GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

First time buyer, what to look out for?

Madredchris

Hey guys.

I'm new here! Just registered.
So i graduated June last year and almost have saved enough to -FINALLY- buy a Golf Mk6 R. Im so stoked!
I would like an automatic (i can drive stick but i drive a lot for my job and manual in traffics jams is... $#!@)

Since you all share the same love for the car as i do, probably more, i would love to have some expert opinions on what to look out for when buying one. I've done some research myself and found some stuff to watch out for.
Things like:
  • Look for maintenance history if its present. Fine details like tire types, cleanness of interior
  • Check that the DSG is functional, shifts should be REALLY smooth, might indicate a defect if there is something wrong
  • Check the belt, make sure it has been replaced on the correct amount of miles (kilometers where im from). Just a double check, is it at around 80k miles (~120-130k km)?
  • Step on the gas in a low gear, if the real wheels slip the Haldex pump might be defective
  • Check the chassis for damage
  • Creaking sound might be a broken steering bearing
Do you guys have some more things to look out for?

Thanks!

ALGH

Congratulations man, seems like you got a pretty good handle on this already. Enjoy your future ride!

GolfR333

Ready to race!
Check on the cam flower. Change it every 20 k. Also timing belt due around 80 k or 7 years. Check harmonic balancer in the rear that connects to driveshaft.

Madredchris

Congratulations man, seems like you got a pretty good handle on this already. Enjoy your future ride!

Thanks! Im very hyped!

Check on the cam flower. Change it every 20 k. Also timing belt due around 80 k or 7 years. Check harmonic balancer in the rear that connects to driveshaft.

- Is there any way to check cam follower without dismantling the whole fuel pump?
- Are you talking miles or km's?
- What can be defective about the harmonic balancer?

Thanks!