GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2017, 02:05 PM   #15
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
questions about led tails

Quote:
Originally Posted by nature boy View Post
yeah, left hand drive, canadian 2010 golf 2.5 sportline. looking at your list i'm actually thinking 04 is what i should try. there are so many diy's and a multitude of codes for various things, but i guess i can just try them all and see which one works...

thanks again


Iím in the uk and use 04 so probably wonít work for you? Iíll have a look as I did have a different list but not sure if Iíll be able to find it any more,

Worth a shot though hey!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:26 PM   #16
nature boy
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 golf sportline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 141
ugh, i just went outside and tried 04, 15, and 22, and i still get the bulb out error. i checked to see what code is being thrown and it said it is the reverse light. there is an led in there but i thought coding for led tails would include the reverse light?

at least i'm more proficient with the vcds now lol
nature boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:27 PM   #17
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by nature boy View Post
ugh, i just went outside and tried 04, 15, and 22, and i still get the bulb out error. i checked to see what code is being thrown and it said it is the reverse light. there is an led in there but i thought coding for led tails would include the reverse light?

at least i'm more proficient with the vcds now lol


Take the LED out and put a w16w incandescent bulb in then try again, the led is probably the issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:42 PM   #18
nature boy
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 golf sportline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 141
%$#&*!#$%# that was it... luckily i had a spare incandescent sitting in this bag of bulbs in my car.

so is there a way to code the car to accept led's? i have these generic bulbs for my license plate too that i don't use because of the error, but if i can code it away then i would.
nature boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:43 PM   #19
nature boy
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 golf sportline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
Take the LED out and put a w16w incandescent bulb in then try again, the led is probably the issue.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thanks for this, by the way. such a simple fix but i didn't even think of it.
nature boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 03:06 PM   #20
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by nature boy View Post
%$#&*!#$%# that was it... luckily i had a spare incandescent sitting in this bag of bulbs in my car.

so is there a way to code the car to accept led's? i have these generic bulbs for my license plate too that i don't use because of the error, but if i can code it away then i would.


You canít code out the reverse or turn light error but you can use a CANBUS version, not many work error free but I found these for the back up light and they work very well without error

http://s.aliexpress.com/MFVjIfAr

As for the licence plate it depends on your BCM version and vehicle year, as youíre a 2010 it will likely not take the code even though the option is shown in VCDS (09 central electronics),

I use some in-line error decoders for my genuine licence plate ledís, Iíll try and find you a link.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 04:52 PM   #21
nature boy
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 golf sportline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
You canít code out the reverse or turn light error but you can use a CANBUS version, not many work error free but I found these for the back up light and they work very well without error

http://s.aliexpress.com/MFVjIfAr

As for the licence plate it depends on your BCM version and vehicle year, as youíre a 2010 it will likely not take the code even though the option is shown in VCDS (09 central electronics),

I use some in-line error decoders for my genuine licence plate ledís, Iíll try and find you a link.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
thanks man, i appreciate it.

so... turns out it wasn't the bulb. i just got back from lunch and driving there was fine, but when i reversed out of my spot the bulb out light went off again. I wonder if the previous owner of the tails did some hackjob to clear the errors or something, i did notice some oddly placed electrical tape on one of the wires. just a thought.

i have a whole bag of w3w led bulbs that i was using for my plate but stopped because of the codes and stuff. if i'm getting an error regardless i just might throw them back in.

ugh, i didn't think a simple taillight swap would turn into all this lol.
nature boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:04 PM   #22
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
questions about led tails

If itís the back up wiring youíre referring to The tape could be from where they attached an error canceller, i take it youíve actually checked the back up light works?, with the right coding you wonít have issues, the backup light will only trigger a fault if youíve used reverse gear, try the different codes again and make sure the bulb is working and that the error is not for a different bulb.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:29 PM   #23
Rickybobbi
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: 2011 golf 2.5 MT / 2013 MB GLK-250
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 210
I have the hallogen 2.5L and Im pretty sure I changed my code to 1F. It took out the bulb out error. But if you want to put LEDs for your reverse and turn signals i would check out DEAutoKEY. I have not purchased from them but a lot of people on this forum swear by them. I just used the regular lights for my turn and reverse.
__________________
2011 GOLF 2.5// LED TAILS // 18" BLACK RIMS // 2 12" KICKER SUBS // REAR EMBLEM BLACKED OUT // FRONT EMBLEM BLACKED OUT // DE-BADGE REAR // LED INTERIOR // HID HEADLIGHTS // 8" ANDROID HEAD UNIT // 35% TINT ALL AROUND // FK STREETLINES //
Rickybobbi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:35 PM   #24
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Just use the regular filament bulbs while your coding then think about LEDís later if you want them once you know your coding is correct.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:37 PM   #25
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickybobbi View Post
I have the hallogen 2.5L and Im pretty sure I changed my code to 1F. It took out the bulb out error. But if you want to put LEDs for your reverse and turn signals i would check out DEAutoKEY. I have not purchased from them but a lot of people on this forum swear by them. I just used the regular lights for my turn and reverse.


The OP has a fog light by the sounds of it so I doubt 1F would work!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:49 PM   #26
nature boy
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 golf sportline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BC
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
If itís the back up wiring youíre referring to The tape could be from where they attached an error canceller, i take it youíve actually checked the back up light works?, with the right coding you wonít have issues, the backup light will only trigger a fault if youíve used reverse gear, try the different codes again and make sure the bulb is working and that the error is not for a different bulb.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
i don't know if there was an error canceller put in at all, it looks like the tape was just wrapped around the wires for some strange reason. i guess i could pull it off to see what's under there. i attached a pic of it.

the reverse light works for sure, both the led and incandescent. and after i swapped them out and changed byte 18 to 15 (as it is now), i doubled checked all the lights and everything is working as it should. but still a darned bulb out error...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2017-11-01 14.12.58 (768x1024).jpg (462.2 KB, 15 views)
nature boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 06:01 PM   #27
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by nature boy View Post
i don't know if there was an error canceller put in at all, it looks like the tape was just wrapped around the wires for some strange reason. i guess i could pull it off to see what's under there. i attached a pic of it.



the reverse light works for sure, both the led and incandescent. and after i swapped them out and changed byte 18 to 15 (as it is now), i doubled checked all the lights and everything is working as it should. but still a darned bulb out error...


As it has tape on the yellow and brown wires I would think it has had a canceller taken off and some tape stuck on!

Try some different codes and see what happens,

This link may help,

http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showpo...3&postcount=87




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 06:04 PM   #28
Carlosfandango
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT CSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 594
questions about led tails

Iíve just thought! Did your car have a rear fog from factory or did you have two back up lights? Could be a factor if the car thinks the fog is a reverse light and finds it is led!

I think this was mentioned earlier in the thread so you may need a euro switch to remove the error.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Carlosfandango; 11-01-2017 at 06:10 PM.
Carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.