GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > GTI & Golf MKVI General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2018, 03:04 PM   #1
digital_mystic
Go Kart Champion
 
digital_mystic's Avatar
 
Drives: bassweight
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 37
DSG Basic Settings Calibration via VAGCOM

Hello,

Just took my car into a shop I usually go to for work and was wondering what the calibration entails. I thought it was a quick VAGCOM deal but they are charging me for the hour.. said that it can take a while and isn't as easy as just checking boxes.

Does that sound right?
__________________
2013 GTI Autobahn - APR Stage 2+
digital_mystic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 03:55 PM   #2
tkelly0727
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: 2010 mk6 gti DSG
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: California
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by digital_mystic View Post
Hello,

Just took my car into a shop I usually go to for work and was wondering what the calibration entails. I thought it was a quick VAGCOM deal but they are charging me for the hour.. said that it can take a while and isn't as easy as just checking boxes.

Does that sound right?



Sorry, but that does not sound right. An hour to do a simple DSG re-calibration? sounds like BS. the Vag-com calibration should only take about 5-8 mins if that. and probably another 10 mins to do the "driving" part of the procedure not entirely needed.

here's a link to ross tech page where they have the procedures: http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index...arbox_(DSG/02E)
tkelly0727 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:19 PM   #3
FocalPoint
Formula 3000 Champion
 
FocalPoint's Avatar
 
Drives: MKV GTI/MKVI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 4,768
Takes me 5mins in a driveway. Recalibration is literally go through diagnostic routines in vagcom and resetting stored values. That said, if you're having issues with your DSG, resetting values is a temporary fix.
__________________
FocalPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.