GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2017, 06:58 PM   #1
TDIDrive
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 39
Which RCD510 unit to buy!?

I currently have RCD310 with AUX and MDI in the centre console. I literally just want to install (plug and play) an RCD510 as it looks better than the 310. I want to keep the AUX and MDI but im unsure what RCD510 to buy. I was leaning toward the Delphi Chinese Units on eBay for about 100 but i read the USB function they come with can mess up the AUX?

Can anyone help me out please?

This was the unit i was looking at - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-Car-St...sAAOSwl9RZ9wkX
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:30 PM   #2
nvturbo
Formula 2 Driver
 
nvturbo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 VW VERSA hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,378
make sure to get the security code. If not, it WILL NOT WORK.
__________________
....used to own a MK6 GTI
nvturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:11 PM   #3
TDIDrive
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: VW Golf MK6 TDI 1.6 BlueMotion
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 39
Noted cheers. I'm just unsure which/where to purchase. I want to be sure everything will still work and its just a straight swap plug and play.
TDIDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 10:54 PM   #4
nvturbo
Formula 2 Driver
 
nvturbo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 VW VERSA hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,378
It should plug up and work fine, once you enter the security code when prompted to.
__________________
....used to own a MK6 GTI
nvturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 01:26 AM   #5
c72k
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: Mk5 GTI Fahrenheit
Join Date: May 2013
Location: California
Posts: 1,295
Get the genuine one and make sure it's the AF
c72k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 03:01 PM   #6
Olisiwk
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: GTI
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 84
Another option would be to check out RCD330. It's more updated and has the general features of AUX, BT audio, supports steering wheel, etc. Also, it's plug and play so no issues with installment or fitment. I purchased one off ebay for about $140 and haven't had any problems. Screen response is pretty accurate as well.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/6-5-MIB-Car...4383.l4275.c10
Olisiwk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 03:22 PM   #7
gokturks
Banned
 
Drives: Jetta
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Rcd330 plus better then rns and rcd 510 ��


http://s.aliexpress.com/2eaaYBje
gokturks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:39 AM   #8
uglybastard
Formula 5000 Champion
 
uglybastard's Avatar
 
Drives: VW Mk6 CSG GTI 2D 6MT; Jeep WJ
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Central NH
Posts: 2,778
My RNS510 was plug and play with minor VCDS tweaks to make the sound clearer (the used came from a passat so i figured i'd need to make some adjustments). Find one based on part number and make sure to check the revision and that you will have the security code. I called a VW dealership and they helped me out but not all VW dealerships are that nice.
__________________


R135 ..............VAGCOM in Southern NH
╬╬╣
..246.............. Insta
uglybastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 11:18 PM   #9
AIDUAUTO
Banned
 
Drives: JETTA MK6
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: china
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to AIDUAUTO
Quote:
Originally Posted by gokturks View Post
Rcd330 plus better then rns and rcd 510 ��


http://s.aliexpress.com/2eaaYBje
thank you friend
AIDUAUTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 11:19 PM   #10
AIDUAUTO
Banned
 
Drives: JETTA MK6
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: china
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to AIDUAUTO
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIDrive View Post
I currently have RCD310 with AUX and MDI in the centre console. I literally just want to install (plug and play) an RCD510 as it looks better than the 310. I want to keep the AUX and MDI but im unsure what RCD510 to buy. I was leaning toward the Delphi Chinese Units on eBay for about 100 but i read the USB function they come with can mess up the AUX?

Can anyone help me out please?

This was the unit i was looking at - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-Car-St...sAAOSwl9RZ9wkX
i have rcd510 .. but ... rcd510 too old module ... RCD330 is best choose :
AIDUAUTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 11:19 PM   #11
AIDUAUTO
Banned
 
Drives: JETTA MK6
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: china
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to AIDUAUTO
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIDrive View Post
I currently have RCD310 with AUX and MDI in the centre console. I literally just want to install (plug and play) an RCD510 as it looks better than the 310. I want to keep the AUX and MDI but im unsure what RCD510 to buy. I was leaning toward the Delphi Chinese Units on eBay for about 100 but i read the USB function they come with can mess up the AUX?

Can anyone help me out please?

This was the unit i was looking at - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-Car-St...sAAOSwl9RZ9wkX
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...634994f41H9tTO
AIDUAUTO is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.