GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2010, 01:42 PM   #1
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
VAG-COM (VCDS) helper

Many thanks goes to the author of Waks Wide Web as ALOT was borrowed from it.

What is VCDS?

VAG-COM Diagnosis Software.


What is VAG-COM?

A common misconception of VAG-COM is that it is a VAG group product used by dealers to do "something" with the cars ECU. It is NOT. Dealers use the VAS 505x devices which are explained in the thread linked.

VAG-COM is an independently written PC application that Ross Uwe originally wrote as a tool to check out his own car and be a useful tool to the enthusiast community. It basically combines the diagnostic abilities of a number of dealer only electronic gizzmos and puts their power into the hands of owners and enthusiasts.

With an appropriate cable it can be utilised to examine any VAG group cars ECU for diagnostics and maintenance procedures. It is also used to tweak settings and enable features deactivated for certain markets.

The software is downloadable and a cable can be bought from Ross-tech as they deliver internationally.


What do I need?

You will need to download the VAG-COM software. In basic form it can only read error codes for you.
A dongle adapter is needed to connect your laptop/computer to your VW.

In order to clear codes and change functions in the vehicle, the VAG-COM software can be activated in one of 2 ways.

1. Buy a cable from Ross-tech.
The cable will cost you between US$249-349 depending on the version you want. The license is built into the Ross-tech cables so can be easily moved from one laptop to another. The cable somehow extracts a license to the software which enables full access to the software. Links for Cables and prices. The Micro-CAN (USB) is the cheapest option which supports most newer VAG cars including the Mk6. But you can but the HEX-USB+CAN (USB), HEX-COM+CAN (Serial) or Micro-CAN (USB) for your Mk6.

2. Ross-tech sells the software only with a license for fee of $99, for those who have an interface cable. The license is not transferable and they will not provide hardware support.


What about ebay cables?

At the moment, the cheap Ebay cables do not support Can-Bus in newer VAG cars. Even if you find one, As ChicityGTI said "I would only trust Ross-tech with the cables...cheap e-bay alternatives just don't sound too appealing when playing around with the ECU on a 25k piece of machinery."

I personally have read about cheap vag-com cables burning the USB ports on laptops. Although, I have not read about the vehicle port being burnt out which will be very bad.


What to do first?

When you have your cable, you'll need to know where to plug it in.
The diagnostic port(DLC Location) on a LHD Mark 6 is under the dash, to the left of the steering wheel.

For ALL the features plug your cable into your PC and car, then switch the IGNITION ON to ACC.
For any of the real time live data reading, the engine must be STARTED as well.

Aftermarket Radio? Read http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/aftermarket-radio.html


Will you rather find someone with a Ross-tech cable to help you for $20, a 6-pack or FREE?
Go to the weekly meets in your area or try the links below at your own risk.

VAGCOM finder.
http://vagcomlocator.com/
http://www.vagtoolfinder.com/

Remember - Autoscan, save file.
http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/tour/autoscan.html


http://www.ross-tech.com/index.html
http://www.ross-tech.com/Merchant2/m...ry_Code=VAGCOM


***At your own risk. It is always recommended to perform a complete AutoScan and save it prior to coding changes. All codings might not work on all vehicles due to production changes.
This is just a guide so I am not responsible for any damage or problems that may result from following these instructions. Remember to save the old settings before any change.***

What MK6 tweaks can I do?
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...K/52%29_Tweaks


How do I data log?
.
.
.



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vagcom1.jpg
Views:	11607
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	1321  Click image for larger version

Name:	mainmenu.jpg
Views:	2633
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	1322  

Last edited by bubuski; 05-05-2011 at 03:04 PM. Reason: more information added again
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:25 PM   #2
pyro h4cker
Rally Car Newbie
 
pyro h4cker's Avatar
 
Drives: MKVI
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 278
Great start let's keep this going
pyro h4cker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:27 PM   #3
jmblur
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: MkVI GTI 2dr DSG CSG
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,471
From Dana @ Ross-tech (http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4743553)

Daytime Running Lights
- 09-central elect. Coding, Long Coding helper, the lamp systems are different:
--- Factory Xenon – Byte 11
--- Factory Halogen – Byte 15

Emergency Brake Warning active
Flashes hazards when "emergency braking" detected
- 09-central elect. Found in Coding, Long Coding helper.

Auto-Lock
- 09-central elect.Found in Coding, Long Coding helper.

Coming Home
- 09-central elect. Found in Coding, Long Coding helper.
If the vehicle is not equipped with an "Auto" headlight switch, coming home activation will likely require you to pull the high beam stalk back briefly after shutting the vehicle off and before exiting. The description should be found in your owners manual.

