GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV

Updated waterpump (BG) feedback

Roadrunner_GTI

Drag Racing Champion
Hey guys, looking to get some feedback on the latest waterpump released for the CBFA engine: part# 06J-121-026-BG. I'm having one installed tomorrow, and trying to get an idea if it's a long term fix or if this will be a repeat failure. I realize installation has quite a bit to do with the failures, but I'm speaking more about the plastic/composite material being any different than the previous versions.

It seems ridiculous to me to manufacture a critical component like a waterpump out of composite, especially considering it's exposed to the direct heat of the cylinder block....so I was disappointed to see the newest version is not completely aluminum, but still composite. Anyone heard of or seen a BG pump failed?

Wideopentuning

Ready to race!
I have no first hand experience but my brother works in the parts department of a VW dealership. He said that so far, they have had good luck with the latest revision versus some of the earlier ones. From what I understand, attention to detail during install can also play a role in lifespan.

songyun

Ready to race!
i had that new version one on March this year. then replaced another one for 3k miles. now it's been 5k. hope it wont be a problem anymore

TesseracT

Passed Driver's Ed
Had mine for the past 3k with zero problems. Personally, I asked them to just take their time and put their most comfortable guy/guys on the job and to not skip out on the seal that is also included as part of the recall (humble mechanic mentioned it).

However, I was on the previous revision with no problems as well. Humble Mechanic has a video out where he talks about the design difference with this latest one, so it seems like it's definitely a step in the right direction based on the issue he had seen on several water pumps before.

I'm not placing any bets on it, but it definitely seems to be an upgrade

Roadrunner_GTI