GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Mods (interior & exterior modifications)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2018, 01:41 PM   #29
Carlosfandango
FIA GT Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT - 2016 MK7 GTi DSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
LED DRL CODING ISSUES

Pin 5 T52a (black connector) is left headlight main beam!
Pin 46 T52c (gold connector) is right headlight main beam!


Pins 48 and 49 in T52c show as vacant in ELSAWIN, it looks like youíve already had those wires removed at some point going by the marks on the connector,

As I understand it for led drl function the

LEFT headlight pin 10 goes to pin 26 T52c,
LEFT headlight pin 12 goes to pin 6 T52a,

and

RIGHT headlight pin 10 goes to pin 44 T52a,
RIGHT headlight pin 12 goes to pin 28 T52a,

Iím pretty sure this is correct and is as the wiring diagram in ELSAWIN states!

If you donít have pins in 26 and 44 on the bcm then you need a different one.

I donít know if itís your bcm or not but In this picture you posted on your other thread T52a pin 6 (red) and pin 44 (yellow) are MISSING!

Green is T52c pin 26,



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Carlosfandango; 09-23-2018 at 02:45 PM.
Carlosfandango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 02:19 PM   #30
Carlosfandango
FIA GT Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT - 2016 MK7 GTi DSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
I canít really help any further without actually having the wiring in front of me, as long as you wire the plugs as ELSAWIN states then it WILL work, providing you have the actual pins in the bcm!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Carlosfandango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 10:08 PM   #31
Blake1090
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Blake1090's Avatar
 
Drives: MK7 R
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,908
I did this retrofit last year on a 2011 GTI and recorded some crucial pieces of information. I had a highline CECM and OEM non-LED Xenons. I did not have to add any additional wires.

"Anyone that is coding LED headlights for a 2010 or 2011 I think the key is changing byte 18 to 20. And then enabling LED DRLs (Bit 2) on byte 27."

I hope this helps you!
__________________
'11 GTI DSG | Unitronic Stage II | Eurojet/SPM Turboback Exhaust | Neuspeed P Flo Intake | GFB DV+ | R8 Coilpacks | ST Coilovers | LED Headlights | Q5 Wheels |
Blake1090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 02:10 PM   #32
geramy1232
Oval Newbie
 
geramy1232's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
Also are you sure thatís t52a and not t52c? And as Iíve already asked (and I suspect this is the issue) does the actual bcm have the pins in it for the LED wires??? NOT the plug, THE BCM!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Hey guys, I havenít had time to keep on messing with the lights but the BCM you had posted is not the one I have. Mine is this one and includes pin 6
geramy1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 02:13 PM   #33
geramy1232
Oval Newbie
 
geramy1232's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1090 View Post
I did this retrofit last year on a 2011 GTI and recorded some crucial pieces of information. I had a highline CECM and OEM non-LED Xenons. I did not have to add any additional wires.

"Anyone that is coding LED headlights for a 2010 or 2011 I think the key is changing byte 18 to 20. And then enabling LED DRLs (Bit 2) on byte 27."

I hope this helps you!


My current coding is 6F-18-0A-3E-80-25-2A-04-00-08-00-80-31-00-09-00-43-15-20-86-53-4D-8D-F0-64-84-00-00-00-00
I donít know if there is a certain way to code byte 18 like first code byte 18 do it, close everything, and then turn off ignition and wait 2 minutes and then turn on any other bytes that you want? (I read that in a forum)
geramy1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 06:02 PM   #34
Carlosfandango
FIA GT Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT - 2016 MK7 GTi DSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
LED DRL CODING ISSUES

Quote:
Originally Posted by geramy1232 View Post
Hey guys, I havenít had time to keep on messing with the lights but the BCM you had posted is not the one I have. Mine is this one and includes pin 6


I have no idea if this picture is of your actual bcm or not? But in this picture pin 6 is MISSING!! I have to admit though I am a little confused now, I canít find any 087 controllers online that appear to have a pin in #6 T52a location!

Hereís another link I used when fitting my xenons, which may or may not be of help to you,
http://www.vwgolf.net.au/showthread....pgrade-and-AFS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Carlosfandango; 09-28-2018 at 06:34 PM.
Carlosfandango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 06:42 PM   #35
Carlosfandango
FIA GT Champion
 
Carlosfandango's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 MK6 GTI 6MT - 2016 MK7 GTi DSG
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 1,104
LED DRL CODING ISSUES

I have just remembered that you seem to need at least BCM firmware 0575, which is the minimum to run LED xenon's as far as I could make out during my research before install.

I think we can now assume that all the required wiring is in place within your loom, So it is either coding, firmware of the BCM, missing pins of the BCM, (now confused about this one!) although it is possible on this year of gti that the wiring was fitted at factory but an unsuitable BCM was installed, which was the case for the cruise control wiring for 2009/2010, the wires were there but with a standard stalk and coding, where as later models didnít have the wiring fitted unless cruise was specified at build!

Not sure if Iíve already linked this but hereís another post with coding!
https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...ed-drls-coding

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Carlosfandango; 09-29-2018 at 02:53 AM.
Carlosfandango is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 06:22 PM   #36
geramy1232
Oval Newbie
 
geramy1232's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
I have no idea if this picture is of your actual bcm or not? But in this picture pin 6 is MISSING!! I have to admit though I am a little confused now, I canít find any 087 controllers online that appear to have a pin in #6 T52a location!

Hereís another link I used when fitting my xenons, which may or may not be of help to you,
http://www.vwgolf.net.au/showthread....pgrade-and-AFS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Yes the one in this picture is the exact one I have. The one I have does have all the pins including pin 6
geramy1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 06:24 PM   #37
geramy1232
Oval Newbie
 
geramy1232's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlosfandango View Post
I have just remembered that you seem to need at least BCM firmware 0575, which is the minimum to run LED xenon's as far as I could make out during my research before install.

I think we can now assume that all the required wiring is in place within your loom, So it is either coding, firmware of the BCM, missing pins of the BCM, (now confused about this one!) although it is possible on this year of gti that the wiring was fitted at factory but an unsuitable BCM was installed, which was the case for the cruise control wiring for 2009/2010, the wires were there but with a standard stalk and coding, where as later models didnít have the wiring fitted unless cruise was specified at build!

Not sure if Iíve already linked this but hereís another post with coding!
https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...ed-drls-coding

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


It have to say it is coding because the wiring is there and pins as well. So I went ahead and started checking each of the pin in the headlight connector and I have no power on pin 12 which I believe is the one to the DRL. Pin 10 turns on but when I switch the light switch to the on position.
geramy1232 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.