GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 12:25 AM   #15
Nitron
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Nitron's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI DSG Autobahn
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 526
I think it may depend on what the dealer intends to do with the car. Often times, they will auction off the car. In that case, they may even mention that the car was previously modified. If they want to add it to their "certified" inventory, they may lowball you even more if they find out the ECU has been "tampered" with. Then again, they may not even check or care.

How much is a new/used ECU? Can you find one to put in your car...then sell your tuned ECU?

What is a CC? I searched.
Nitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:31 AM   #16
GS_GTI
Formula 3000 Champion
 
GS_GTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Z51, 15 GT PP, 15 JKU Hard Rock
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Deep East SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans114 View Post
i might not buy another vw tho... i tried to sell my car to carmax and they dont want it cause they saw my catless dp. Everything is gunna be stock when presenting to vw but i feel like i should have eurocode flash it so there are no problems
Don't bother with the flash. Seriously. Just get the smog equipment back on so it will pass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
When I traded my old CC in, I just left the tune on there & put it in stock mode but didn't lock it.

So if the next owner tries switching it....maybe they'll find out/see that they have a tuned car.

Reason for putting it in stock mode though is that the next owner might not put 93 octane in it.....so it's safer to put it on the stock tune.

I'm trading in my '13 CC this week and doing the same thing. Lucky owner will get a free tune, lol
Did the same recently as well.
GS_GTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 01:38 AM   #17
snobrdrdan
Formula 2 Champion
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 7,684
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitron View Post
I think it may depend on what the dealer intends to do with the car. Often times, they will auction off the car. In that case, they may even mention that the car was previously modified. If they want to add it to their "certified" inventory, they may lowball you even more if they find out the ECU has been "tampered" with. Then again, they may not even check or care.

How much is a new/used ECU? Can you find one to put in your car...then sell your tuned ECU?

What is a CC? I searched.
No dealers that I've ever been to have taken the car thru service and had the ECU scanned to see if it's been tuned....VERY VERY unlikely to happen.

Hell, even my MK6 was tuned & had the TD1 code on it but I still got full trade-in value for it and they told me they planned on certifying it as well (but the salesman know it was tuned or had the TD1)

As for a new ECU....it costs a lot of money & then has to be programmed to the car....not really worth it.

A CC?....VW's "stylish" coupe sedan...here's my '13:


__________________
2017 Passat VR6
2017 Passat R-line
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
dealership, flash, sell, stock, tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.