GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

MK6 R Cam follower, lobe, pump assessment

Mike2512

I changed the cam follower at 50,000 miles and would appreaciate feedback on the condition of the follower, lobe, pump.
Is has been running a stage 1 tune for around 25,000. Serviced regualrly with oil changes around 7,000 intervals.

Attachments

• IMG-9505.JPG
    IMG-9505.JPG
    937 KB · Views: 117
  • IMG-9506.JPG
    IMG-9506.JPG
    4 MB · Views: 176
  • IMG-9508.JPG
    IMG-9508.JPG
    512.3 KB · Views: 131
  • IMG-9526.JPG
    IMG-9526.JPG
    569.8 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG-9527.JPG
    IMG-9527.JPG
    439.8 KB · Views: 119
  • IMG-9529.JPG
    IMG-9529.JPG
    757.7 KB · Views: 130

Mike2512

You definitely got some wear on the follower. I believe the recommended service interval for these once you're tuned is roughly every 5k miles. Looks like a bit of marring on the lobe as well, but I'm not a super expert.

@Thumper I think will have some good advice here for ya on this one.
Thanks for the reply.

I was expecting some wear on the follower. The coating has something left on the edges which appears consistent with "stage 2" wear. Do they usually wear on the inside pump contact point?
Somewhat concerned about the cam lobe. Would it help to have a pic of the flat side of the cam?
You definitely got some wear on the follower. I believe the recommended service interval for these once you're tuned is roughly every 5k miles. Looks like a bit of marring on the lobe as well, but I'm not a super expert.

@Thumper I think will have some good advice here for ya on this one.

Attachments

• Cam follower.jpg
    Cam follower.jpg
    118.7 KB · Views: 121

Thumper

Autocross Champion
This is what mine looked like after roughly 27k all of it as a Stg3 car.

I am SUPER glad I decided to change it, I had thought the guy I bought the car from said he had done it "recently", when I checked the records and notes he had I found out it had been 27k.