GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2017, 10:54 PM   #15
WalkerT
Rally Car Champion
 
WalkerT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 372
Befor you adjust anything you should Datalog and see what your tune is requesting for boost and see where actual boost is.

Also your N75 duty% will tell you if your wastegate is lower than it should be.
__________________
MK6 VW Driver's Group@Facebook 2012 GTI DSG Unitronics stg2, Billy boat 3" DP, IE intake, CTS 3" catback, D088 Intercooler, BFI stg1 engine mounts, O.Z. 18x8 Alleggerita, Charge pipe, up pipe, NS vent boost gauge, BFI DSG shifter, H&R sport, H&R adjustable rear sway 26mm, Koni orange, R8 coils
WalkerT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 06:12 AM   #16
FriggenT
Banned
 
Drives: 2013 Wolfsburg gti DSG
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,571
OP, there is no reason with that turbo being a hybrid k04 that you couldn't make better numbers. Giac will adjust a tune for you, but I would not switch over to some place like APR, they have enough of their own problems, asnd it's an expensive switch. Take a quick look at the 1/4 times and trap speeds. Giac has all of the top k04 times. You will need the datalogs though, get those and send them into GIAC. I'm sure they'll get your numbers up. Also, a list of your mods will help.
FriggenT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 12:31 PM   #17
danman1280
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 MK GTI K04
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by FriggenT View Post
OP, there is no reason with that turbo being a hybrid k04 that you couldn't make better numbers. Giac will adjust a tune for you, but I would not switch over to some place like APR, they have enough of their own problems, asnd it's an expensive switch. Take a quick look at the 1/4 times and trap speeds. Giac has all of the top k04 times. You will need the datalogs though, get those and send them into GIAC. I'm sure they'll get your numbers up. Also, a list of your mods will help.
Yeah, that's what I keep coming back to. I just joined the forum so I guess I should put this is my sig. But currently i have a HPA K04, GIAC H/O 93oct tune, Stage 2 DSG from GIAC, CTS turbo turbo-back 3" exhaust, Unitronic FMIC, AWE TOP. R8 coils, and K&N typhoon intake.

So GIAC can make adjustments to my tune based on my logs? What are the typical boost levels for this tune? I keep seeing people spiking anywhere from 22psi being the low end (which is where I spike.) to 26psi all on the same tune and then settling to 20-21 psi. I drop to 19-18psi.

Thanks again everyone to all your help. It sounds like 300whp is something that I should be able to reach with what I have.
danman1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 02:41 PM   #18
FriggenT
Banned
 
Drives: 2013 Wolfsburg gti DSG
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by danman1280 View Post
Yeah, that's what I keep coming back to. I just joined the forum so I guess I should put this is my sig. But currently i have a HPA K04, GIAC H/O 93oct tune, Stage 2 DSG from GIAC, CTS turbo turbo-back 3" exhaust, Unitronic FMIC, AWE TOP. R8 coils, and K&N typhoon intake.

So GIAC can make adjustments to my tune based on my logs? What are the typical boost levels for this tune? I keep seeing people spiking anywhere from 22psi being the low end (which is where I spike.) to 26psi all on the same tune and then settling to 20-21 psi. I drop to 19-18psi.

Thanks again everyone to all your help. It sounds like 300whp is something that I should be able to reach with what I have.
Your IC is a larger core, so you won't get much more than 22 psi since the air is cooler, thus more dense. It's possible GIAC can up the WGDC and get 1 or 2 more psi out of it. However, the good news is that if the HPA spring pressure is higher, you can up the boost more than one with a stock, or smaller IC.

Yes, GIAC will make adjustments to the tune. You're a paying customer, so I'd get some logs, send it to them, and have them adjust whatever can be to make the tune more aggressive. Call and talk to them though, let them know your setup, find out from HPA what the cracking pressure is set for. Tell them you want to send some logs to them, and have the tune adjusted accordingly, and have them send an updated file to your tuner.
FriggenT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 03:19 PM   #19
GIACUser
FIA GT Newbie
 
GIACUser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 MKV EFR7163
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Riverside
Posts: 764
I ran the GIAC tune on my MKV K04 setup and I was 301/297 on a dynoject with 91 octane and water meth single nozzle.

Later switched to more aggressive tune and dual nozzle water meth and 91oct and was 336/335 on same dyno. Tuner later added more advance but was unable to get back to dyno. Now K04 is off the car but I am sure I was in 340s somewhere when I finished.

Peaking at 22 psi sounds about right, you might be able to turn it up a few more psi.

I would be very curious to see some of the other data points on your dyno run such as timing advance and fueling.

