GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Mods (interior & exterior modifications)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2019, 10:58 AM   #1
demon342
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 mk6 GTI 2.0T
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 76
Golf R Instrument cluster into a GTI

I have an 11' GTI and found a cheap instrument cluster from a totaled 13' Golf R. I read a thread somewhere saying this is a plug and play conversion but can't find the thread again to confirm no coding is needed. Will I run into any issues just removing my instrument cluster and putting in the Golf R one?
__________________
11' MT6 GTI 4 door sunroof. 150K miles on the clock, mainly stock....for now
demon342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:17 AM   #2
drval85
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 189
Physically plug and play I believe, but it definitely needs coding. Need to change mileage, and something with the Immobilizer.

Vagcom/VCDS cable isnít enough for this type of swap either. Need a more advanced program.
drval85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:31 AM   #3
demon342
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 mk6 GTI 2.0T
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by drval85 View Post
Physically plug and play I believe, but it definitely needs coding. Need to change mileage, and something with the Immobilizer.

Vagcom/VCDS cable isnít enough for this type of swap either. Need a more advanced program.
Something the dealer would have or how would I go about finding a shop to code?

Any damage just plugging it in without coding and just adding the mileage later on?
__________________
11' MT6 GTI 4 door sunroof. 150K miles on the clock, mainly stock....for now
demon342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 12:31 PM   #4
demon342
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 mk6 GTI 2.0T
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 76
Wait I have an idea. Instead of buying a used cluster and having someone code it and worrying they do it wrong if their on a VW specialist blah blah blah, why don't I buy the cluster and take the blue parts from the Golf R cluster into my original GTI cluster? I understand its not just the needles but this might save a lot of time and money running around
__________________
11' MT6 GTI 4 door sunroof. 150K miles on the clock, mainly stock....for now
demon342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 04:07 PM   #5
drval85
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 189
It wonít run if you plug in without coding. The cluster has to be paired with the ECU/keys, otherwise the Immobilizer shuts everything down.

If all you want is blue needles, you can buy loose ones on eBay. Thereís a few LEDs under each needle. If theyíre white, itís a straightforward swap. If the LEDs are red, then the blue needles will look purple. Need to change the LEDs. Pretty easy if youíve ever soldered before. I think theyíre all PLCC-2 LEDs. Watch a few YouTube videos if youíve never done t. I redid my whole interior without experience, same size LEDs.


As for swapping the clusters, user Spacewalker on here can help, but in Europe. Google jimmycbx, but heís in Singapore. On vortex, user BRMTDI can also help.
drval85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 04:48 PM   #6
demon342
Autocross Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 mk6 GTI 2.0T
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by drval85 View Post
It wonít run if you plug in without coding. The cluster has to be paired with the ECU/keys, otherwise the Immobilizer shuts everything down.

If all you want is blue needles, you can buy loose ones on eBay. Thereís a few LEDs under each needle. If theyíre white, itís a straightforward swap. If the LEDs are red, then the blue needles will look purple. Need to change the LEDs. Pretty easy if youíve ever soldered before. I think theyíre all PLCC-2 LEDs. Watch a few YouTube videos if youíve never done t. I redid my whole interior without experience, same size LEDs.


As for swapping the clusters, user Spacewalker on here can help, but in Europe. Google jimmycbx, but heís in Singapore. On vortex, user BRMTDI can also help.

Honestly it seems easier to just swap the cluster and code it. Although I can get the cluster for $75 and code for another x amount of dollars it would be cheaper to just get the needles and LEDs, I have plans on swapping the ambient lights too to blue so this could be good practice. Do you have a link to blue needles?
__________________
11' MT6 GTI 4 door sunroof. 150K miles on the clock, mainly stock....for now
demon342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 05:52 PM   #7
drval85
Touring Car Newbie
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 189
Golf R Instrument cluster into a GTI

Donít see any on eBay now. Search for R Line needles. Aliexpress has, could be knockoffs.

And it would be easier to swap/code, itís not a long process, but you need to find someone who can. Thatís the difficult part. I donít think a VW tech at a dealer can do it. I think they can only work with brand new clusters using VCDS. Most donít even have the software to program used clusters.
drval85 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.