GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 09:07 AM   #1
flight1us
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 VW GTI
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 111
Emissions Readiness

I've almost given up, I am trying to get my car to pass NYS inspection and to no avail it won't pass. could an exhaust leak cause readiness failure i.e vband clamp gasket ?


CCTA mk6 GTi btw.
__________________
CW '11 GTI DSG/APR Stage 2 ECU /APR Stage? TCU/Unitronic CAI/ HPA K04/18" Detroits/H&R Coilover kit
flight1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 09:31 AM   #2
smanierre
Formula 5000 Driver
 
smanierre's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 6-SPD Shadow Blue
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: CT
Posts: 1,361
Codes? Also if you are ever under your car and near the rear O2 sensor, can you send a picture of the car side connector and the color of the wires and where they go

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
<<<Build Thread>>> <<<IG>>> Major Parts: 3" 42DD TBE | IE Intake | Stratified E30 Tune | IE Intercooler | Indy 500s 255/35/18 | Motegi Racing MR-133 18x8.5et45 | SB Stage 2 Endurance | Peloquin LSD | Turbosmart Plumb Back DV | Unitronic DV Relocate | Red Top Coils | VWR Engine/Transmission Mounts | HPA 75a Puck | YCW Aeris Series Coilovers
smanierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 09:47 AM   #3
jhstl
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: 2012 MK6 GTI 2 door
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 67
May be a dumb question but are you changing the ECU back to the stock map or are you leaving the APR tune on?

The APR map disables the readiness monitor for the secondary O2 sensor.
jhstl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:41 AM   #4
flight1us
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 VW GTI
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhstl View Post
May be a dumb question but are you changing the ECU back to the stock map or are you leaving the APR tune on?

The APR map disables the readiness monitor for the secondary O2 sensor.
Im stuck on Stage 2 dont really have the option of going back to stock
__________________
CW '11 GTI DSG/APR Stage 2 ECU /APR Stage? TCU/Unitronic CAI/ HPA K04/18" Detroits/H&R Coilover kit
flight1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:47 AM   #5
flight1us
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 VW GTI
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhstl View Post
May be a dumb question but are you changing the ECU back to the stock map or are you leaving the APR tune on?

The APR map disables the readiness monitor for the secondary O2 sensor.
Not a dumb question at all, i did not even think of that.
__________________
CW '11 GTI DSG/APR Stage 2 ECU /APR Stage? TCU/Unitronic CAI/ HPA K04/18" Detroits/H&R Coilover kit
flight1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:50 AM   #6
smanierre
Formula 5000 Driver
 
smanierre's Avatar
 
Drives: MK6 GTI 6-SPD Shadow Blue
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: CT
Posts: 1,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight1us View Post
Not a dumb question at all, i did not even think of that.
That would be my guess as to why it won't set readiness. Can you force it with vagcom?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
<<<Build Thread>>> <<<IG>>> Major Parts: 3" 42DD TBE | IE Intake | Stratified E30 Tune | IE Intercooler | Indy 500s 255/35/18 | Motegi Racing MR-133 18x8.5et45 | SB Stage 2 Endurance | Peloquin LSD | Turbosmart Plumb Back DV | Unitronic DV Relocate | Red Top Coils | VWR Engine/Transmission Mounts | HPA 75a Puck | YCW Aeris Series Coilovers
smanierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:10 AM   #7
flight1us
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 VW GTI
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 111
any links on how to set readiness?
__________________
CW '11 GTI DSG/APR Stage 2 ECU /APR Stage? TCU/Unitronic CAI/ HPA K04/18" Detroits/H&R Coilover kit
flight1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:21 AM   #8
jhstl
Drag Racing Champion
 
Drives: 2012 MK6 GTI 2 door
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight1us View Post
any links on how to set readiness?
I could be wrong but I don't think you can change this on the APR stage 2 file.

I bought my GTI with an APR tune on it and couldn't pass emissions either and I had to take it to the APR dealer, flash back to stock and install an O2 sensor spacer. They drove it around for 25 miles, passed emissions, and re-flashed it back to stage 2. It ran me a few hundred dollars. I ended up having them add ECMS map switching and loading the stock map onto one of the slots so I could switch back if I ever needed to.

If there is a way to enable the secondary O2 sensor readiness via vagcom or ODBeleven i would be very interested in how.
jhstl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:02 PM   #9
2012TP
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
2012TP's Avatar
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: LI.NY
Posts: 405
You’re not going to pass NYS inspection with APR Stage 2 software active. There will be too many monitors disabled/not ready.

