GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


View Poll Results: POLE ON DEM PACKS.
Since purchasing them, Iíve had zero failures. 262 95.62%
Iíve had 1 or more failures confirmed as the coilpacks and nothing else. Please explain in post. 12 4.38%
Voters: 274. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2015, 10:24 PM   #57
willnando
Formula 5000 Driver
 
willnando's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI (Evee) B7 S4 (Sonya)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,833
Had a little bit of stuttering and got the R8 coils. They eliminated the issue.

Now a few thousand miles in I've noticed a little stuttering and loss of power.
Could it be the coils?
Loss of power Im thinking some sort of leak somewhere..
willnando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:33 PM   #58
GTI_likeurmom
GolfMK6 Elite
 
GTI_likeurmom's Avatar
 
Drives: Veyron 16.4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: woke up in a new Bugatti
Posts: 19,136
i put new r8's in about 2-3 weeks ago and my car is sputtering now. dafuq? (during cold starts)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOBbluth View Post
I cut the tether off. When I get to the pump, I remove the cap and chuck it into the nearest bush, patch of trees, or some sort of wet lands. I pump gas. Then I spend anywhere from 5 to 165 minutes retrieving the cap. I screw it back on and drive away. I'm not letting it dangle against the paint and I don't know any better way.
GTI_likeurmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:52 PM   #59
willnando
Formula 5000 Driver
 
willnando's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI (Evee) B7 S4 (Sonya)
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
i put new r8's in about 2-3 weeks ago and my car is sputtering now. dafuq? (during cold starts)
Mine has only done it while accelerating ...
willnando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 11:08 PM   #60
zrickety
Formula 3000 Champion
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 4,960
Gap your plugs to .032
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 02:05 AM   #61
Winoman
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: '12 GTI St3 /'01 S4 St3 /'03 330ZHP
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: N Virginia
Posts: 518
Approx 30K with the R8 coilpacks - all stage 3 - no issues...
__________________
2012 4-dr CSG Autobahn 6 spd / APR ST 3 (GT2871R) / Carbonio CAI / S3 FMIC / NSP TBP & TOP / R8 clpcks / GFB DV+ / NST RSR clutch / Wavetrack LSD / SPM st/tr CBE / BSH Pnd mnt / Koni clvrs / Spro fr ball jts & contr arms ALK / 034 Str Mts, fr & rear SB endl & catch can / H & R 24" rear SB / UB / Stern rsb / Tyrolsp fr sf ddst kit / DG SS / P3 Gauge / Euro switch / Dep Drk Chry Tls / Sndaktor del / 18" Neuspeed RS12
Winoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:32 AM   #62
GTI_likeurmom
GolfMK6 Elite
 
GTI_likeurmom's Avatar
 
Drives: Veyron 16.4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: woke up in a new Bugatti
Posts: 19,136
i re-gapped my plugs, they seemed to be a little loose when i took them out so that could have contributed to the sputtering. i'll see what happens the when i drive to work in the morning.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOBbluth View Post
I cut the tether off. When I get to the pump, I remove the cap and chuck it into the nearest bush, patch of trees, or some sort of wet lands. I pump gas. Then I spend anywhere from 5 to 165 minutes retrieving the cap. I screw it back on and drive away. I'm not letting it dangle against the paint and I don't know any better way.
GTI_likeurmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:52 AM   #63
barnes93cb
Formula 5000 Champion
 
barnes93cb's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 BMP 2Dr DSG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2,181
Ive probably got 15k on my R8 coils since I went stage 2. No issues. Car is at 47k miles on stock spark plugs too. Im about to do the plugs as maintenance. But I have yet to notice any issues.
__________________
APR Stage 2 / CTS Intake / Twintercooler / Godspeed Downpipe / MagnaFlow Catback / H&R Springs
APR Stage 2/ Lowered Build Thread
Instagram: barnes93_vw
barnes93cb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:57 AM   #64
GTI_likeurmom
GolfMK6 Elite
 
GTI_likeurmom's Avatar
 
Drives: Veyron 16.4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: woke up in a new Bugatti
Posts: 19,136
how do i test the coil to see if its bad? i would assume just guessing that its bad isnt a fair assessment to its reliability.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOBbluth View Post
I cut the tether off. When I get to the pump, I remove the cap and chuck it into the nearest bush, patch of trees, or some sort of wet lands. I pump gas. Then I spend anywhere from 5 to 165 minutes retrieving the cap. I screw it back on and drive away. I'm not letting it dangle against the paint and I don't know any better way.
GTI_likeurmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 07:15 AM   #65
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
Black without sleeve failed when I went K04. reds are fine.
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:01 PM   #66
McFuzz
FIA GT Champion
 
McFuzz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CA Bay Area
Posts: 1,131
Had mine on for maybe... 5K miles? Not a single problem.
McFuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:25 PM   #67
GTI_likeurmom
GolfMK6 Elite
 
GTI_likeurmom's Avatar
 
Drives: Veyron 16.4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: woke up in a new Bugatti
Posts: 19,136
i finally got a code during the sputtering...





