GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

The right exhaust

modernmedusa

Car(s)
Mk7
I'm pretty new to the MK7 life, however my GTI has already been tuned and modded with a APR carbon fiber intake. My next goal is finding the right exhaust. I've done some research on Youtube as far as which ones sound like what and what benefit they have however that still hasn't satisfied me enough. I read some forums earlier stating that certain things such as deleting the muffler or res can cause CEL. I want to avoid any coding errors but still get a nice, head turning, smooth, sounding exhaust system. I'm not too picky as far as price goes, but ofc anything under 1000 would be more preferred. I'm not too picky on a drone sound just don't want to be one of those "Their car sounds like shit" people lol. i'm not super educated on the benefits of adding a DP or not, deleting the muffler/res or anything of that nature. I guess I would like more power added or maybe the sound of more power? I want to beable to start my whip and hear that growl. You know the one i'm talking about, that sound that cracks your lips a little and gives your arms goosebumps.

Desslok

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 Rabbit
It is a demonstrable fact that you can't make a mk7 sound very good. You can make it sound sort of good at low rpm or high rpm, but not both on the same car.

Here are your choices:
A. Raspy
B. Boomy
C. stock
D. a different car

Reactions: the

jay745

What Would Glenn Danzig Do
Car(s)
Mk6 racecar, Tacoma
Sound is subjective and you'll get a lot of different replies. Your best bet is to go make friends at a local car meet, listen to others setup and make your choice. You won't get a cel from deleting a resonator or muffler but those typically don't sound very good on an oem exhaust.

Maiden69

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2020 GTI

SouthFL_Mk7.5

Autocross Champion
Car(s)
2019 GTI S
CEL won’t occur with the stock Downpipe in place.