GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com

Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes

Old 07-10-2017, 12:56 AM   #1
engine1navy
Passed Driver's Ed

Drives: 2011 GTI
Replacing Turbo, need recommendations

I'm new to VWs and new to Turbo cars and imagine my excitement when a few months later I need to replace my Turbo. The car is just under 30,000 miles, I have no idea how the previous owner treated it so I'm a little shocked that it would fail so early. So I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for an aftermarket direct replacement, no additional modifications. Not even sure if anything like that exists, I'm not necessarily looking for more power, I am just looking for something with a high quality build/reliability. Extra power would be nice but not if it is going to cost significantly more. I was quoted $1400 for the new Turbo (not including install) so anything around there or cheaper would be great. Thanks for any help!
engine1navy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 01:28 AM   #2
brobst
Formula 5000 Champion

Drives: CSG mk6 6MT
You can probably buy a used one from here for like 100 dollars

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Superior interior is like 500hp at the wheels doe
brobst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 05:57 AM   #3
FocalPoint
Formula 3000 Champion

Drives: MKV GTI/MKVI GTI
I'd go K04 if you want a bump in power. If you plan to play with this car, do it now, rather than going through the install costs twice.
Old 07-10-2017, 07:02 AM   #4
Laimface
FIA World Rally Car Champion

Drives: '09 Candy White GTi 6MT
Plenty of different K04 kits about from various companies that cost the same as a new stock one!
Old 07-10-2017, 07:11 AM   #5
Corradoluvher
Touring Car Newbie

Drives: 2013 vw gti
Quote: