GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2017, 08:11 AM   #71
TheCor
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITSSTI View Post
Just stumbled in here and immediately did some googling. Has anyone installed this one?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Car-...0-3dfeb175bca2

Can we confirm if Steering Wheel Controls and Car Play work?
That is the one I just installed last night. I'm at work so can't post any pictures. Was 4 screws, the large harness and the antenna plug (with new adapter they include). Looks completely OEM, is a VW part per the label on the unit. Carplay works very well (I have no prior experience with it). Bluetooth connects automatically after pairing if Carplay is not plugged in with USB. Steering wheel controls seem to work - the only one I didn't try was the "phone" button....but with it plugged in for Carplay, hitting the voice dial button on the steering wheel brings up Siri and its very responsive. I did take a call from my wife (who doesn't know I bought this, lol) and the sound quality was good. Music sound quality is improved, FM reception was good.
Oh, and when its connected to Carplay, there is no bluetooth connection, and therefore no phonebook on the MDI display behind the wheel, but its all available on the unit. Also, doesn't show tracks playing behind the wheel, I never used that anyway, always seemed far too redundant.

Yea, you get 187B for $223.70 shipped right now. I ordered mine last Monday or Tuesday and it came yesterday (Wednesday).
__________________
_______
2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
H&R 24mm Rear Sway Bar | aFe Pro Dry S Drop-In Filter | DinanTRONICS Sport Performance Tuner | Black Forest Industries Dogbone Mount Insert | ECS Front Subframe Locking Collars
TheCor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:33 AM   #72
vwgti2.0t
Formula 3000 Champion
 
Drives: 2011 CW GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,974
I installed mine last night and can mirror what the previous poster said. It's fantastic compared to my RNS-315.

FWIW, the phone button on the steering wheel will switch the unit to the phone menu. And, I didn't think anything worked in the MFD, but when you're on a call the name of who you're talking to shows up there.

For $220, its one of the best electronics purchases I've ever made. I'm REALLY happy with it.
vwgti2.0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:51 AM   #73
TheCor
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 115




__________________
_______
2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
H&R 24mm Rear Sway Bar | aFe Pro Dry S Drop-In Filter | DinanTRONICS Sport Performance Tuner | Black Forest Industries Dogbone Mount Insert | ECS Front Subframe Locking Collars
TheCor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 09:56 AM   #74
vwgti2.0t
Formula 3000 Champion
 
Drives: 2011 CW GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,974



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
vwgti2.0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 10:29 AM   #75
BringerOdeath
FIA GT Newbie
 
BringerOdeath's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTI Candy White
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr wrong View Post
Just installed this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/262707429251...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Initial impressions:

Super pleased with this. I got the 'base' unit as I'm an android user and had no need for CarPlay

Totally plug and play. Literally took 10 minutes.

Pairs almost immediately to my Android (Pixel).

Worked out of the box with my aftermarket amps. No coding.

Works with Google Assist- I just press the on-screen voice button and can make calls via voice command.

Sound quality (to me) is very good.

The one thing I'm super pumped about is that the unit now stays on until the key is removed from the ignition which is great for shutting off the engine and maintaining a bluetooth connection..

I listen to most of my music from an SD card.. Browsing is way faster now..

Best 135.00 I've spent..

Steering wheel controls work except for the phone button- I wonder if the phone button can be remapped to activate voice commands..

Haven't messed with it a lot and will post more impressions and observations as they arise.
Does it work with a reverse camera? I have gotten so used to my android unit and my spotify, pandora and toque apps, that it would be hard to go back to no apps....
__________________
K04 G.I.A.C. Tuned, Godspeed FMIC V2.0, R8 red Coilpacks, Volant Intake, Fastbits DV+,42 Draft designs DP-high flow cat, Fluidampr, 034 motorsports street engine/tranny mounts, Vibratech Subframe insert, 034 motosports aspherical dogbone, 034 stainless subframe collar kit, IE Africa plate, AWE S3 style Charge /discharge pipes, Koni Coilovers, TSW Donington wheels, Golf R side skirts, TTRS BBK, Dual caliper Cayenne rear BBK
BringerOdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 10:55 AM   #76
mr wrong
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2017 Golf Alltrack
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by *****2.0t View Post
I installed mine last night and can mirror what the previous poster said. It's fantastic compared to my RNS-315.

FWIW, the phone button on the steering wheel will switch the unit to the phone menu. And, I didn't think anything worked in the MFD, but when you're on a call the name of who you're talking to shows up there.

For $220, its one of the best electronics purchases I've ever made. I'm REALLY happy with it.

That's weird.. My phone button does nothing and there's nothing in the MFD..