Address 01: Engine (CCT) Labels: 06J-906-026-CCT.clb
Part No SW: 1K0 907 115 AP HW: 1K0 907 115 AA
Component: 2.0l R4/4V TFSI 0020
Revision: AAH18--- Serial number:
Coding: 0403010A18070160
Shop #: WSC 01357 011 00200

VCID: 74C913E717E3B7817A8-8021

4 Faults Found:
000768 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0300 - 000 - - MIL ON
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 11100000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 2
Reset counter: 255
Mileage: 98080 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2015.01.28
Time: 14:30:30

Freeze Frame:
RPM: 2749 /min
Load: 37.2 %
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Temperature: 31.0*C
Temperature: 12.0*C
Absolute Pres.: 1010.0 mbar
Voltage: 14.351 V

000769 - Cylinder 1
P0301 - 000 - Misfire Detected - MIL ON
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 11100000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 2
Reset counter: 255
Mileage: 98080 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2015.01.28
Time: 14:30:34

Freeze Frame:
RPM: 919 /min
Load: 25.9 %
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Temperature: 32.0*C
Temperature: 12.0*C
Absolute Pres.: 1010.0 mbar
Voltage: 14.351 V

000771 - Cylinder 3
P0303 - 000 - Misfire Detected - MIL ON
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 11100000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 2
Reset counter: 255
Mileage: 98080 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2015.01.28
Time: 14:30:34

Freeze Frame:
RPM: 919 /min
Load: 25.9 %
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Temperature: 32.0*C
Temperature: 12.0*C
Absolute Pres.: 1010.0 mbar
Voltage: 14.351 V

000772 - Cylinder 4
P0304 - 000 - Misfire Detected - Intermittent
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 00100000
Fault Priority: 0
Fault Frequency: 1
Reset counter: 255
Mileage: 98080 km
Time Indication: 0
Date: 2015.01.28
Time: 14:30:34

Freeze Frame:
RPM: 919 /min
Load: 25.9 %
Speed: 0.0 km/h
Temperature: 32.0*C
Temperature: 12.0*C
Absolute Pres.: 1010.0 mbar
Voltage: 14.351 V
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOBbluth View Post
I cut the tether off. When I get to the pump, I remove the cap and chuck it into the nearest bush, patch of trees, or some sort of wet lands. I pump gas. Then I spend anywhere from 5 to 165 minutes retrieving the cap. I screw it back on and drive away. I'm not letting it dangle against the paint and I don't know any better way.
GTI_likeurmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 06:57 PM   #68
ralphykid67
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ralphykid67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CW 4DR-MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 542
Just had what appeared to be a misfire today. Running R8 coilpacks for about 15k now, untuned but did have 2 misfire's prior to that on stock coils.

I've yet to run the code for today's occurrence but it was a rough idle on start up and flashing cell. Rough idle about 10 seconds long.

How long will the code be available to view? Might not get to it this week.
ralphykid67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 07:08 PM   #69
Taiso0019
Touring Car Newbie
 
Taiso0019's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Accord Sport
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 205
Well previous owner threw them on around 302 on the odometer, along with Stage 1 (eternal thanks to you, previous owner!). The captain is nearly at 23000, only 1k of those being driven by me. But so far so good.
__________________
Super stock...
2016 Accord Sport - Current
Stock mostly...
2013 GTI DSG TR - Past
Taiso0019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 07:30 PM   #70
Modshack
Formula 3000 Champion
 
Modshack's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Beetle TDi Conv., '14 C7 Chebby
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greenville NC
Posts: 4,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphykid67 View Post
Just had what appeared to be a misfire today. Running R8 coilpacks for about 15k now, untuned but did have 2 misfire's prior to that on stock coils.

I've yet to run the code for today's occurrence but it was a rough idle on start up and flashing cell. Rough idle about 10 seconds long.

How long will the code be available to view? Might not get to it this week.
Have you checked your plugs? Doesn't matter what CP's you are running if the gaps are wonky and plugs worn..
Modshack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.