GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2017, 08:00 PM   #1
ithrashmotors
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ithrashmotors's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk6 gti
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San jose
Posts: 538
Apr high vs low output

Searched but didn't see too many threads on this for dsg. Soooo for all you dsg guys are you running apr low or high out put. When I got my update yesterday I realized I have been running The low output file. Would it be safe to jump to the high out put? Just trying to make sure I won't have any issues with the dsg. My tuner told me I should stay low output until I get a dsg tune. I spoke with apr and was informed I can jump to high output with out a tcu upgrade. Any feed back would be great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
APR stage 1//Carbonio intake//R8 coilpacks//GFB DV+//whiteline RSB 24mm//eibach FSB 26mm//SuperPro control arm bushings//CTS subframe collar kit//Stoptech SS Brakelines// stoptech brake pads//
ithrashmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 08:33 PM   #2
DarianBx3
FIA World Rally Car Newbie
 
DarianBx3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 MK6 GTI DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 442
High output is safe with DSG, the low output file is meant for people with the stock clutch on 6MT.

You won't have any issues with the stock DSG tune. But for what it's worth, it may feel a little weird while it adapts to the added torque. Upgrade ASAP! Hi torque is nuts.
__________________
APR Stage II Build Thread
DarianBx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 08:45 PM   #3
ithrashmotors
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ithrashmotors's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk6 gti
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San jose
Posts: 538
Yea kinda pissed that they put on the low torque file knowing my car is dsg. And then told me I would need a dsg tune for high torque When Apr said it is not needed. Which is why I posted this thread. I couldn't find anything saying People have had slippage on high output with dsg.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
APR stage 1//Carbonio intake//R8 coilpacks//GFB DV+//whiteline RSB 24mm//eibach FSB 26mm//SuperPro control arm bushings//CTS subframe collar kit//Stoptech SS Brakelines// stoptech brake pads//
ithrashmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:34 PM   #4
DSGVW
Formula 3000 Champion
 
DSGVW's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CSG GTI DSG
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 4,234
DSG software not needed for high torque file. Go back and tell them to re flash it, you're missing out on more POWA!!!!
DSGVW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 06:52 AM   #5
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
Low torque file is there for those case with valve float issues or slipping manual.
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 11:43 AM   #6
ithrashmotors
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ithrashmotors's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk6 gti
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San jose
Posts: 538
Thanks for the responses bros


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
APR stage 1//Carbonio intake//R8 coilpacks//GFB DV+//whiteline RSB 24mm//eibach FSB 26mm//SuperPro control arm bushings//CTS subframe collar kit//Stoptech SS Brakelines// stoptech brake pads//
ithrashmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 02:56 PM   #7
ithrashmotors
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
ithrashmotors's Avatar
 
Drives: Mk6 gti
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San jose
Posts: 538
So I spoke to my tuner again and he tells me that dsg tune is needed for the higher output file. I told him him I spoke with Apr about how it is not needed but he stands by his words on how the high tq file will destroy my dsg. Also stated that it is listed on apr website but when I just checked it actually states the opposite. Apr says on their website that a tcu upgrade will not increase ability to hold more torque and that the tcu upgrade is not needed for high tq. So I'm a little confused as to wtf is truth. Have any of you had any issues with the high tq file on stock dsg tune??? I really don't want to shell out 600 bucks when Im happy with the stock dsg tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
APR stage 1//Carbonio intake//R8 coilpacks//GFB DV+//whiteline RSB 24mm//eibach FSB 26mm//SuperPro control arm bushings//CTS subframe collar kit//Stoptech SS Brakelines// stoptech brake pads//
ithrashmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 02:49 AM   #8
snobrdrdan
Formula 1 Driver
 
snobrdrdan's Avatar
 
Drives: a VW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 8,078
Send a message via AIM to snobrdrdan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithrashmotors View Post
Have any of you had any issues with the high tq file on stock dsg tune???
Already been answered:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarianBx3 View Post
High output is safe with DSG
You won't have any issues with the stock DSG tune.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSGVW View Post
DSG software not needed for high torque file.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithrashmotors View Post
I spoke with Apr about how it is not needed
Find a different tuner or something
__________________
2017 Tiguan
snobrdrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 06:58 AM   #9
Laimface
FIA World Rally Car Champion
 
Laimface's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Candy White GTi 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithrashmotors View Post
So I spoke to my tuner again and he tells me that dsg tune is needed for the higher output file. I told him him I spoke with Apr about how it is not needed but he stands by his words on how the high tq file will destroy my dsg. Also stated that it is listed on apr website but when I just checked it actually states the opposite. Apr says on their website that a tcu upgrade will not increase ability to hold more torque and that the tcu upgrade is not needed for high tq. So I'm a little confused as to wtf is truth. Have any of you had any issues with the high tq file on stock dsg tune??? I really don't want to shell out 600 bucks when Im happy with the stock dsg tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Don't give him any of your heard earned cash. I'm sure there are plenty of APR tuners in the USA that are near by
Laimface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 12:42 PM   #10
DSGVW
Formula 3000 Champion
 
DSGVW's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CSG GTI DSG
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 4,234
Apr high output is specifically for DSG and aftermarket 6-mt clutches. Your tuner needs an apr lesson.
DSGVW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 01:13 PM   #11
Speeddemon69
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2012 MK6 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,534
For real go to another tuner. They are trying to hustle you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Speeddemon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 01:35 PM   #12
fuelforfire87
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2013 Volkswagen GTI APR K04
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 89
Is this for the stock turbo? Do they do the same thing if you have k04 tune?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Red MK6 DSG. APR K04 v3.2. APR DSG tune, Cobb turboback exhaust. Eurojet Intercooler, AWE TOP, ECS TB Pipe, ECS Spherical Dogbone mount and Spulen insert(street). ECS Motor and Tranny mounts. MFactory LSD, ECS Catch Can, Neuspeed RSe12 Wheels, Continental ExtremeContact Sport 235/40R18 Tires.
fuelforfire87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 03:22 PM   #13
xHeartcoreboyx
Formula 1 Driver
 
xHeartcoreboyx's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CW 2DR GTI DSG
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Qatar
Posts: 9,646
You absolutely do not NEED a DSG tune to run the high output files.

However, it's very nice to have, but not required at all.

If ever in doubt, contact APR direct.
__________________
SOLD -> MK7 R

xHeartcoreboyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 09:49 AM   #14
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 6,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by ithrashmotors View Post
So I spoke to my tuner again and he tells me that dsg tune is needed for the higher output file. I told him him I spoke with Apr about how it is not needed but he stands by his words on how the high tq file will destroy my dsg. Also stated that it is listed on apr website but when I just checked it actually states the opposite. Apr says on their website that a tcu upgrade will not increase ability to hold more torque and that the tcu upgrade is not needed for high tq. So I'm a little confused as to wtf is truth. Have any of you had any issues with the high tq file on stock dsg tune??? I really don't want to shell out 600 bucks when Im happy with the stock dsg tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Your tuner sounds ill informed. Perhaps he just misread the APR website.. at least that is what i am hoping for, i truly hope he isn't trying to rip you off and force a purchase for something you dont need.

None The less maybe shot APR a email saying that this dealer is saying you have to do this and this which is opposite of what APR says im sure they dont want someone using their reputation as a way to force sales.

But i would find a new tuner for sure and tell your current tuner that he should really call APR and get a education on APR tune requirements.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.