GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2016, 01:47 PM   #43
realcyberbob
Formula 5000 Driver
 
realcyberbob's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Osaka / Houston
Posts: 1,642
Send a message via AIM to realcyberbob
I'd post the "shut up and take my money" meme but you won't' be taking my money this time! Can't wait to get the update!
__________________
2011 CW GTI 6-Speed: APR Stage II, APR Carbonio Intake, Clutch Masters FX350 Clutch Kit, 42nd Draft Designs Downpipe, Magnaflow Catback Exhaust, Forge Twintercooler, BFG DV+, Dieselgeek Short Shifter, ECS Dogbone Mount Insert, StopTech Pads & Slotted Rotors, Tyrolsport Brake Stiffening Kit, Golf R LED Tail Lights, CiM Vent Boost Gauge, RNS-510 Navigation, Uber-Stealth Box & 10" Pioneer Sub, Alpine MRP-M500 Amp, 25th Ann. GTI Golfball Shift Knob, Modshack Low Profile Engine Bay Trim, Hankook V12
realcyberbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 01:58 PM   #44
likkleindian
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: MK VI GTI
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 219
Awwee yeah!! This and DSG tune for me. I was waiting for the update and the TCU to go on sale, now I have both.

Also for they people wondering about the update from VW, trust me if nothing wrong with ECU and you don't live in Cali don't get it!!
likkleindian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 02:05 PM   #45
lilonespaz
Formula 2 Driver
 
lilonespaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Candy White 3-Door GTi DSG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 6,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudolphTheRedNosedGTI View Post
Arin, is the launch control system a spark cut only or does it cut fuel as well? (i.e. can I shoot flames?)
They use the "Clean" Method.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakcard View Post
listen to your gut....And lilonespaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimface View Post
hahaha why am I your signature
Quote:
Originally Posted by damagi123 View Post
just like god intended. he didnt kill off the dinosaurs for their sweet sweet bone juice to have it go getting wasted by eco-obsessed torque thieves.
lilonespaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 02:09 PM   #46
Arin@APR
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,077
You can also set and adjust it without reflashing, so it only takes a few seconds to change.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 02:11 PM   #47
Cryptic1911
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2008.5 GTI TSI
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Willimantic CT
Posts: 1,809
Hey Arin, I know you said the v3.1 didn't get an update, but with the release of this update for the stg1/2 people including the launch control / no lift shift / left foot braking, is it possible to get v3.1 reflashed with just those options added? or is that a whole tune rewrite for you guys to get those included in v3.1?
__________________
2008.5 GTI 2.0 TSI 6MT / APR K04 V3.1, APR IC, CTS 3" turboback, IE cold air intake, R8 coilpacks, PFR7B plugs @.028, GFB DV+, BSH TB pipe, SB Stg2 Endurance clutch, BSH mounts, DG Shortshifter, FFM bracket bushings, Forge big knob, Koni coils, Coolingmist CMGS Meth injection, USRT spacer (DO3 & Snow 100 nozzles), Centric rotors, Stoptech pads, TyrolSport bushings, 19" Miro stp3's
Cryptic1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 02:47 PM   #48
Midknight
Rally Car Newbie
 
Midknight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTI - White
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterkrazzy View Post
The factory update thing totally confuses me. If I haven't done it, do I need to? I like to avoid the vw dealership as much as possible, so tell me I can just go to my apr dealer and get the new apr update without doing this stupid vw update.
Don't have to, and not all cars have the recall for it. I got it done as part of a regular scheduled maintenance...does wipe any tunes though.

You can get the APR update without the VW update...Arin said as much a few posts back...
__________________
This tuning stuff gets addictive huh...
Midknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 02:54 PM   #49
syonxwf
Formula 5000 Champion
 
syonxwf's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 MKVI GTI
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,124
So much smoother already, and I've only had about 30 minutes with it so it hasn't fully relearned. It's also wet out, so I can't really get into it too much, but the couple times I did it feels so smooth and doesn't feel like it's jerking you back in your seat.

I'm really hoping it clears up here this afternoon before I leave to go home so I can get some dry open roads to get some more testing in
__________________
// 2013 CSG GTI 6M // APR K04 v3.1 Low Output // Neuspeed FMIC // IE Intake // Sigma 6 SS // Ed's LED Tails // H&R Ultra Low Coilovers // Eurojet DP // Custom 3" Catback & Vibrant Resonator // Neuspeed Torque Insert // SB S2 Daily Clutch w/SMFW
// 2013 RAM 1500 Quad Cab // Custom 3" Stainless Exhaust // Dual Cherry Bomb Extreme Mufflers // Anzo U-Bar Black Headlights
syonxwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 03:38 PM   #50
Arin@APR
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryptic1911 View Post
Hey Arin, I know you said the v3.1 didn't get an update, but with the release of this update for the stg1/2 people including the launch control / no lift shift / left foot braking, is it possible to get v3.1 reflashed with just those options added? or is that a whole tune rewrite for you guys to get those included in v3.1?
Have your dealer submit a request for your box code and you'll be able to flash NLS and LC at any stage.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 03:41 PM   #51
Cryptic1911
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2008.5 GTI TSI
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Willimantic CT
Posts: 1,809
Awesome! Thanks
__________________
2008.5 GTI 2.0 TSI 6MT / APR K04 V3.1, APR IC, CTS 3" turboback, IE cold air intake, R8 coilpacks, PFR7B plugs @.028, GFB DV+, BSH TB pipe, SB Stg2 Endurance clutch, BSH mounts, DG Shortshifter, FFM bracket bushings, Forge big knob, Koni coils, Coolingmist CMGS Meth injection, USRT spacer (DO3 & Snow 100 nozzles), Centric rotors, Stoptech pads, TyrolSport bushings, 19" Miro stp3's
Cryptic1911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:30 PM   #52
Arin@APR
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,077
No problemo!
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:50 PM   #53
Speeddemon69
Formula 5000 Driver
 
Drives: 2012 MK6 GTI
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arin@APR View Post
You have version 3.1 per your sig, which is the latest and greatest. The Stage 1, 1+ and 2 files were never updated (6 years old or so). They are now updated too.

We need a high torque file too!! Forget the surge lol.

Also is there an updated DSG tune for the K04?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Speeddemon69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:52 PM   #54
Arin@APR
 
Arin@APR's Avatar
 
Drives: B8 S4 & MK5 GTI
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, AL
Posts: 5,077
Yes, all stages. Just confirm with the dealer before driving there. If it's not up, they can request it.
Arin@APR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 05:07 PM   #55
CGorman68
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: '13 Candy White 4dr DSG
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County
Posts: 37
Is there a way to know my boxcode before I drive to my tuner without owning a vagcom?
CGorman68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 05:43 PM   #56
NLeo
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 gti
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 284
Is it still possible to get a stock(Test pipe) file and Non-Test Pipe stage 2 files like I do now. Thats the only way I can pass inspection. Last time I got this done I had to PM you my vin number and you had to get it ready for my dealer.
NLeo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.