GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Hill start assist

D Griff

Go Kart Champion
Hey everyone,

I just picked up my new 2012 Candy White GTI four door Friday. I'm loving it so far! I have the base model with the 6 speed manual transmission and was just curious to hear some opinions on the hill start assist feature. So far, I really don't like it.

It feels like I'm fighting the brakes when I take off from a start on a hill and I've actually stalled once because of this. I've been driving a manual for about 5-6 years, and am very confident that I am quite proficient. Is the feeling of this system something you get used to eventually? It's certainly not a huge thing, and one of the only things I don't care for thus far... Just curious to hear some other thoughts on it.

Rockchops

Go Kart Champion
yeah I'm not a huge fan of it either...I notice it in the morning, I shift it into reverse and it holds the brakes on (even when flat). I find it unnerving

Odd, I actually like this feature. Works great for me. You can modify or disable with VCDS though if you choose.

Chris@Revo USA

Go Kart Champion
yeah I'm not a huge fan of it either...I notice it in the morning, I shift it into reverse and it holds the brakes on (even when flat). I find it unnerving

That as the issue around here, stuff that is seemingly flat turns out it wasn't and is a slight hill so its on. You attempt to move the car doesn't you let off suddenly it goes backwards, turns out to be worse.

My driveway is close to 45 degrees in one part, it was fun to stop on it and have the car hold, but its so steep you still weren't getting started without doing a burnout.. just had to roll back and start a the bottom.

Krazy_Z

Go Kart Champion