GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 03:23 AM   #29
omes4life
Rally Car Newbie
 
omes4life's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 301
Send a message via AIM to omes4life
APR MK6 Products and Information

Ok so im 100% sure i want to get the APR k04 turbo kit and im wondering if anybody on here has the kit and just an intake. Anything else necessary? Intercooler? Downpipe? Btw i have a CBFA motor.

Anybody got the kit with no other bolt-ons? LoL
__________________
_______________________________________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilfloskind View Post
The forge atmospheric blow off valve is required for vtec to kick in
omes4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 03:54 AM   #30
ataman
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by omes4life View Post
Ok so im 100% sure i want to get the APR k04 turbo kit and im wondering if anybody on here has the kit and just an intake. Anything else necessary? Intercooler? Downpipe? Btw i have a CBFA motor.

Anybody got the kit with no other bolt-ons? LoL

Well they have a oem exhaust option. Diffrent software.. I created another tread asking about it's performance. As far as intercoller goes, depends on where you are, outside temp and how much you are going to use high rpms... Highly recommended!
ataman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 04:16 AM   #31
Ronkerjake
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
Ronkerjake's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Evo X
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by omes4life View Post
Ok so im 100% sure i want to get the APR k04 turbo kit and im wondering if anybody on here has the kit and just an intake. Anything else necessary? Intercooler? Downpipe? Btw i have a CBFA motor.

Anybody got the kit with no other bolt-ons? LoL

Well, think about it this way. The S3 has a K04 stock and S3 IC(obviously), which I believe its intercooler is rated to be reliable for about 265 hp. It would be fine if you didn't have software to go with it, but you will most likely notice a drop in power after only a few miles of spirited driving. With stage 2, I notice a drop in power after about 45 minutes of a combo of normal and some fierce acceleration. With the software, I would say APR or similar intercooler would be a wise decision. I'm going to stick with the S3 intercooler since Stage 2 is already pushing the limits of FWD.
__________________
2011 Evolution X MR
-Built/Tuned by Speedcircuit. AMS Widemouth Downpipe, Tomei Titanium test pipe, ETS V2 Extreme catback, ETS 5" SRI, ETS 4" FMIC, Cobb 3-port EBCS, AMS Fuel Rail, Kelford 214B, Cosworth Valves/Springs, OEM Bilstein shocks/Eibach Pro-Kit.
352AWHP/312 WTQ
Ronkerjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 04:21 AM   #32
Grownman
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: .
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by ataman View Post
Well they have a oem exhaust option. Diffrent software.. I created another tread asking about it's performance. As far as intercoller goes, depends on where you are, outside temp and how much you are going to use high rpms... Highly recommended!
Hes in CA, during the summers it can get hot 100F +

Not exactly sure, but most people with Stage II go with the S3 Cooler,(Cheaper) but with the k04, should go with the apr one.(Larger etc) I recall Arin making a post/explaining why.

turbo back for performance, cat for sound. CA has strict emission laws, so do the research before blowing $$ therefore, you wont having to revert back during a smog check etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronkerjake View Post
I'm going to stick with the S3 intercooler since Stage 2 is already pushing the limits of FWD.
Grownman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 03:57 PM   #33
v8282w
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: GTI
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ny
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
Removal. Yes.

Modification. No.

It's just a software update. :-)
I am a long time apr customer from mk4. If I am going to chip my new mk6, it is going to be apr because of the great resuts and longevity I got out of my mk4. I am a little nervouse about chipping my new car do to how much money I owe on the car and the fear of a voided warranty. Why exactly do you have to remove the ecu, I know the encryption thing. But what are you actually doing when you remove it. Is it just a switch inside the box that allows it to be reflashed when the cover is removed? Just trying to understand if nothing is modified, why it must be removed to do the first flash. Thnx
v8282w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 07:58 PM   #34
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by omes4life View Post
Ok so im 100% sure i want to get the APR k04 turbo kit and im wondering if anybody on here has the kit and just an intake. Anything else necessary? Intercooler? Downpipe? Btw i have a CBFA motor.

