GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Wheels / Tires / Suspension / Brakes / Chassis | Sponsored by The Tire Rack


The Tire Rack
Welcome to the Wheels and Tires section of GolfMK6. This area is proudly sponsored by The Tire Rack.

If you are making a purchase from TireRack, please help support GolfMK6 by clicking through to them with this link or clicking on the Tire Rack banner ad. Doing so helps give back to GOLFMK6 so we can keep this place running!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2014, 12:13 PM   #1
zrickety
Formula 3000 Champion
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 4,961
DIY ESP Defeat, Disable, Delete 2008.5-2011 cars

Well, after some more digging it appears a polish fellow has figured this out?! He has a youtube video showing a 2 stage ESP with full disable by holding the button for 3 sec. I asked him how he did it using google translate and this is his response,
'Hi, I changed the pump 1K0907379AD byte 16 bit 3, the value of 34 changed to 3C, each pump is not how it works. Pumps AH and AJ have here another function...'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KT5Ey-hY7I

This appears to be working on 09, 10, 11 GTI. Please note that pump versions vary and your results may vary.
Part No 1K0 907 379 AD, AE, AM, BC, confirmed working.
Pumps AH, AJ, BE not supported. (Edit- try 29 for AJ pump)
BG accepts coding but ESP still active.
Component: ESP MK60EC1
I tap the ESP off and it blinks, or I hold for 3 sec and it's solid. ESP OFF!
For some cars, this appears to be a 1 stage defeat.

TLDR- 1 or 2 stage ESP off by manually changing ABS coding byte 16 to 3C (or 3D, 38, 39 depending on hill assist and indirect TPMS options).

38 = Hill Hold off, TPMS off
39 = Hill Hold on, TPMS off
3C = Hill Hold off, TPMS on
3D = Hill Hold on, TPMS on
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.

Last edited by zrickety; 11-27-2016 at 10:21 AM. Reason: years, part numbers, coding, graMMar
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 12:43 PM   #2
nafljhy
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2011 UG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BUR
Posts: 1,038
this sounds interesting and very promising! I have a 2011. i'll give it a try later today/tonight.

Last edited by nafljhy; 12-18-2014 at 01:45 PM.
nafljhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 01:09 PM   #3
zrickety
Formula 3000 Champion
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 4,961
Please do, let us know if you beat me to it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 01:09 PM   #4
aw614
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2011 CW MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lutz, FL, USA
Posts: 1,817
I'll try it when I get home, I dont have my laptop and gti on me today. Do you have the youtube or forum link?

EDIT: This was from an old thread on vortex on my long coding off my 2011, I take it this is my abs/esp?
Address 03: ABS Brakes (J104) Labels: 1K0-907-379-60EC1F.clb
Part No SW: 1K0 907 379 BG HW: 1K0 907 379 BG
Component: ESP MK60EC1 H31 0106
Revision: 00H31001
Coding: 114B600C492400FA880B06ED92220041B70800
Shop #: WSC 01357 011 00200
VCID: 78D131C3CB505BD8195

No fault code found.

Last edited by aw614; 12-16-2014 at 01:27 PM.
aw614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 04:22 PM   #5
nafljhy
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2011 UG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BUR
Posts: 1,038
The link would be helpful. I just checked my abs module but I don't have bit 3 for byte 16. My code for byte 16 is B6.
nafljhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 04:30 PM   #6
corrado917
Formula 3000 Driver
 
corrado917's Avatar
 
Drives: GTI CSG
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,299
Sub'd for results, this could be the Mod of the Year!
Thanks for sharing
__________________
A buch of goodies APRís K04 kit, NGK 8 plugs , Unitronic Intake, Eurojet DP, Magnaflow catback, APRís TCU tune, 034 Dogbone Mount Insert, S3 intercooler, Forge catch can, Modshack trim, AWE tuning IC hoses, Neuspeed K04 TOP & TDP, H&R Cup kit, Golf Rís skirts & side mirrors, Euro LED tails, GTD grill, H&R sways, Stern bar, Enkei RPF1 & some other stuff..Build
corrado917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 04:32 PM   #7
zrickety
Formula 3000 Champion
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 4,961
I don't have a real link, just to a video in polish where he demonstrates pushing the button. Perhaps this is only for late mkv TSI cars.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.

Last edited by zrickety; 12-16-2014 at 04:38 PM.
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 04:46 PM   #8
nafljhy
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2011 UG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BUR
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrickety View Post
I don't have a real link, just to a video in polish where he demonstrates pushing the button. Perhaps this is only for late mkv TSI cars.
oooh, i see what you mean now. I wonder if the actual ABS pump makes a difference in coding. Maybe even the version of VCDS. I have the latest version of VCDS so take that into consideration when you guys are looking into it.
nafljhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 05:18 PM   #9
zrickety
Formula 3000 Champion
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 4,961
My vcds did not show the bit either but it did let me manually change the number.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 05:25 PM   #10
HYDE16
Formula 2 Driver
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 MK6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Morris County, NJ
Posts: 6,629
Interesting, anyone successfully change this?
__________________
Pag Parts EFR Turbo Thread: HYDE16 - The Pag Parts EFR Turbo Kit
Build Thread: HYDE16 - Project Jekyll & Hyde Build Thread
Facebook: Ryan Jacobs
Instagram:@becauseHYDE16
YouTube: HYDE16
HYDE16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 05:29 PM   #11
aw614
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2011 CW MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lutz, FL, USA
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrickety View Post
I don't have a real link, just to a video in polish where he demonstrates pushing the button. Perhaps this is only for late mkv TSI cars.
what about the link to the video?

Worst case scenario you'll probably trigger an abs code and have to do an abs system function test, that was fun when I did it the first time trying the 2012 method
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AVPRj2BNuc
aw614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 06:23 PM   #12
nafljhy
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2011 UG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BUR
Posts: 1,038
I could've changed the code too but decided not to.

since you changed the bye itself, have you noticed a difference? can you actually fully disable esp?
nafljhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 06:40 PM   #13
aw614
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2011 CW MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lutz, FL, USA
Posts: 1,817
it works i think just tried it i;ll post a video
aw614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 06:47 PM   #14
HYDE16
Formula 2 Driver
 
HYDE16's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 MK6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Morris County, NJ
Posts: 6,629
Nice! A video of the exact step by step?
__________________
Pag Parts EFR Turbo Thread: HYDE16 - The Pag Parts EFR Turbo Kit
Build Thread: HYDE16 - Project Jekyll & Hyde Build Thread
Facebook: Ryan Jacobs
Instagram:@becauseHYDE16
YouTube: HYDE16
HYDE16 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.