GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 12:35 PM   #1
afctom
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: MK6 1.4 TSI
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 199
RNS510 install - PLEASE HELP

Hi, my RNS510 arrived today, and after paying just shy of 1k for it I refuse to pay a company who have quoted me 120 to FIT it... when it's literally plugging 3 wires into the back.

However, I have come across a problem when I took my old headunit out.

These are the only wires in the car -



The big harness thing fits into the back of the RNS fine, however it's what I assume is the power source that is the problem. It is a single little block and its far too small and wont fit the two holes on the back of the RNS...



Any help is appreciated!! cheers
afctom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 01:22 PM   #2
afctom
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives: MK6 1.4 TSI
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: London
Posts: 199
Right, discovered the issue.

Stock radio



Only has one white connector, the RNS510 has two? Any solutions!?
afctom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:22 PM   #3
York_GTi
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: CSG 2012 MK6 Golf GTD DSG 3 Door
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 32
The connectors are for the aerial mate, not the power. The power comes from the bigger block that goes into the back of the RNS. On the single wire that is coming from your car with the (white with a blue end), you need to remove the blue part and that will connect to the back of the RNS. Weirdly, you should have a double white socket with two wires going to it, are there any other wires behind the dash? I'm not sure if one aerial wire would work, where two are the norm
__________________
Carbon Steel Grey 3 door 2012 Golf MK6 GTD DSG / RNS510 / Leather / Carbon Re-Map

VCDS Hex-USB +CAN (North Yorkshire)
York_GTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 06:26 PM   #4
York_GTi
Go Kart Newbie
 
Drives: CSG 2012 MK6 Golf GTD DSG 3 Door
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 32
Looks like you may have had an aftermarket head unit fitted, guessing by the surround in the dash and the random red wire coming out? Maybe someone has messed with the wiring before?
__________________
Carbon Steel Grey 3 door 2012 Golf MK6 GTD DSG / RNS510 / Leather / Carbon Re-Map

VCDS Hex-USB +CAN (North Yorkshire)
York_GTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:22 PM   #5
BarryT82
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2012 Tiguan & 2013 Passat
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,019
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1to2-Radio-A...item4acb9cff18

Or
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Radio-Antenn...a634f2&vxp=mtr
BarryT82 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.