Anybody got the kit with no other bolt-ons? LoL
On the CBFA motor, to run the stock downpipe you have to modify your OEM exhaust flange and weld on an extra O2 sensor bung. It's a royal pain in the ass and will not be that great of an option. You want to run an upgraded downpipe, such as our own. No headaches and more power.

Intercooler? You don't need it but the stock intercooler will heatsoake very quickly. Heck, if I was stage 2 with all boltons I'd upgrade it. I did before when I had my stock turbo.

Anything else? Just the intake and you'll be good.

Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:00 PM   #35
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8282w View Post
I am a long time apr customer from mk4. If I am going to chip my new mk6, it is going to be apr because of the great resuts and longevity I got out of my mk4. I am a little nervouse about chipping my new car do to how much money I owe on the car and the fear of a voided warranty. Why exactly do you have to remove the ecu, I know the encryption thing. But what are you actually doing when you remove it. Is it just a switch inside the box that allows it to be reflashed when the cover is removed? Just trying to understand if nothing is modified, why it must be removed to do the first flash. Thnx

The ECU must be put into a writeable mode, and the only way to do this is to remove the ECU and connect to one of the ECU connection points before flashing.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:13 AM   #36
GunKata
MILFn00dzHunter.com
 
GunKata's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 350Z Track, '11 Pcar, '06 Oddy
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ballsborough, IL
Posts: 60,147
Does the catted APR dp mate right up to the stock CBE with no issues?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmniGLH View Post
Everybody knows GunKata > *.*

No GunKata, no care.


Need remote help buying or selling a car?

Chicago Car Network


I can haz 350z racecar?

Gone: 2011 Audi A3 Quattro DSG K04

Also Gone: 2011 GTI Autobahn MT Stage 2 BBK Lots of Mods
GunKata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:10 PM   #37
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunKata View Post
Does the catted APR dp mate right up to the stock CBE with no issues?
We include a reducer for connecting it to your factory catback. You'll need to trim a little off the DP for a flush fit with the factory catback exhaust.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:32 PM   #38
GunKata
MILFn00dzHunter.com
 
GunKata's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 350Z Track, '11 Pcar, '06 Oddy
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ballsborough, IL
Posts: 60,147
hmmm... and is there a resonator in your dp, or is that included in your CBE?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmniGLH View Post
Everybody knows GunKata > *.*

No GunKata, no care.


Need remote help buying or selling a car?

Chicago Car Network


I can haz 350z racecar?

Gone: 2011 Audi A3 Quattro DSG K04

Also Gone: 2011 GTI Autobahn MT Stage 2 BBK Lots of Mods
GunKata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:15 AM   #39
boner
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2010 2dr GTI , 2010 Shelby GT 500
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: StoneyCreek ON
Posts: 41
Arin ,

I had my MK 6 GTI Apr stage 1 done April 2010 and Stage 2 intake and down pipe last Oct 2010 . This was performed at H2 Sport in Georgetown Ontario. Do the updates apply to what I have or we talking about something completely different ?
boner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:29 AM   #40
Erwan
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2011 GTI
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,412
Can we make a separate stickied thread about this update.....with all info in it. There are more questions about this update than anything else. Would also save Arin a lot of repeating himself.
__________________
Avoid Myers VW in Ottawa, ON Canada. <-- tell your friends.
Erwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:28 AM   #41
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunKata View Post
hmmm... and is there a resonator in your dp, or is that included in your CBE?
No resonator in the DP.

Our catback has two RSC chambers.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:28 AM   #42
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by boner View Post
Arin ,

I had my MK 6 GTI Apr stage 1 done April 2010 and Stage 2 intake and down pipe last Oct 2010 . This was performed at H2 Sport in Georgetown Ontario. Do the updates apply to what I have or we talking about something completely different ?
Yes. There is an update.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.