All my runs were done in 4th gear, dynojet generally does not put enough load on car for 3rd gear runs like a Mustang dyno does. I could only get proper runs done in 4th (DSG with GIAC DSG tune)
__________________
| 2008 GTI under construction as of July 2017 looking for 500whp| EFR7163 | LSD | DriverMotorsport tune | UNI custom DSG tune | Aquamist W/M | Brembo brakes f/r |
| YCW Coilovers | fifteen52 fender flares | 18x10 w265/35 Michelin SportCup2 | Recaro Speedseats |
GIACUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 03:29 PM   #20
mk6'12gti
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2012 4dr Black Gti
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by FriggenT View Post
OP, there is no reason with that turbo being a hybrid k04 that you couldn't make better numbers. Giac will adjust a tune for you, but I would not switch over to some place like APR, they have enough of their own problems, asnd it's an expensive switch. Take a quick look at the 1/4 times and trap speeds. Giac has all of the top k04 times. You will need the datalogs though, get those and send them into GIAC. I'm sure they'll get your numbers up. Also, a list of your mods will help.
The hpa ko4 is not a "hybrid" turbo by any means the internals are the same size as oem spec ko4s
__________________
| Apr Ko4 v3.2 | Apr stage 2 Dsg | Do88 Ic | IE intake | Circuitwerks turboback | Ecs street shield | R8 coils | S3 style top | Spulen throttle pipe | BC coils | Uni dv relocate | 034 street density mounts | 034 pendulum mount | Hpa 75A puck | P3 Gauge | GFB Dv+ | Apr catch can | Osram headlights |
mk6'12gti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 03:38 PM   #21
danman1280
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 MK GTI K04
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIACUser View Post
I ran the GIAC tune on my MKV K04 setup and I was 301/297 on a dynoject with 91 octane and water meth single nozzle.

Later switched to more aggressive tune and dual nozzle water meth and 91oct and was 336/335 on same dyno. Tuner later added more advance but was unable to get back to dyno. Now K04 is off the car but I am sure I was in 340s somewhere when I finished.

Peaking at 22 psi sounds about right, you might be able to turn it up a few more psi.

I would be very curious to see some of the other data points on your dyno run such as timing advance and fueling.

All my runs were done in 4th gear, dynojet generally does not put enough load on car for 3rd gear runs like a Mustang dyno does. I could only get proper runs done in 4th (DSG with GIAC DSG tune)
And these were changes that GIAC would make to your tune and you would reflash your ECU?
danman1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 04:07 PM   #22
FriggenT
Banned
 
Drives: 2013 Wolfsburg gti DSG
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk6'12gti View Post
The hpa ko4 is not a "hybrid" turbo by any means the internals are the same size as oem spec ko4s
http://www.hpamotorsports.com/product_k04.html .... doesn't that say "hybrid" ?
FriggenT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 04:51 PM   #23
GreyGti1990
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by FriggenT View Post
http://www.hpamotorsports.com/product_k04.html .... doesn't that say "hybrid" ?
I gotta dig up some e-mails I had with HPA but the "hybrid" term they use is rather misleading. I'm pretty sure they call it a "hybrid" turbo because they use a cast compressor housing in order to fit the diverter valve in the OEM location and thus preventing CNC adapters and housing modifications.

From my understanding their K04 is the same typical K04 you will find from all of the other companies just at a lower cost because they use a new cast compressor housing instead of modifying the existing one.

That and they dont use an OEM Borg Warner turbo. They use the same suppliers as Borg Warner though.
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 04:58 PM   #24
GreyGti1990
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 625
This is directly from HPA:

"Our “hybrid” K04 is referred to as a hybrid simply because it is not an authentic BorgWarner factory K04 turbo.

In fact, it is much better option:

http://www.hpamotorsports.com/product_k04.html

The key difference is a ultra-lightweight aluminum compressor, that spools much faster than a factory K04.

Faster spooling has a direct correlation on improved performance, if tuned correctly.

The turbo itself is VERY well constructed, built to our specifications by the SAME manufacturer that builds all of the replacement / service parts for BorgWarner.

It includes a FULL installation kit, including all necessary hardware, gaskets, and silicone required for install."




He later goes on to say that mid 350's hp is attainable with their turbo. He doesn't specify if its WHP or crank though.

Shouldn't 330whp be attainable? I mean, I've seen 330 out of a lot of k04's.
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:06 PM   #25
danman1280
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 MK GTI K04
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyGti1990 View Post
This is directly from HPA:

"Our “hybrid” K04 is referred to as a hybrid simply because it is not an authentic BorgWarner factory K04 turbo.

In fact, it is much better option:

http://www.hpamotorsports.com/product_k04.html

The key difference is a ultra-lightweight aluminum compressor, that spools much faster than a factory K04.

Faster spooling has a direct correlation on improved performance, if tuned correctly.

The turbo itself is VERY well constructed, built to our specifications by the SAME manufacturer that builds all of the replacement / service parts for BorgWarner.

It includes a FULL installation kit, including all necessary hardware, gaskets, and silicone required for install."




He later goes on to say that mid 350's hp is attainable with their turbo. He doesn't specify if its WHP or crank though.

Shouldn't 330whp be attainable? I mean, I've seen 330 out of a lot of k04's.
They advertised 355hp on their site I think and I spoke with Alan at HPA and he said that those are crank figures. Not entirely sure what the drive train loss is for a DSG transmission but I think that the 300whp should be obtainable with kit.
danman1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:09 PM   #26
GreyGti1990
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by danman1280 View Post
They advertised 355hp on their site I think and I spoke with Alan at HPA and he said that those are crank figures.
I also believe that 355HP number was done on a stock Gli with their aftermarket intake manifold.

http://www.hpamotorsports.com/images/K04-SQUARE.jpg

Not positive if that test Gli had an exhaust or intake or intercooler
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:17 PM   #27
danman1280
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 MK GTI K04
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 16
Just heard back from Alfonso at GIAC and he told me that they don't make adjustments to a tune.
danman1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:38 PM   #28
FriggenT
Banned
 
Drives: 2013 Wolfsburg gti DSG
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by danman1280 View Post
Just heard back from Alfonso at GIAC and he told me that they don't make adjustments to a tune.
They must have changed their policy, they used to adjust them.
FriggenT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.