GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com

Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Wheels / Tires / Suspension / Brakes / Chassis | Sponsored by The Tire Rack

The Tire Rack
Welcome to the Wheels and Tires section of GolfMK6. This area is proudly sponsored by The Tire Rack.

If you are making a purchase from TireRack, please help support GolfMK6 by clicking through to them with this link or clicking on the Tire Rack banner ad. Doing so helps give back to GOLFMK6 so we can keep this place running!

Old 02-07-2011, 10:23 PM   #1
untangle
FIA World Rally Car Champion

Drives: 2011 Autobahn (DSG)
Initial Unibrace feedback

I posted my initial thoughts re Unibraces on this vortex thread (Post #254) today.

Here's what I said:
I am a graduate-level engineer. I own a 2011 GTI and am new to the VW forums. I also own an XB and UB. I have driven everything from a GSXR-1000 to an F/A-18 Hornet (USMC). I'm new here, but now you know my biases.

1. Some things are unmeasurable. Heisenberg proved that.
2. Some things are measurable - but only at great cost, effort, and sometimes only destructively.
3. Some things are best measured with a human-in-the-loop (e.g., a flight control system).
4. But most things are, blessedly, pretty easy to measure (e.g., power increase of a tune).

I believe that the Unibraces are in categories #2 and #3. Prospective buyers just kinda have to live with that. If you can't (or don't want to), fine. But that's the way it is.

For example, I could:

1. Undo the bolts on one side of the XB and/or UB
2. Jack one corner, and measure bolt-hole displacements
3. Then repeat on all four corners
4. Then maybe repeat every 5000 miles or so, as the chassis responds to strain