GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2018, 08:23 PM   #29
KFahey
Oval Newbie
 
KFahey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 MK6 GTI-MT
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 138
By intake track do you mean where the turbo outlet assembly is ....where a silicone hose attaches the turbo to your turbo outlet pipe?

Out of curiosity why did you get rid of the DV+? That's what I'm running with no issues

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
__________________
APR K04 V3.1 | Unitronic CAI | CTS TBE | NewSouth Boost Gauge | R8 Coils | RSR Clutch Kit | OEM LED Tails | VWR Springs | KONI Yellow Front Struts | GFB DV+ | CTS Intercooler | 034 Street Mounts
KFahey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 04:44 PM   #30
Yadadameans
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Yadadameans's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 544
So I just installed my HPA k04 two days ago and HPA didn't include one of the vband clamps I needed lol

But luckily I had another k04 to salvage parts from and I changed out the WGA since the HPA one is weak

Now I'm just waiting for Stratified to give me a base map time so I can boost. Currently running their stage 2 tune and I cannot push it because it overboosts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yadadameans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 04:59 PM   #31
KFahey
Oval Newbie
 
KFahey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 MK6 GTI-MT
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yadadameans View Post
So I just installed my HPA k04 two days ago and HPA didn't include one of the vband clamps I needed lol

But luckily I had another k04 to salvage parts from and I changed out the WGA since the HPA one is weak

Now I'm just waiting for Stratified to give me a base map time so I can boost. Currently running their stage 2 tune and I cannot push it because it overboosts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would immedietely boost leak test after the install and check for leaks at that clamp assembly, keep me posted!

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
__________________
APR K04 V3.1 | Unitronic CAI | CTS TBE | NewSouth Boost Gauge | R8 Coils | RSR Clutch Kit | OEM LED Tails | VWR Springs | KONI Yellow Front Struts | GFB DV+ | CTS Intercooler | 034 Street Mounts
KFahey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 05:03 PM   #32
danman1280
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 MK GTI K04
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yadadameans View Post
So I just installed my HPA k04 two days ago and HPA didn't include one of the vband clamps I needed lol

But luckily I had another k04 to salvage parts from and I changed out the WGA since the HPA one is weak

Now I'm just waiting for Stratified to give me a base map time so I can boost. Currently running their stage 2 tune and I cannot push it because it overboosts

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey man, I'd be curious what your numbers are with the new WG. I've been on the fence on getting a forge WG since this seems to be the ongoing trend with this turbo. I currently am running the HPA K04 with the stock WG and it's seems to be a little inconsistent.

Thanks.
danman1280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:57 PM   #33
Jerseynoob
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 Jetta Wolfsburg
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by KFahey View Post
By intake track do you mean where the turbo outlet assembly is ....where a silicone hose attaches the turbo to your turbo outlet pipe?
The whole God Damn intake from filter to throttle bottle.

But yes, there was a leak where the turbo outlet pipe mets the turbo.
Jerseynoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:59 PM   #34
Jerseynoob
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 Jetta Wolfsburg
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by KFahey View Post
Out of curiosity why did you get rid of the DV+? That's what I'm running with no issues
Boost leaks.

That 'O' ring that the DV+ comes with is real skimpy, and that's where I was having a pretty big leak as well. I relocated my DV, so I could see oiliness getting blown out from that point.
Jerseynoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 05:12 AM   #35
Yadadameans
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Yadadameans's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 544
Got my Stratified base map tune. Car is running great now with the tune!
Yadadameans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 10:25 AM   #36
OhioMK6
Oval Champion
 
OhioMK6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CSG GTI - 2DR Manual
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yadadameans View Post
Got my Stratified base map tune. Car is running great now with the tune!
How does K04 feel compared to "Stage 2" Stratified tune? Night and day difference?
__________________
2012 CSG Manual
Borg Warner K04 | Stratified Protune | SouthBend Stage 2 Daily Clutch | ECS Tuning Intake - SPM Downpipe - Corsa RSC Catback - GFB DV+ - Audi R8 Coils + NGK IX Plugs - Koni Coilovers - 3SDM 0.06 Wheels - Hankook Evo V12 - HAWK HPS 5.0 Pads - ECS Tuning SS Brake Lines - Ziza Golf R Tails - ECS Tuning Street Shield - Eonon GA5153f Android Headunit
OhioMK6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 03:52 PM   #37
redubbed
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: E. Windsor, CT
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by danman1280 View Post
Hey man, I'd be curious what your numbers are with the new WG. I've been on the fence on getting a forge WG since this seems to be the ongoing trend with this turbo. I currently am running the HPA K04 with the stock WG and it's seems to be a little inconsistent.

Thanks.
Curious about this as well. I haven't installed my K04 yet, but after reading about the WG, I'm thinking of upgrading it.

How is the install on such a thing anyhow? Does cracking pressure need to be tested?
redubbed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 05:35 PM   #38
damagi123
Formula 5000 Driver
 
damagi123's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 GTI DSG
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by danman1280 View Post
Hey man, I'd be curious what your numbers are with the new WG. I've been on the fence on getting a forge WG since this seems to be the ongoing trend with this turbo. I currently am running the HPA K04 with the stock WG and it's seems to be a little inconsistent.

Thanks.
now im thinking i need to look into this too. I have an HPA as well
__________________
APR K04 V3.1, APR DSG tune, APR Intake, Uni intercooler, UR Catless Downpipe, CTS Chargepipe & TOP, W.A.L.K, APR 27mm Front and Rear Sways, ECS Dogbone insert, 034 Subframe Collars, Pedalbox throttle controller, 17" Fujins on Conti DW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday
"You're no daisy. No daisy at all."
damagi123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 02:38 PM   #39
Yadadameans
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Yadadameans's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioMK6 View Post
How does K04 feel compared to "Stage 2" Stratified tune? Night and day difference?
Night and day forsure.

Changing out the WG is very easy if it's not on the car. Just a few screws.
Yadadameans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 06:37 PM   #40
redubbed
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: E. Windsor, CT
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yadadameans View Post
Night and day forsure.

Changing out the WG is very easy if it's not on the car. Just a few screws.
So there's no adjustment needed? Pardon the "noob" questions. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, but this is my first turbo VW (all Vr's before) & I'd hate to screw it up.

I'm having a hard time finding any DIY's.

The turbo is still off the car, so that should make it easier.
redubbed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 03:31 PM   #41
redubbed
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2012 GTI
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: E. Windsor, CT
Posts: 84
Back up with this. Which Forge actuator is the one I need? Contacted Forge directly but my request was not answered.

I assume it's this one:
https://www.forgemotorsport.com/Audi...duct--103.html
redubbed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 12:33 AM   #42
Yadadameans
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Yadadameans's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG GTI
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by redubbed View Post
Back up with this. Which Forge actuator is the one I need? Contacted Forge directly but my request was not answered.

I assume it's this one:
https://www.forgemotorsport.com/Audi...duct--103.html
I am not sure since I didn't get a Forge WG. But from the looks of it, that one looks like its correct for the K04
Yadadameans is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.