GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2012, 01:01 AM   #43
EJBGTIVI
Formula 2 Champion
 
EJBGTIVI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 7,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamSe7en View Post
Damn it. I really don't want to buy a highline. Guess it's either stay halogen or get reps.
I can't speak from personal experience since I have OEM HIDs, but if I had halogens, Ed's reps seems to be your best bet unless you're willing to spend big $$$$.
__________________
Forum Guru/Sticker Police

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancity2Constantinople View Post
this forum just keeps getting more stupider each day.
R.I.P. Shuggie 2.19.2000 - 3.19.2016
EJBGTIVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:23 PM   #44
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
My stupid question:

If I purchase a new rim/snow tire combo ready to mount..is it as easy as just removing my rims and throwing on the new ones? I'm aware of the TPMS sensor. Can I just use the wrench provided with my spare? (I have no experience with putting on new rims or rotating tires, I have however changed flats many times on other vehicles)

That aside..my question is: Do I need an alignment after I mount my new rims?
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:33 PM   #45
swfloridamk6
Formula 2 Driver
 
swfloridamk6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CW MK6 Manual
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
My stupid question:

If I purchase a new rim/snow tire combo ready to mount..is it as easy as just removing my rims and throwing on the new ones? I'm aware of the TPMS sensor. Can I just use the wrench provided with my spare? (I have no experience with putting on new rims or rotating tires, I have however changed flats many times on other vehicles)

That aside..my question is: Do I need an alignment after I mount my new rims?
If you staying within OEM sizes, I dont see an alignment is necessary. Can never hurt though.
swfloridamk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:36 PM   #46
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by swfloridamk6 View Post
If you staying within OEM sizes, I dont see an alignment is necessary. Can never hurt though.
Dropping to 16" rims for winter from OEM Detroit set up..

Thanks btw.
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:41 PM   #47
swfloridamk6
Formula 2 Driver
 
swfloridamk6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CW MK6 Manual
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
Dropping to 16" rims for winter from OEM Detroit set up..

Thanks btw.
Well, I would probably do it then. How many miles on the car? Ever had it aligned?
swfloridamk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:45 PM   #48
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by swfloridamk6 View Post
Well, I would probably do it then. How many miles on the car? Ever had it aligned?
Got it brand new about 1500 miles on it. No alignment to date.

So mount em up and go get an alignment ASAP?
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:54 PM   #49
jackgti
Formula 3000 Driver
 
Drives: vw
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Austin
Posts: 3,184
Shouldn't need an alignment dropping to 16s..
jackgti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:00 PM   #50
swfloridamk6
Formula 2 Driver
 
swfloridamk6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CW MK6 Manual
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
Got it brand new about 1500 miles on it. No alignment to date.

So mount em up and go get an alignment ASAP?
nah, its brand new. Was thinking it was older.
swfloridamk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:28 PM   #51
Aries Pope
FIA GT Newbie
 
Aries Pope's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Autobahn DSG 4dr Black
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
My stupid question:

If I purchase a new rim/snow tire combo ready to mount..is it as easy as just removing my rims and throwing on the new ones? I'm aware of the TPMS sensor. Can I just use the wrench provided with my spare? (I have no experience with putting on new rims or rotating tires, I have however changed flats many times on other vehicles)

That aside..my question is: Do I need an alignment after I mount my new rims?
I put my new wheels on myself having only changed spares on other cars before either. I was stupid when I started, but learned a lot. Your question was on alignment (already answered), but let me also answer some of the other stupid questions I had when I first did this:

0) No TPMS connections on 2012, right? It's rotational inertia sensor, so just press the TPMS reset button in the glovebox once they're at proper PSI so the computer knows what they "look like".

1) Do you have wheel locks? I did, and this was the first car that did. Then I noticed there's a socket key in the hatch to crack the locks.

2) The wrench that comes with the car works, but it's short so low torque for sticky bolts. I picked up a Gorilla extensible wrench:

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/...tnum=PW1&ID=59

with my wheels which made things buttery. You'll need the right size socket too. I forget the size -- that's another stupid question to be asked.

3) I'm lazy and don't like holding the wheel on the hub while I thread the first bolt, so I got a wheel hanger guide:

http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-...Hanger/ES4135/

Yeah, it's a bolt with the head cut off for $15 + S/H, but it makes things much easier and I for one think it's worth it. (See lazy above).

4) Gently tighten the wheel on to start. Then use a torque wrench and torque them down properly in a star pattern to the proper torque specs. (Double check the torque specs for your wheels). After driving 20 miles, re-torque them in case they loosened up any.
__________________
> APR K04 3.1 | APR IC | UR DP | APR Carbonio | VWR Subframe + 034 Mounts | WALK+
> APR DSG | Enkei Raijin | DG Springs | H&R 26/22 | Unibraces | TyrolSport Deadset
> USP SS Lines | StopTech Pads | TyrolSport Bushings | Boldsport Auto Lights+Puddles
> R20 LED Tails | S2T Paddles | AWE Boost | SuperbrightLEDs | PIAA Fogs
> My Build Thread

Last edited by Aries Pope; 10-27-2012 at 05:01 PM. Reason: Changed retorque mileage to 20 from 50-100 to reflect Tire Rack recommendation.
Aries Pope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:58 PM   #52
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aries Pope View Post
I put my new wheels on myself having only changed spares on other cars before either. I was stupid when I started, but learned a lot. Your question was on alignment (already answered), but let me also answer some of the other stupid questions I had when I first did this:

0) No TPMS connections on 2012, right? It's rotational inertia sensor, so just press the TPMS reset button in the glovebox once they're at proper PSI so the computer knows what they "look like".

