GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com

Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Volkswagen GTI / Golf Topics > Member Car Journals

Old 03-13-2018, 03:32 PM   #1
zef
FIA World Rally Car Champion

Drives: 2013 GTI
ASTRID - Track Rat Build

Growing up motorsports has always been in my blood, and it started with watching my older brother race his Evo 8 in local autocross/CART (Connecticut Autocross & Rally Team) events and track days. Once I got my license I got right into it, even though I started out with just an old civic, it was a great car for building foundational driving skills.

Fast forward about 5 years--I graduated college, moved into my own place, and got a decent job that could fund a car project, so in December of '16 I picked up my MK6. It came as just a base 2 door with a DSG and moon roof. I chose the GTI for the same reason that many do - it's easily one of the best dual purpose sports cars you can buy under 15k. I went with the MK6 over the 7 because the MK7 wasn't that much better that it justified spending an extra 10-12k (also note at that time there wasn't a single MK7 that I could find under 23-24k because they were still so new).

My ultimate goal with this car is to participate in the Brock Yates One Lap of America event - but that won't be at least until 2019/2020. This car is still my daily driver so some level of comfort has to be maintained.