GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Mods (interior & exterior modifications)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 05:36 PM   #15
EJBGTIVI
Formula 1 Driver
 
EJBGTIVI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 8,628
Great write up- thanks for sharing. Looking forward to doing this in the spring. I miss my auto dim mirror.
EJBGTIVI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:14 AM   #16
snobrdrdan
Formula 1 Driver
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 8,000
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
Awesome writeup!

I wish this car came stock with a dimming mirror.

Quick question though....does it have on/off?
Or is it always on?
__________________
2017 Tiguan
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:48 AM   #17
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
Awesome writeup!

I wish this car came stock with a dimming mirror.

Quick question though....does it have on/off?
Or is it always on?
Thanks!

It does have an on/off switch.
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 05:06 PM   #18
snobrdrdan
Formula 1 Driver
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 8,000
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcritch View Post
Thanks!

It does have an on/off switch.
Nice

Did you ever think about grabbing an OEM one from a different or wrecked VW car? (just wondering)
__________________
2017 Tiguan
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 09:18 PM   #19
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by snobrdrdan View Post
Nice

Did you ever think about grabbing an OEM one from a different or wrecked VW car? (just wondering)
No because the OEM does not have Homelink, it is just auto dimming.
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:52 PM   #20
TREGinginCO
Rally Car Newbie
 
TREGinginCO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 JSW TDI w/DSG & 2006 Touareg
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 269
That is a great write-up... because I can probably use that power lead on the map lights to power my V-1 and I can run a shorter line rather than get anywhere near my A-pillar.
TREGinginCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:02 AM   #21
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by TREGinginCO View Post
That is a great write-up... because I can probably use that power lead on the map lights to power my V-1 and I can run a shorter line rather than get anywhere near my A-pillar.
Yes you can. And there is a company that sells a mounting bracket that fits this mirror perfectly for the V1. Check out www.blendmount.com. Oh, and have you seen the below mirror?

check out www.stealthmirror.com.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stealth mirror.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	5606  
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:21 AM   #22
GenDV138
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2011 CSG 4DR GTI 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 22
Did this today, thanks for the great DIY jb! Trickiest part was getting the wires through the headliner but that wasn't too bad.

GenDV138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:30 AM   #23
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenDV138 View Post
Did this today, thanks for the great DIY jb! Trickiest part was getting the wires through the headliner but that wasn't too bad.

Glad it worked for you. I agree about the headliner. That metal edge was
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 08:15 PM   #24
GB724
Newbie
 
Drives: Candy White 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Western PA
Posts: 3
The blue and red wire is always hot in my car. Anyone else run into this? Even after the map lights go out when the car is off, the wire still has power.

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcritch View Post
The instructions require both hot and switched power wire. However, the map lights in the GTI gain power once a door is opened and retain their power for at least 15 minutes after the engine is shut off. The Homelink unit does not loose its memory, so there is no need for constant power to the Homelink unit. I chose to power both wires with the switched map light wires.

The wire you want is the first/last wire in the blue quick connect. It is red with a blue stripe:
I totally missed this. So after 15 mins or so, it will shut off then?

Last edited by GB724; 01-20-2011 at 08:20 PM.
GB724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 08:54 PM   #25
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB724 View Post
The blue and red wire is always hot in my car. Anyone else run into this? Even after the map lights go out when the car is off, the wire still has power.

EDIT:



I totally missed this. So after 15 mins or so, it will shut off then?
Yes.
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:50 PM   #26
ScottyFerrari
Passed Driver's Ed
 
Drives: 2011 4dr Carbon DSG
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7
Jbcritch: I just did this mod today. With your write up and photos, it was a piece of cake. Thank you.
ScottyFerrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:52 PM   #27
jbcritch
Formula 5000 Champion
 
jbcritch's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CSG MK6 GTI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyFerrari View Post
Jbcritch: I just did this mod today. With your write up and photos, it was a piece of cake. Thank you.
Glad it helped! Enjoy!
__________________
2011 MKVI GTI CSG Autobahn

MY MOD THREAD: http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12631
jbcritch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:53 PM   #28
aeroalex
Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
I previously installed this mirror in my '09 Jetta and ran the wires to the fuse box. I wanted to make things a little easier on my '10 GTI so I gave this install a try and was unsuccessful getting power to the mirror. If you connect both mirror power wires to the same map light power wire (the 2nd connector just a bit further down than the 1st), won't you get a voltage drop? I pulled out my multimeter and found that when the harness was plugged into the mirror and both wires were connected I only saw about 4-6 volts at the connectors. When I unplugged one, the other went back up to 12V. I don't know why I had this issue if several other have done this successfully, though... And I don't have anything skinny enough to test the voltage at the harness, rather than at the connector. So I wanted to try and put one of the other wires on a different 12V source up there, such as power for the bluetooth or sunroof, but wasn't sure which wire was which. Any ideas that I could try?
aeroalex is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.