1) Do you have wheel locks? I did, and this was the first car that did. Then I noticed there's a socket key in the hatch to crack the locks.

2) The wrench that comes with the car works, but it's short so low torque for sticky bolts. I picked up a Gorilla extensible wrench:

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/...tnum=PW1&ID=59

with my wheels which made things buttery. You'll need the right size socket too. I forget the size -- that's another stupid question to be asked.

3) I'm lazy and don't like holding the wheel on the hub while I thread the first bolt, so I got a wheel hanger guide:

http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-...Hanger/ES4135/

Yeah, it's a bolt with the head cut off for $15 + S/H, but it makes things much easier and I for one think it's worth it. (See lazy above).

4) Gently tighten the wheel on to start. Then use a torque wrench and torque them down properly in a star pattern to the proper torque specs. (Double check the torque specs for your wheels). After driving 50-100 miles, re-torque them in case they loosened up any.
Thanks for the reply! Torque specs for wheels would be listed in packaging or online I take it? Will be ordering from tirerack. Is that gorilla wrench a torque wrench? I know what a torque wrench is but am relatively ignorant as to which I need for wheels.

Good to know I won't need alignment. I will after I drop it down in the spring though!

BTW I lied about my ONE stupid question apparently. #canofworms

Last edited by ralphykid67; 10-27-2012 at 04:28 PM.
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:37 PM   #53
Aries Pope
FIA GT Newbie
 
Aries Pope's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Autobahn DSG 4dr Black
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
Thanks for the reply! Torque specs for wheels would be listed in packaging or online I take it? Will be ordering from tirerack.

Good to know I won't need alignment. I will after I drop it down in the spring though!
I can't remember where I got the torque specs from, whether it was the instructions that came with the wheels or in the VW user manual or both. Dig around in your owner's manual to start. I'm sure the instructions will say something if they want different.

Tire Rack sent good instructions with my wheels, too. They're solid. That reminds me: if you haven't ordered yet, Please make sure to click through to Tire Rack from the GolfMk6 link when you order to support the site!

Link on top of page here:
http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10

Also, Sonny@TireRack is the site's customer rep and you can also ask him any questions. He also has a sticky winter tire thread over in the Wheels section if you're into reading more about winter tires and mudflap mods and stuff.

One final thing... if you end up with aftermarket bolts, MAKE SURE to keep a set of the OEM bolts in the hatch since the spare tire will need the OEM bolts!

I keep my gorilla wrench and wheel hanger in the hatch too in case of flat, just gotta strap it down.
__________________
> APR K04 3.1 | APR IC | UR DP | APR Carbonio | VWR Subframe + 034 Mounts | WALK+
> APR DSG | Enkei Raijin | DG Springs | H&R 26/22 | Unibraces | TyrolSport Deadset
> USP SS Lines | StopTech Pads | TyrolSport Bushings | Boldsport Auto Lights+Puddles
> R20 LED Tails | S2T Paddles | AWE Boost | SuperbrightLEDs | PIAA Fogs
> My Build Thread
Aries Pope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:58 PM   #54
Aries Pope
FIA GT Newbie
 
Aries Pope's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI Autobahn DSG 4dr Black
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
Is that gorilla wrench a torque wrench? I know what a torque wrench is but am relatively ignorant as to which I need for wheels.
BTW I lied about my ONE stupid question apparently. #canofworms
Better to be prepared.

No, Gorilla is essentially a replacement for the stock wrench in the hatch if you feel like it. I prefer the extra leverage it provides for cracking a bolt rather than hammering on the short wrench when the car's lifted to crack a tough bolt. And if you're on the side of the road lifted on the widow maker, you don't wanna be hammering on a short wrench, so having this in the hatch is wise. Honestly, that's all I used it for in extended mode is cracking the bolts initially, then shorten it down. After that you should be able to hand loosen bolts with the socket. Same with putting them on, hand tighten lets you feel if the threads are having trouble so you don't strip anything. More leverage in that case is a bad thing. The extra leverage is really only for the initial crack.

But that said, yes, you'll need a separate torque wrench to keep in the garage for dialing various things into spec, including wheel bolts. I got one from Tire Rack with my wheels too and it works fine:

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/...um=TW605&ID=75


Actually, if you're bored you can find articles on putting on lugnuts on Tire Rack too. Tons of good stuff there.

E.g.

http://blog.tirerack.com/blog/alexs-...-your-lug-nuts
__________________
> APR K04 3.1 | APR IC | UR DP | APR Carbonio | VWR Subframe + 034 Mounts | WALK+
> APR DSG | Enkei Raijin | DG Springs | H&R 26/22 | Unibraces | TyrolSport Deadset
> USP SS Lines | StopTech Pads | TyrolSport Bushings | Boldsport Auto Lights+Puddles
> R20 LED Tails | S2T Paddles | AWE Boost | SuperbrightLEDs | PIAA Fogs
> My Build Thread
Aries Pope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:38 PM   #55
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
Great of you to fill me in on all this. Truly appreciated. Cheers!

I'm aware of the Tire Rack sponsorship and have already made contact with Sonny.

Thanks again! Vdub bro-love at it's finest. lol
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:07 PM   #56
quality_sound
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: '13 4-door Golf TDI
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dyess AFB, Abilene, TX
Posts: 668
Just FYI, even if this car was 15 years old it STILL wouldn't need an alignment when changing the wheels. Alignments are ONLY required when you make SUSPENSION changes.
quality_sound is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.