GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 06:19 PM   #1
Sean@forge
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 691
"Burn has been successfully completed..."

Today, we performed our first Revo Technik software flash on a new 2010 MK6 GTI TSI.

The customer's first reaction was that "it's f**king awesome!"

If anyone in the Orlando or surrounding Central Florida area is interested in Revo Technik software hit me up. If not, please contact your local Revo software tuner as they will all be able to perform the flashes soon!

http://www.revotechnik.com/

Sean@forge is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:23 PM   #2
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
Oh My Goodness...through the port. I heard the rumor, but did not believe it.
bubuski is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:30 PM   #3
GTI_likeurmom
GolfMK6 Elite
 
GTI_likeurmom's Avatar
 
Drives: Veyron 16.4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: woke up in a new Bugatti
Posts: 19,136
ooooooh. not sure whats going on but oooooooooh!!! more powwaaarrr!!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOBbluth View Post
I cut the tether off. When I get to the pump, I remove the cap and chuck it into the nearest bush, patch of trees, or some sort of wet lands. I pump gas. Then I spend anywhere from 5 to 165 minutes retrieving the cap. I screw it back on and drive away. I'm not letting it dangle against the paint and I don't know any better way.
GTI_likeurmom is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:33 PM   #4
cswooten1117
Touring Car Champion
 
cswooten1117's Avatar
 
Drives: Candy White GTI MKVI
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 215
What are the differences between REVO and APR? I'm guessing doing a flash through the OBD2 is a big deal.
__________________
cswooten1117 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:40 PM   #5
Sean@forge
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 691
The ECU still needs to be removed to be unlocked. Once unlocked, it is flashed through the OBD2 port.
Sean@forge is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:42 PM   #6
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswooten1117 View Post
What are the differences between REVO and APR?
There are many differences between Revo and APR. If you care to hear what APR can offer I can list out our features, highlights, tuning philosophy, data collection methods, upgrade paths, motorsport testing and so forth. I rather not post on this thread, unless specifically asked, so if you'd like, shoot me a PM or start a new thread and I'll comment.

Quote:
I'm guessing doing a flash through the OBD2 is a big deal.
Yes, it would be, but no 2010 ECU reflashes are through the OBDII port. The Revo ECU upgrade requires the ECU to be removed and flashed on the bench just like all the others.



Congrats Mike! The TSI has a lot of potential!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-08-12 at 5.47.38 PM.png
Views:	184
Size:	242.5 KB
ID:	3269  
Arin@APR is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:44 PM   #7
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
Will it have to be removed again after a VW dealer software update?
Or will the Revo SPS or OBD2 reflash again.
bubuski is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:46 PM   #8
Sean@forge
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post
Will it have to be removed again after a VW dealer software update?
Or will the Revo SPS or OBD2 reflash again.
Unfortunately, a VW update will reset the security lockout, and it will need to be removed again to be unlocked. It sucks, but no one (worldwide) is currently able to bypass VW's security lockout feature without removing the ECU.
Sean@forge is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:53 PM   #9
bubuski
El Moderador
 
bubuski's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 5-door TR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 3,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Forge View Post
Unfortunately, a VW update will reset the security lockout, and it will need to be removed again to be unlocked. It sucks, but no one (worldwide) is currently able to bypass VW's security lockout feature without removing the ECU.

I was hoping not to have a second removal. The first time is hard enough on my heart.

But Congrats
bubuski is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:00 PM   #10
Sean@forge
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubuski View Post

I was hoping not to have a second removal. The first time is hard enough on my heart.

But Congrats
Indeed, this sets chip tuning back about 8-10 years or so, technologically speaking, before everything was able to be done through the OBD2 port, but at least we don't quite have to remove and solder new eeproms.

Finding a way to crack the new security lockout feature, and get us back to OBD2 programming again for the newest applications, is still an ongoing process, so while that is actively being worked on, we're now able to flash via this less desirable but still suitable method!
Sean@forge is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #11
tippah
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 RB GOLF R
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: AUSTRALIA SYDNEY
Posts: 183
We didn't take out my ecu to revo tune it here in Australia!! Just the OBD2 port plug and play. I guess we have different ECU here in AUS
tippah is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:38 PM   #12
Arin@APR
GolfMK6 Official Vendor
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by tippah View Post
We didn't take out my ecu to revo tune it here in Australia!! Just the OBD2 port plug and play. I guess we have different ECU here in AUS
Earlier ROW ECU's did not have 1024 bit encryption so ODBII flashing was the same as flashing the ECU's in the MK5 with TSI engine.
Arin@APR is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:02 PM   #13
OverTimer
Formula 5000 Champion
 
OverTimer's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 PG GLI Autobahn DSG
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Uniontown
Posts: 2,598
Send a message via Yahoo to OverTimer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
Earlier ROW ECU's did not have 1024 bit encryption so ODBII flashing was the same as flashing the ECU's in the MK5 with TSI engine.
So none of us in the US have an older version of the ecu?
OverTimer is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:06 PM   #14
Pissed rabbit
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Pissed rabbit's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 United Silver GTI DSG
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Port St.Lucie
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to Pissed rabbit
Mike, How much for the flash if I drive up there??
__________________

2010 4dr United Gray GTi DSG
APR Stage 2.1 / Carbonio / Forge / K Sport / C.I.M. / APR 3" TBE / AWE

http://www.facebook.com/SargeMKVI
Pissed rabbit is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.