GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > VW Golf R Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2017, 04:30 PM   #1
aralani
Newbie
 
Drives: '12 Golf R Rising Blue 6Sp
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3
FYI - Push Button Start Issue - 2012 Golf R (6-Speed Manual)

Just as an FYI, since I couldn't find anything about this problem:

When I bought my 2012 Golf R with push-button start back in October, the start button was odd. Sometimes it would start perfectly, and sometimes it would take a couple of pushes (or holding it down for what felt like forever), and sometimes it would require me to re-set my feet on the clutch and break and hitting the button again.

A month ago, I took it to my local mechanic (FixUmHaus in Portland), and they installed a new button for me. It was $158, and now it starts easily every time. Apparently, the button was throwing an engine code for "intermittent signal".

I hope this helps someone who gets really mad at their push-button start and wishes they could just use their keys like the good old days. ;-)
aralani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 05:16 PM   #2
ChurchXD
Drag Racing Champion
 
ChurchXD's Avatar
 
Drives: Salvaged R
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UT
Posts: 58
Vag com is wonderful when people know how to use it! 😃

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
ChurchXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 08:39 AM   #3
Schyzo
Drag Race Newbie
 
Schyzo's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 52
Or Google. There is a thread on vortex on a fix for this issue and the best of it is that it's free.

Sent from my XT1563 using Tapatalk
Schyzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 09:03 AM   #4
franco516
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
franco516's Avatar
 
Drives: gti
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lawn Guyland NY
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schyzo View Post
Or Google. There is a thread on vortex on a fix for this issue and the best of it is that it's free.

Sent from my XT1563 using Tapatalk
please post link
__________________
IG - @francotirador91
franco516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 09:17 AM   #5
Schyzo
Drag Race Newbie
 
Schyzo's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by franco516 View Post
please post link
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?t=7260946

Sent from my XT1563 using Tapatalk
Schyzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 09:54 AM   #6
franco516
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
franco516's Avatar
 
Drives: gti
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lawn Guyland NY
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schyzo View Post
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?t=7260946

Sent from my XT1563 using Tapatalk
thanks man! gotta bookmark this link.
__________________
IG - @francotirador91
franco516 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.