GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2015, 09:34 PM   #1
(. )( .)
Formula 5000 Driver
 
(. )( .)'s Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,410
Inconsistent Misfiring

YO guys.

So i'm getting a random misfire in my cylinder 4; replaced all sparkplugs and coils already, and after about a week from replacing them, it misfired from a cold start, same CEL..


Drove on it for about 100 miles, reset the light, and now it's not misfiring anymore (atleast for now).


Carbon cleaning was done 40k miles ago, new plugs and coils... what else could it be?
__________________
APR, UR, KW, K&N, Forgestar, Whiteline, 034, 3M, P4E, RDash, deAutoKey, Brazzers, DDM
(. )( .) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 09:41 PM   #2
GeorgiaBII
FIA GT Champion
 
GeorgiaBII's Avatar
 
Drives: SOLD!
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hell!
Posts: 1,206
Timing chain tensioner
__________________
Mods:42DD Down Pipe/Nav 315/APR STAGE 2/Stevens 620a /New South Boost Gauge
GeorgiaBII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:34 PM   #3
(. )( .)
Formula 5000 Driver
 
(. )( .)'s Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,410
even if it's inconsistent? i've put on another 50-60 miles from the time i reset the light, no cel.



the point is, i don't want to mess w/ the tensioner if I don't have to..
__________________
APR, UR, KW, K&N, Forgestar, Whiteline, 034, 3M, P4E, RDash, deAutoKey, Brazzers, DDM
(. )( .) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:37 PM   #4
youloze
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 gti
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 126
By inconsistent do you mean it happens randomly? I have a cylinder 3 misfire that happens only on cold starts and not every time...although it is happening more frequently. I have also replaced coils and plugs. Haven't performed the carbon clean yet though.

If you figure it out please report back and I'll do the same.
youloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:50 PM   #5
(. )( .)
Formula 5000 Driver
 
(. )( .)'s Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,410
yes by inconsistent i mean random. cold start, not every time; so far it's happened on three separate occasions, of like 30 starts.
__________________
APR, UR, KW, K&N, Forgestar, Whiteline, 034, 3M, P4E, RDash, deAutoKey, Brazzers, DDM
(. )( .) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:53 PM   #6
youloze
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 gti
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 126
That's how mine started. I would clear the code and it would eventually come back. It has been happening much more frequently lately, probably once every few days. Does your car shake a bit at idle on the cold start for the first 20-30 seconds then smooth out?
youloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:54 PM   #7
steemax
Formula 3000 Champion
 
steemax's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Subaru WRX Stage 2 ProTune
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 4,098
Sounds like carbon build up again, especially since you already tried plugs and packs.
__________________
Previous: 2011 VW FrankenTurbo GTi
Present: 2016 Subaru WRX Stage 2
YouTube: Click Here
Instagram: Steamax
steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:57 PM   #8
(. )( .)
Formula 5000 Driver
 
(. )( .)'s Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by youloze View Post
That's how mine started. I would clear the code and it would eventually come back. It has been happening much more frequently lately, probably once every few days. Does your car shake a bit at idle on the cold start for the first 20-30 seconds then smooth out?
yep. sometimes it shakes when it's warm.
__________________
APR, UR, KW, K&N, Forgestar, Whiteline, 034, 3M, P4E, RDash, deAutoKey, Brazzers, DDM
(. )( .) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:58 PM   #9
(. )( .)
Formula 5000 Driver
 
(. )( .)'s Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by steemax View Post
Sounds like carbon build up again, especially since you already tried plugs and packs.
god damn it lmao. that would be a good thing if it was carbon.
__________________
APR, UR, KW, K&N, Forgestar, Whiteline, 034, 3M, P4E, RDash, deAutoKey, Brazzers, DDM
(. )( .) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:00 PM   #10
Geryon86
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
Geryon86's Avatar
 
Drives: MK7 R
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 470
40k miles is enough for it to build up again. It could be faulty fuel injectors too. I had a similar problem, VW replaced 3 of 4 injectors under warranty and offered $200 to clean my valves.
__________________
16' LB R | DSG | APR Stage II HT |
11' SB GTI
|DSG|APR v3.1|CTS K04|
Geryon86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:04 PM   #11
steemax
Formula 3000 Champion
 
steemax's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Subaru WRX Stage 2 ProTune
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 4,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by (. )( .) View Post
god damn it lmao. that would be a good thing if it was carbon.
If you want to make sure, you can buy one of those little snake scope cams from Amazon for like $20. Remove the little IAT sensor and check out the buildup. Takes like 5 minutes to do.
__________________
Previous: 2011 VW FrankenTurbo GTi
Present: 2016 Subaru WRX Stage 2
YouTube: Click Here
Instagram: Steamax
steemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:05 PM   #12
Sebastian24
FIA GT Newbie
 
Sebastian24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 4door GTI CSG
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 743
Could be intake mani itself... Does it stop after it warms up?

Also another possibility is gunk on your crank position sensor. I chased a misfire for a long time when in reality there was no misfire... It just read it as such
__________________
'13 4 door Autobahn Edition k04, Uni tune, FBO

"YOU ARE ALL A BUNCH OF JEALOUS AS F**K HATERS! HA! I'M THE TITS AND YOU WISH YOU WERE AS AWESOME AS ME." -Fireball, The Fallen
Sebastian24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:08 PM   #13
youloze
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 gti
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian24 View Post
Could be intake mani itself... Does it stop after it warms up?

Also another possibility is gunk on your crank position sensor. I chased a misfire for a long time when in reality there was no misfire... It just read it as such
There was no code for the sensor itself? Just misfire codes?
youloze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 09:37 PM   #14
Sebastian24
FIA GT Newbie
 
Sebastian24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 4door GTI CSG
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charlotte,NC
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by youloze View Post
There was no code for the sensor itself? Just misfire codes?
No code whatsoever, just misfiring from about 1700 rpm to 4k or so
__________________
'13 4 door Autobahn Edition k04, Uni tune, FBO

"YOU ARE ALL A BUNCH OF JEALOUS AS F**K HATERS! HA! I'M THE TITS AND YOU WISH YOU WERE AS AWESOME AS ME." -Fireball, The Fallen
Sebastian24 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.