GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2016, 06:30 PM   #57
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by v.b View Post
Clear the codes the day before you go to get inspected, drive long enough to set readiness, then go get your inspection.

The MIL will only turn on after the code is detected twice.
I tried clearing the codes with odb2 but the light just comes back right away

Do I need the VAG?

Last edited by 50cool50; 01-23-2016 at 11:21 PM.
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 04:00 PM   #58
12xu
Newbie
 
Drives: 11 GTI 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Subscribed for this. I'm on the 4th rad and 3rd water pump, clearing the code 2 or 3 times a month and dreading CA emissions.

Would love to know what to do to get rid of this short of going back to the dealer for warranty replacement on the same 2 parts forever.

Does anyone else show P2568 and P2568 pending? Might just be a quirk of my obdII reader.
12xu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 04:58 PM   #59
AccelaSX
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 Black GTI K04 Autobahn
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 195
The shop that did my intercooler install, broke the ozone sensor (aka temperature sensor) and never told me about it, they just glued it back on and denied that they did anything. Eventually I had my regular mechanic to take apart the front end and fix the problem.
Here is a summary: The ozone probe is easy to break of you decide to remove it from the radiator (a few on this forum did it successfully though). What VW did is they cut threads in the radiator block where the probe goes in, so ones it is in, it will not come out, plus they use glue. In addition, the only way to buy a replacement ozone sensor is with a new radiator. This way VW ensures that only approved radiator with special coating is used.
In the end, I had to replace both sensor and radiator, but I asked my mechanic to drill out the stupid threads, so I can remove the sensor without braking it in the future, and filled the hole with silver thermal grease (Arctic Silver) to make sure there a good heat transfer between radiator and the probe. it has been good 5k miles and no issues so far.
AccelaSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:56 PM   #60
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
I am wondering, could someone with a good working sensor put probe ends into the wires feeding the sensor and take some Volt, amp, capacitance and ohms readings both when the car is cold , and then when it has warmed to operating temperature. Maybe we can get a prototype fix designed..
I am surprised no one has come up with a simulator for this yet being that it is such a temperamental pain in the ass even when it is working
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 01:38 PM   #61
AccelaSX
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 Black GTI K04 Autobahn
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50cool50 View Post
I am wondering, could someone with a good working sensor put probe ends into the wires feeding the sensor and take some Volt, amp, capacitance and ohms readings both when the car is cold , and then when it has warmed to operating temperature. Maybe we can get a prototype fix designed..
I am surprised no one has come up with a simulator for this yet being that it is such a temperamental pain in the ass even when it is working
I wish it was that simple. The sensor is lin bus operated and apparently it sends to ECU more than just a temperature information to confirm that its operational and nothing has been tempered with. PremAir DOR radiators have been used on many cars for the last few years and everywhere they cause problems. As far as i know no one was able to create something that will override or replicate this sensor.

Last edited by AccelaSX; 01-26-2016 at 04:14 PM.
AccelaSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 10:23 PM   #62
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccelaSX View Post
I wish it was that simple. The sensor is lin bus operated and apparently it sends to ECU more than just a temperature information to confirm that its operational and nothing has been tempered with. PremAir DOR radiators have been used on many cars for the last few years and everywhere they cause problems. As far as i know no one was able to create something that will override or replicate this sensor.


I found this part online without the radiator;

http://www.partsgeek.com/1sdqd78-mer...erature+Sensor

the interesting thing about this website is they send you a remanufactured sensor and they require your old sensor from you for core purposes, which should tell you that there is a way to reassemble the sensor back to working again. A requirement for the new sensor they send you is that you drill out the old nipple from the radiator..which should tell you that the id tagging that they are telling us from the sensor is a load of b.s. and is not radiator specific like VW would have us believe... Would I be right in thinking the sensor thermistor is measuring nothing more than specific temperature information biasing with the output of the coolant temp sensor.?

It makes sense, its just a resin nipple and a piece of copper wire that snaps off.

I would pay any man here a thousand dollars to come up with a way to recondition one of them old sensors... I know it can be done

Last edited by 50cool50; 01-26-2016 at 11:21 PM.
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 10:57 PM   #63
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Here is some further information on the creators of this little gremlin if anyone is interested..


http://www.catalysts.basf.com/p02/US...sions/prem-air
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 12:16 AM   #64
AccelaSX
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 Black GTI K04 Autobahn
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50cool50 View Post
I found this part online without the radiator;

http://www.partsgeek.com/1sdqd78-mer...erature+Sensor

the interesting thing about this website is they send you a remanufactured sensor and they require your old sensor from you for core purposes, which should tell you that there is a way to reassemble the sensor back to working again. A requirement for the new sensor they send you is that you drill out the old nipple from the radiator..which should tell you that the id tagging that they are telling us from the sensor is a load of b.s. and is not radiator specific like VW would have us believe... Would I be right in thinking the sensor thermistor is measuring nothing more than specific temperature information biasing with the output of the coolant temp sensor.?

It makes sense, its just a resin nipple and a piece of copper wire that snaps off.

