GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2015, 10:13 PM   #43
troutjunkie
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: '12 Golf TDI, '07 Duramax HD
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park City, UT
Posts: 13
Did you change Byte 18 to 21? You have to do this manually by clicking on the highlighted long coding and entering 21. It's usually 00, or 20. Something like that
__________________
2012 4D Golf TDI 3 pedal version, Revo Stage 1, LED Xenon retrofit, Cherry Red LED tails, 18" black motegi 6spokes
troutjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 01:25 AM   #44
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by troutjunkie View Post
Did you change Byte 18 to 21? You have to do this manually by clicking on the highlighted long coding and entering 21. It's usually 00, or 20. Something like that

I had a friend do the coding for me since I don't have a cable. I may meet up next week so should be able to mess with it.

I currently have no bulb out errors. We followed the coding everyone was using for the basic xenon upgrade without leds.

Regardless, adding the wire from 4 to 12 makes sense because there was a pin in slit 4 that lead to nothing before (on the ECS adapter at least)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:21 AM   #45
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
So I know have LEDs without the highline cecm! A couple things to figure out still, they don't come on as DRLs. They only work with the low/high beams. Also, for whatever reason after the new coding my side markers are dimmer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:26 AM   #46
GTIMK6_
FIA GT Newbie
 
GTIMK6_'s Avatar
 
Drives: GTI Wolfsburg '13
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunkel View Post
So I know have LEDs without the highline cecm! A couple things to figure out still, they don't come on as DRLs. They only work with the low/high beams. Also, for whatever reason after the new coding my side markers are dimmer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Woooohhhhoooooo! How did you do it man? Coding? We MUST see pictures or it didn't happen!
GTIMK6_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:36 AM   #47
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTIMK6_ View Post
Woooohhhhoooooo! How did you do it man? Coding? We MUST see pictures or it didn't happen!

I still have some final kinks to work out and then I'll do a full write up on the steps. You can barely tell b/c this was late at night but they are on!
Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1428590160.323349.jpg
Views: 125
Size:  237.3 KB


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:36 AM   #48
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by troutjunkie View Post
Did you change Byte 18 to 21? You have to do this manually by clicking on the highlighted long coding and entering 21. It's usually 00, or 20. Something like that

I just realized we didn't do this maybe that's the reason DRLs aren't on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 11:05 AM   #49
GTIMK6_
FIA GT Newbie
 
GTIMK6_'s Avatar
 
Drives: GTI Wolfsburg '13
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunkel View Post
I just realized we didn't do this maybe that's the reason DRLs aren't on?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This actually could be the reason, what are the drls currently set at?
GTIMK6_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 11:06 AM   #50
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
midline to highline cecm swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTIMK6_ View Post
This actually could be the reason, what are the drls currently set at?

They are set as LEDs actually. I had them as fogs before but we changed that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing

Last edited by Brunkel; 04-09-2015 at 11:43 AM.
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 06:38 PM   #51
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
So I finally got a Rosstech cable and a Winbook to run VCDS on. Going to mess with the coding tonight to see what I can do!
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 12:15 AM   #52
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
midline to highline cecm swap

It was my euroswitch!!!! I never installed the trigger wire before. I installed that tonight and can now get leds without low beams so they can serve as drls. It's not actually set as drls (can still mess more with the coding I think) but they function as them! So right now it runs as leds, side markers, tails, and license plate. I have the option of doing fogs with that too.

You can do this without the highline. It is possible!
Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1430540124.347194.jpg
Views: 149
Size:  226.7 KB


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 03:43 PM   #53
GTIMK6_
FIA GT Newbie
 
GTIMK6_'s Avatar
 
Drives: GTI Wolfsburg '13
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunkel View Post
It was my euroswitch!!!! I never installed the trigger wire before. I installed that tonight and can now get leds without low beams so they can serve as drls. It's not actually set as drls (can still mess more with the coding I think) but they function as them! So right now it runs as leds, side markers, tails, and license plate. I have the option of doing fogs with that too.

You can do this without the highline. It is possible!
Attachment 48550


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Would you please post up a diy on how you managed to modify the harness and the coding?
GTIMK6_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 03:44 PM   #54
Brunkel
Formula 5000 Champion
 
Brunkel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 UGM GTI; 6-speed manual
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTIMK6_ View Post
Would you please post up a diy on how you managed to modify the harness and the coding?

Yep! Plan on doing a new thread on it. Just don't have the time right now but it'll get done!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Build Thread
Hi-Def Detailing
Brunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 03:44 PM   #55
GTIMK6_
FIA GT Newbie
 
GTIMK6_'s Avatar
 
Drives: GTI Wolfsburg '13
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 815
^ Thanks man!
GTIMK6_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 09:48 PM   #56
p4kk0
Autocross Champion
 
p4kk0's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 96
Hey I have been running the same setup for a long time with the Midline too. My LED's dim when I use the euroswitch for city lights. Your LED's do that too or they stay at the same brightness between DRL and city? I hope make question makes sense to you.
__________________
2012 DBP DSG GTI // 50% Tint // OEM LED Cherry Tails // LED HID Retrofit // DEAutoKey LED Interior // Front Black Emblem //Revo Stage 1
p4kk0 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.