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 Golf Alltrack - JB4 -
mr wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 10:59 AM   #77
mr wrong
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Drives: 2017 Golf Alltrack
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by BringerOdeath View Post
Does it work with a reverse camera? I have gotten so used to my android unit and my spotify, pandora and toque apps, that it would be hard to go back to no apps....
Yes they say it works with the camera.. I picked up a camera that's integrated with the reverse light, but not sure how to wire it up.. That's my next project.. In terms of using Torque and radio apps, I picked up a Pro Clip and keep my phone just to the right of the radio.
.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 Golf Alltrack - JB4 -
mr wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 01:57 PM   #78
yogma
Newbie
 
Drives: (UGM) 2012 GTI
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1
So, to confirm, this $220 aliexpress version works w/ mk6 gti? There was an earlier message in this thread, pleading, "I just don't know why VW doesn't offer a software update to make CarPlay compatible with MK6 systems"
yogma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 01:59 PM   #79
BringerOdeath
FIA GT Newbie
 
BringerOdeath's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTI Candy White
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr wrong View Post
Yes they say it works with the camera.. I picked up a camera that's integrated with the reverse light, but not sure how to wire it up.. That's my next project.. In terms of using Torque and radio apps, I picked up a Pro Clip and keep my phone just to the right of the radio.
.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
I can help you with that if you would like, I wired an oem style pop up camera on my setup
__________________
K04 G.I.A.C. Tuned, Godspeed FMIC V2.0, R8 red Coilpacks, Volant Intake, Fastbits DV+,42 Draft designs DP-high flow cat, Fluidampr, 034 motorsports street engine/tranny mounts, Vibratech Subframe insert, 034 motosports aspherical dogbone, 034 stainless subframe collar kit, IE Africa plate, AWE S3 style Charge /discharge pipes, Koni Coilovers, TSW Donington wheels, Golf R side skirts, TTRS BBK, Dual caliper Cayenne rear BBK
BringerOdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:11 PM   #80
jontalk
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 VW Golf, manual, coupe
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr wrong View Post
Just installed this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/262707429251...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Initial impressions:

Super pleased with this. I got the 'base' unit as I'm an android user and had no need for CarPlay

Totally plug and play. Literally took 10 minutes.

Pairs almost immediately to my Android (Pixel).

Worked out of the box with my aftermarket amps. No coding.

Works with Google Assist- I just press the on-screen voice button and can make calls via voice command.

Sound quality (to me) is very good.

The one thing I'm super pumped about is that the unit now stays on until the key is removed from the ignition which is great for shutting off the engine and maintaining a bluetooth connection..

I listen to most of my music from an SD card.. Browsing is way faster now..

Best 135.00 I've spent..

Steering wheel controls work except for the phone button- I wonder if the phone button can be remapped to activate voice commands..

Haven't messed with it a lot and will post more impressions and observations as they arise.
Very cool and appreciate the link. Do I assume your previous head unit was an RCD 510? As I said I drive a base Golf not a GTI so the head units are far different, no steering wheel controls either. Still wanting to know if the main plug on my Premium 7 is the same as the one used in this unit..Anybody know? I have the rear window antenna also so I'm going to assume that plug should be OK. Needless to say I have no interest in shipping a unit that doesn't plug in back to China! Thanks
jontalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:17 PM   #81
TheCor
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogma View Post
So, to confirm, this $220 aliexpress version works w/ mk6 gti? There was an earlier message in this thread, pleading, "I just don't know why VW doesn't offer a software update to make CarPlay compatible with MK6 systems"
Yes, the $220 AliExpress product is what I installed in my 2013 US Market GTI (without Dynaudio) last night, works flawlessly, its a VW product.
__________________
_______
2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
H&R 24mm Rear Sway Bar | aFe Pro Dry S Drop-In Filter | DinanTRONICS Sport Performance Tuner | Black Forest Industries Dogbone Mount Insert | ECS Front Subframe Locking Collars
TheCor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:18 PM   #82
TheCor
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontalk View Post
Very cool and appreciate the link. Do I assume your previous head unit was an RCD 510? As I said I drive a base Golf not a GTI so the head units are far different, no steering wheel controls either. Still wanting to know if the main plug on my Premium 7 is the same as the one used in this unit..Anybody know? I have the rear window antenna also so I'm going to assume that plug should be OK. Needless to say I have no interest in shipping a unit that doesn't plug in back to China! Thanks
You should contact the seller on AliExpress, they should be able to answer that for you. They were responsive when I asked for tracking information to be updated. This replaced an RCD310 for me.
__________________
_______
2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
H&R 24mm Rear Sway Bar | aFe Pro Dry S Drop-In Filter | DinanTRONICS Sport Performance Tuner | Black Forest Industries Dogbone Mount Insert | ECS Front Subframe Locking Collars
TheCor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:31 PM   #83
jontalk
Oval Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 VW Golf, manual, coupe
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCor View Post
You should contact the seller on AliExpress, they should be able to answer that for you. They were responsive when I asked for tracking information to be updated. This replaced an RCD310 for me.
Thanks...I went to the Ebay link and sent them a message along with a photo of the rear of a Premium 7..What's odd is the compatibility chart which states VW Golf Mk VI, 2008/09. It seems it uses the same large plug with the red "10" thing whatever that is Curious what your previous head unit was and if this sounds better too
jontalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 02:48 PM   #84
TheCor
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 115
The red "thing" is a 10amp fuse. I had an RCD310, and this does seem to sound a little bit better. I'm not sure if this unit supplies more amps than my original or not.
__________________
_______
2013 GTI Wolfsburg Edition
H&R 24mm Rear Sway Bar | aFe Pro Dry S Drop-In Filter | DinanTRONICS Sport Performance Tuner | Black Forest Industries Dogbone Mount Insert | ECS Front Subframe Locking Collars
TheCor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.