I would pay any man here a thousand dollars to come up with a way to recondition one of them old sensors... I know it can be done
You are right that the probe itself measures the temperature, but then it combines the temperature data with some other data to tell ECU what the temp is and that the information came from an authentic sensor. What would be interesting to see, if sensor from benz will work in VW.
AccelaSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 12:49 AM   #65
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccelaSX View Post
You are right that the probe itself measures the temperature, but then it combines the temperature data with some other data to tell ECU what the temp is and that the information came from an authentic sensor. What would be interesting to see, if sensor from benz will work in VW.
Eureka! I took my sensor and resoldered the copper wire back to the nipple. I used Just a tiny bit of solder ... I believe it is very specific on the length of the copper wire ..on distance /air flow around the wire and the aluminum tab as part of its ID information it is sending., so I used little spacers between the radiator tab and the little black box. and now no ceL. ... At first I had it wrapped up in electrical tape and it was throwing the ceL....but now with the spacers and air flow - nothing... so far...have to wait and see if the light comes back
I am very pleased with my aftermarket basic radiator Saved myself a few hundy bills -stick your sensor up your ass audi

Last edited by 50cool50; 01-29-2016 at 02:45 AM.
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:10 AM   #66
AccelaSX
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 Black GTI K04 Autobahn
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50cool50 View Post
Eureka! I took my sensor and resoldered the copper wire back to the nipple. I used Just a tiny bit of solder ... I believe it is very specific on the length of the copper wire ..on distance /air flow around the wire and the aluminum tab as part of its ID information it is sending., so I used little spacers between the radiator tab and the little black box. and now no ceL. ... At first I had it wrapped up in electrical tape and it was throwing the ceL....but now with the spacers and air flow - nothing...
I am very pleased with my aftermarket basic radiator Saved myself a few hundy bills -stick your sensor up your ass audi
Congrats!!
AccelaSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 04:50 PM   #67
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AccelaSX View Post
Congrats!!
thanks.

Last edited by 50cool50; 02-03-2016 at 11:33 AM.
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 11:51 AM   #68
50cool50
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: audi a3
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix az
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcon View Post
I'm that guy. I took it out and zip tied it aside - CEL thrown, I cleared it, CEL thrown again.

So, I put it back, spaced the IC back a bit for clearance - no CEL, ever (and it's been quite a while).

Yes, the plastic clips break when you remove it. But, it fit in snugly when I put it back. I didn't use adhesive, and it hasn't moved.


My thought is (and I can't confirm this at all), it's a temperature sensor. I have no idea if it works by resistance or some other method. I think it senses the radiator temperature and references something else, like the coolant temp. If they don't jive, it assumes it's been tampered with and throws a code.

As for a simple fix (like a resistor) - that depends on how "smart" the coding is. It could easily be coded to not be "fooled" by a constant hot signal, and therefore not fooled by a resistor. However, that's pure speculation on my part........

In the end, putting it back worked, so I'm not messing with it any further.
My stupid light came back on again. So much for the celebrating. : /

Bcon, when you removed your sensor that time, did the nipple remain attached to the sensor? Or did it break away when you removed it from the radiator?
Has anyone ever had any success in getting the sensor to work again after the nipple has broke away?
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 01:11 AM   #69
crazyasamexican
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: 2013 GTI MK6 Driver's Edition
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Longtime reader of the forums, but figured it'd be a good time to make my debut post and share my experiences.

Coming back home from a California trip, had my Check Engine come on and drove to a PepBoys to check it out. P2568. So I figured there was nothing I could do at 7PM on a Saturday so I started my drive back home to Vegas.

On the last steep grade getting into town, I noticed my temp gauge flying to the right so I pulled over to check things out. Fans were running on max but the air coming out of the radiators was cold/ambient, water was in the reservoir and everything seemed cherry. By the time I got back in the car, the temperature was falling closer to 190 (about 210ish) so I limped up the hill some more and again the temperature rose. Did this 5-6 times until I got over the hill. Made it home and to the dealer after that without a problem on Monday.

Got a call Monday evening saying that they were going to replace the radiator/sensor since it's one whole "piece."

Picked the car up Wednesday, drove home, all fine. Drove to work, overheating again. Fans on high, radiator cold, but motor was toasty. So I fired up my heater in the and surprisingly limped my way back to the dealer with my temps sticking to 190.

Got the car back today (Thursday) with a new water pump and hopefully a functioning cooling system.

Car is a 13' DSG with 27k miles and on it's now second water pump all covered under warranty since I luckily purchased the extended.
crazyasamexican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 09:53 PM   #70
songyun
Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2013 MK6 GTI
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: bay area, CA
Posts: 380
I had this code last year. they replaced a waterpump for me. Then I had this again yesterday. Erased it this morning see if CEL will show up again. might take it to dealer later.
__________________
Unitronic stg 2. Neuspeed P-flo intake. Godspeed v2 intercooler. Magnaflow CBE - 42DD BIG BOOBS downpipe w/cat w/o res. EBC red pads.
songyun is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.