A stock non-test pipe map has to be loaded for all to read properly via OBD2. Then you’ll have to deal with spacers, etc. to suppress the CEL
__________________
=====(\x/)=====
2012TP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 02:20 PM   #10
flight1us
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 VW GTI
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NYC
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012TP View Post
You’re not going to pass NYS inspection with APR Stage 2 software active. There will be too many monitors disabled/not ready.

A stock non-test pipe map has to be loaded for all to read properly via OBD2. Then you’ll have to deal with spacers, etc. to suppress the CEL
Why would i have to use spacers if the test pipe file is being loaded?
__________________
CW '11 GTI DSG/APR Stage 2 ECU /APR Stage? TCU/Unitronic CAI/ HPA K04/18" Detroits/H&R Coilover kit
flight1us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 02:23 PM   #11
torga
FIA GT Champion
 
torga's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 GTI - 6MT - 2dr
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: ABQ, NM
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight1us View Post
Why would i have to use spacers if the test pipe file is being loaded?
I'm not sure how to explain it accurately from a fluid dynamics perspective, but using a spacer introduces some turbulence for the O2 sensor and if I understand correctly, the turbulence is basically tricking it into reading that everything is all right.
__________________
Build Thread
Major/Notable Mods ||| Engine/Drivetrain: GIAC Stage 2, APR Cast DP, Beluga CBE, BSH mounts, BSH CAI, DG Sigma 6 SSK, Fluidampr Pulley, GFB DV+, Neuspeed charge pipes Suspension: FK Streetline-X coils, H&R rear ARB, Rotiform RSE Exterior/Interior: R20 Euro tails, BFI knob, RCD330+ ||| full mod list
torga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 03:42 PM   #12
Cadubya
“DUBYA” VP COUCH MOD
 
Cadubya's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BT VP COUCH MACHINE
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: DALLAS
Posts: 10,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight1us View Post
Why would i have to use spacers if the test pipe file is being loaded?

Two options. Swap back to stock downpipe or...


You need the rear O2 sensor to be enabled. The rear O2 sensor monitors catalyst efficiency. All aftermarket downpipes have a free flowing catalytic converter or non at all. This inevitably makes the air flowing by the rear O2 sensor less clean. When more pollutants are detected by the rear O2 sensor it triggers a trouble code and illuminates the check engine light. Tuners disable the rear O2 sensor on all tunes meant for aftermarket downpipes to prevent the check engine light. While there is no check engine light the, rear O2 sensor is a state of NON-readiness. Depending on the state, you are only allowed to have a certain amount of readiness monitors in a non ready state. So, in order to get around this you need to flash to a tune that enables the rear O2 sensor. This is usually stage 1 or stock. If this option is t available to you, you need to contact your tuner, or go to the dealer and have them flash you back to stock. Once you have been flashed to stock you then need to use an O2 spacer for the rear O2 sensor. This effective pulls the tip of the sensor out of the downpipe further away from the exhaust stream. This fools the sensor into thinking it’s within ecu’s efficiency parameters. So, now your car has no check engine light and rear O2 readiness monitor is ready while still running the aftermarket downpipe.
__________________
CLICK HERE FOR MY BUILD
Cadubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:05 PM   #13
Jiffyjetta
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: Mk6 GLI, Mk7 Sportwagen.
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Oregon
Posts: 90
Get a tuner that forces all readiness monitors to pass.
Jiffyjetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 12:00 AM   #14
GIACUser
FIA GT Champion
 
GIACUser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 MKV EFR7163
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Riverside
Posts: 965
Just an FYI. Readiness cannot be "forced". I believe APR disables the last 02 sensor with stage 2 tune to keep CEL from showing up. That disabled 02 sensor will show up as bad during readiness and there is no changing that, you will need a different tune.

As mentioned you will need a tune that does not disable the 02 sensor, stock tune is an option or switching to most other brands of tunes will do as well.

With no cat or a hi-flow cat in place you will fail. The test is looking for a significant difference between first 02 and second 02 to confirm the catalytic converter is working and it has cleaned up the unburnt fuel. You can fool the system by pulling the last 02 out of the main air stream by using a spacer. This allows a lot less of the exhausting air to pass around the sensor making the system think the exhaust has been cleaned up.

The fool proof option is to put OEM downpipe and 02 sensors on and run a stock tune.
GIACUser is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.