GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2017, 06:47 PM   #1
Dtractus
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
ECU Broken

Hello guys! First of all sorry for my bad English. (From Turkey)
I have a question about ECU.
My ecu broken. I didnt find my ecu (03L 906 023 A) in Turkey. I found Caddy ECU ( 03L 906 023 PK).
My friend copied my ECU for Re-Map.
So, can i use Caddy ECU after change my original eeprom and install my old map?

Thank you all.


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
Dtractus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 10:06 AM   #2
MLue1
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtractus View Post
Hello guys! First of all sorry for my bad English. (From Turkey)
I have a question about ECU.
My ecu broken. I didnt find my ecu (03L 906 023 A) in Turkey. I found Caddy ECU ( 03L 906 023 PK).
My friend copied my ECU for Re-Map.
So, can i use Caddy ECU after change my original eeprom and install my old map?

Thank you all.


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
I take it you have a 1.6TDI? I don't know nothing about the "Caddy". If you already have the ECU, you could give it a try and reflash using K-Tag, that would ensure a complete rewrite of the ECU, at this point you have nothing to loose. If you haven't already purchased the ECU then I would pass and search eBay for one from the VW Polo, prolly more compatible with the same features of the Golf. Those last letters numbers in the last part of the part number (PK) make a difference.

Good Luck !
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 10:13 AM   #3
Dtractus
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLue1 View Post
I take it you have a 1.6TDI? I don't know nothing about the "Caddy". If you already have the ECU, you could give it a try and reflash using K-Tag, that would ensure a complete rewrite of the ECU, at this point you have nothing to loose. If you haven't already purchased the ECU then I would pass and search eBay for one from the VW Polo, prolly more compatible with the same features of the Golf. Those last letters numbers in the last part of the part number (PK) make a difference.



Good Luck !


Thank you for reply!

Yes i have a 1.6 TDi. I purchased ECU.
Caddy's engine code is CAYD, mine CAYB.
I will try with K-Tag.
Also, my friend said me, HW and SW number can cause problem. Do you know anything about this problem?


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
Dtractus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 12:35 PM   #4
MLue1
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtractus View Post
Thank you for reply!

Yes i have a 1.6 TDi. I purchased ECU.
Caddy's engine code is CAYD, mine CAYB.
I will try with K-Tag.
Also, my friend said me, HW and SW number can cause problem. Do you know anything about this problem?


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
It can, there are identifying references used for compatibility. Example the "check sum" of the Tune from your car may not match the requirements of the ECU, no way to tell until you try.

To prevent the "check sum" problem you could K-Tag the "new ECU" and get the check sum off the Original Tune before you reflash with the tune from your car. You can use a program like Titinium or WinOLS to fix the check sum.

Good Luck !

Last edited by MLue1; 06-12-2017 at 12:38 PM. Reason: adding info
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 11:41 AM   #5
spacewalker
Passed Driver's Ed
 
spacewalker's Avatar
 
Drives: VW
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: EU
Posts: 10
first start engine with new ECU, then if you guy with ktag is good, he will transfer map from old to new and make new ECU as old one
spacewalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 09:15 AM   #6
MLue1
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacewalker View Post
first start engine with new ECU, then if you guy with ktag is good, he will transfer map from old to new and make new ECU as old one
If EU cars don't have immobilizer module matched to the key that will work.
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.