GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Mods (interior & exterior modifications)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2009, 09:30 AM   #1
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Front fog lights required

Hi, does anyone have or know where i can get hold of the front fog lights and plastic surrounds for a 59 reg Golf.

I've priced these at the dealers but my credit card doesnt have a limit high enough!!!

Thanks in advance.
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:36 AM   #2
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,627
Did you get pn from the dealer? oemplus.com have a kit on their website they say ids for the Mk6 @ 277.11. You can e-mail them to confirm and find out.
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 11:57 AM   #3
GTI2007
Moderator
 
GTI2007's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 5 Plus TDI
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hoogstraten, Belgium
Posts: 9,036
Moved.
GTI2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:38 PM   #4
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post
Did you get pn from the dealer? oemplus.com have a kit on their website they say ids for the Mk6 @ 277.11. You can e-mail them to confirm and find out.
I ran through the relevant parts required with the dealer which came to around 220 but this was without the required wiring. They stated that there was'nt a wiring harness available so i would have to hack into tbhe existing wiring which i dont want to do.

You say there is a kit available, do you know if the wiring in the kit is just plug and play as i am not to confident with the knowledge of the dealers in my area.
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 06:10 AM   #5
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,627
oemplus' website says they sells it with a plug and play wiring harness from Kufatec. Kufatec website shows the harness at 35Euros. Links below.

Does you car have the highline control module?

http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_i...VW-Golf-6.html


http://oemplus.com/index.php?main_pa...roducts_id=854
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 10:27 AM   #6
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post
oemplus' website says they sells it with a plug and play wiring harness from Kufatec. Kufatec website shows the harness at 35Euros. Links below.

Does you car have the highline control module?

http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_i...VW-Golf-6.html


http://oemplus.com/index.php?main_pa...roducts_id=854
No, i think mine has the mid-line computer, mpg, miles remaining, average speed/time for individual journeys etc . Would there be a problem if i do have the mid-lin computer?
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 12:35 PM   #7
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,627
In that case, I doubt you have the highline lighting control module.
You are probably not out of luck yet. As the Mk6 is quite similar to the mk5...the options below are how it has been accomplished in the past on a Mk5 with the midline CECM(Central Electronic Control Module).

Option 1:
Install the OEM fog light kit and upgrade the CECM. Unsnap the old CECM and snap in the new one. VAGCOM the highline CECm to to restore the setting of the midline CECM. VAGCOM again to accomplish full OEM foglight install spec. The MKV CECM was about US$240.

Option 2:
Install the OEM fog light kit without upgrading the CECM but use a relay to accomplish it. A relay kit is about US$80.
Using this mentioned, you will not get a burnt out bulb warning message(when the bulb burns out).


The fog light Kit should consist of a foglight capable headlight switch, front foglights, bumper grills, OEM or Kufatec foglight harness, mounting hardware, 4 hours of your time and beer.
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 05:29 PM   #8
Bugsy_Malone 666
Autocross Newbie
 
Bugsy_Malone 666's Avatar
 
Drives: mk6/mk3 Golf/beetle/Camper all VWs
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In the South, near the hells mouth called basingstoke
Posts: 75
Send a message via MSN to Bugsy_Malone 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstill View Post
No, i think mine has the mid-line computer, mpg, miles remaining, average speed/time for individual journeys etc . Would there be a problem if i do have the mid-lin computer?
Midline?

That sounds like what my S has listed as 'highline' computer as I spec'd the highline costing an extra 50 on the price of my order.

I have been thinking of how I go about fitting fogs too.

I know with the old mk3 I had basically there was wiring built into the most part of the car for the foglights at the front, however in the engine bay there was a multiplug for the wiring to the headlights which had blanks in for extra cables, it was 1 additional wire I had to put in a blank slot, then plug a relay in the main fuse box, surely vw cant have made it massively complicated to fit?

there was lots of options I didnt spec as I didnt think I really needed them but I am finding its starting to look expencive to add them later on and just generally expencive and akward to do.
__________________
"Its just like a golf"
Bugsy_Malone 666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 04:03 PM   #9
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post
In that case, I doubt you have the highline lighting control module.
You are probably not out of luck yet. As the Mk6 is quite similar to the mk5...the options below are how it has been accomplished in the past on a Mk5 with the midline CECM(Central Electronic Control Module).

Option 1:
Install the OEM fog light kit and upgrade the CECM. Unsnap the old CECM and snap in the new one. VAGCOM the highline CECm to to restore the setting of the midline CECM. VAGCOM again to accomplish full OEM foglight install spec. The MKV CECM was about US$240.

Option 2:
Install the OEM fog light kit without upgrading the CECM but use a relay to accomplish it. A relay kit is about US$80.
Using this mentioned, you will not get a burnt out bulb warning message(when the bulb burns out).


The fog light Kit should consist of a foglight capable headlight switch, front foglights, bumper grills, OEM or Kufatec foglight harness, mounting hardware, 4 hours of your time and beer.

Hi Bubuski, i was told you had to change the whole dash pod if you wanted to change the computer (CECM), would you say this is correct or can a new one be simply plugged in?
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:07 AM   #10
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstill View Post
Hi Bubuski, i was told you had to change the whole dash pod if you wanted to change the computer (CECM), would you say this is correct or can a new one be simply plugged in?
You do not have to change the dash pod...but you can upgrade it after changing the CECM.

The link below shows what entails in changing the CECM.
http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3173886
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 02:32 PM   #11
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post
You do not have to change the dash pod...but you can upgrade it after changing the CECM.

The link below shows what entails in changing the CECM.
http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3173886

Thanks Bubuski, great find, i wonder how much one will be from the dealer. I think the US supplier is asking around 80.
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:58 PM   #12
petethegolf
Newbie
 
Drives: vw golf 1.6 tdi dsg
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstill View Post
Hi, does anyone have or know where i can get hold of the front fog lights and plastic surrounds for a 59 reg Golf.

I've priced these at the dealers but my credit card doesnt have a limit high enough!!!

Thanks in advance.
try ebay I got a set for 80 petethegolfhttp://www.golfmk6.com/forums/images/smilies/lol.gif
petethegolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:21 PM   #13
benjaminbesems
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: Golf VI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kamperland, Holland
Posts: 27
Send a message via MSN to benjaminbesems
Wrong door indication on dashboard display: 4 instead 2 doors

Hello,

I have done a retrofit Xenon on my golf 6. I've changed the CECM 1k0937086 for a: 1k0937087A I used vagcom to have the same settings as before. Also the setting: 0= 2 doors. 1=4 doors. But nothing changed.
Please help me!
benjaminbesems is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.