GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Review: Koni Sports on stock springs

MrFancypants

Autocross Champion
I've been running a set of Koni Sports for a few months now and I think I've logged enough miles to offer an experienced opinion.

Current setup:
Stock springs
Stock swaybars
Stock bumpstops (they were in good condition)
ECS Tuning front strut mounts
Audi TT front control arm bushings, rear position
Bridgestone RE760 Sport tires (cold pressure: 38 psi front, 34 rear), OEM size on stock Detroits

Expectations:
The bottom line is..... these are inexpensive, very affordable twin tube performance oriented street shocks. These are not Motons, JRZs, Ohlins, or Penskes. But keep in mind that the performance those brands comes at a price, literally. Not only do they cost more, but Ohlins recommends that you rebuild your Road & Track dampers every 19,000 street miles or 10-20 track hours. I don't have time for that. I don't need to know if the quarter I ran over was heads up or tails up, I just want to know that I ran over a quarter.

Adjustment:
I have the Konis adjusted at 1 1/4 turn from soft up front and 1 1/4 turn from soft at rear. I initially had the rears set at only 1/4 turn from soft, but rebound was so underdamped that even the slightest lift off the throttle mid corner to adjust my line upset the car as the springs decompressed with what felt like no damping slowing them down. I would like to back it off a touch and try 1 turn from soft on the rear, but I like how the car drives enough that I've prioritized other chores before going in and readjusting.

I do not expect my Konis to last forever, but it seems reasonable that this $500 set of twin tube street dampers would last longer than race dampers and maintain an acceptable level of performance for at least 50,000 miles with some track days sprinkled in.

Ride quality: