properly.
__________________
2017 Passat VR6
2017 Passat R-line
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 05:53 AM   #14
beygan
Oval Champion
 
Drives: GTI 2013
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 169
Congrats on your install. I bought a helix soundbox but haven't gone around to having it installed. The dealership kept avoiding my queries of installation for some reason. Hopefully your amp isn't faulty. It could be the programming. How much did your shop charge you for the install?
__________________
'13 GTI 3-Door
K&N Intake
FK Coilovers
APR Stage 1
beygan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.