Leaving Home
- 09-central elect. Found in Coding, Long Coding helper.
Leaving home will likely require the "Auto" switch and a light sensor. The description should be found in your owners manual.

Alarm Confirmation via lights and horn
- 09-central elect. Found in Coding, Long Coding helper.


-----------------------
I've been told it's possible to set up fogs as DRLs - but haven't seen a how to. Any leads?
jmblur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 01:19 AM   #4
euro89
Formula 5000 Champion
 
euro89's Avatar
 
Drives: CW MK6 GTI, Manual
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: All over Jersey..
Posts: 2,266
http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=4724268
euro89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 02:50 AM   #5
kimsballs
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 GTI Manual United Gray
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 288
Any one here have a VAG in Germany, buy you a bottle to do a couple options for me.
kimsballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 05:37 AM   #6
LittleJohny
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: '10 CS GTI 6MT w/ RNS-510
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton
Posts: 1,480
Are all vag-com cables the same? From what I've been able to learn, the only requirement for the mk6 is that the cable supports the CAN interface. I've seen a few on eBay that claim to do this, would I be able to use this cable to make the same programming changes? Will I be able to run the Ross-Tech software (would I need to?)?
LittleJohny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:10 AM   #7
pyro h4cker
Rally Car Newbie
 
pyro h4cker's Avatar
 
Drives: MKVI
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philly
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleJohny View Post
Are all vag-com cables the same? From what I've been able to learn, the only requirement for the mk6 is that the cable supports the CAN interface. I've seen a few on eBay that claim to do this, would I be able to use this cable to make the same programming changes? Will I be able to run the Ross-Tech software (would I need to?)?
you would need to run vcds (ross tech software) and they're key encryptions are built into the cable, so i doubt the ebay cable will work
pyro h4cker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 07:37 PM   #8
LittleJohny
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: '10 CS GTI 6MT w/ RNS-510
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton
Posts: 1,480
From member jmblur:

Gauge sweep:

Only works with cluster codes that end in "H" (US) or "D" (Europe) - "G" will not work! an error will be shown if you try and your car can't support.

VCDS Version 912 beta
Select under 17 Instruments -> Adaptation -> Staging
and activate.

Driver's heated seat memory:
08 Auto HVAC -> Adaptation
"Storage of seat heater level driver" from drop down. Change to On and Save.
Again, won't work with all cars - option will just not be there.


Cornering lights:

In 09 Central Electronics, Long coding, Byte 14


Maybe this thread should be sticky'd?
LittleJohny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:15 PM   #9
gunmetal5
FIA GT Newbie
 
gunmetal5's Avatar
 
Drives: GTI 2010
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 795
This seems like it would be a great mod. The unit seems expensive though. Does anyone in socal, LA area have a unit they'd be willing to share?
gunmetal5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 03:07 PM   #10
dstill
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 Golf 140 TDi SE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleJohny View Post
From member jmblur:

Gauge sweep:

Only works with cluster codes that end in "H" (US) or "D" (Europe) - "G" will not work! an error will be shown if you try and your car can't support.

VCDS Version 912 beta
Select under 17 Instruments -> Adaptation -> Staging
and activate.

Driver's heated seat memory:
08 Auto HVAC -> Adaptation
"Storage of seat heater level driver" from drop down. Change to On and Save.
Again, won't work with all cars - option will just not be there.


Cornering lights:

In 09 Central Electronics, Long coding, Byte 14


Maybe this thread should be sticky'd?
Bubuski, where would i find the code for my cluster?

Thanks in advance.
dstill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 03:47 PM   #11
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstill View Post
Bubuski, where would i find the code for my cluster?

Thanks in advance.
The only way I know is through VCDS.
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 08:44 PM   #12
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
Original post updated.
bubuski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:47 PM   #13
DRDUNKS
Newbie
 
Drives: MK6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MIDWEST
Posts: 2
Has anyone used a VAG-COM to disable the TPMS (Tire-pressure monitoring system) on a mk6 golf/gti? If you have could you post what steps you did to deactivate the TPMS?

Thanks in advance for your time and advice.

Reason why i am asking…

I just took off my winter stock steelies and put on my 18" audi wheels. The audi wheels don't have the TP sensors so i'm stuck with the TPMS error light always on.
DRDUNKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:53 PM   #14
2010 UG
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: United Gray MKVI GTI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 222
Just the other day I asked the same thing from someone who has apparently done it.

http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4657
2010 UG is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
vag-com, vcds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.