GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > Golf 2.5L Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2017, 04:00 AM   #1
Staver
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2012 MKVI Golf - 2.5L
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 38
Performance By IE - Stage 1 tune - cruise control

Flashed my car with a stage 1 tune from performance by ie. Noticing now my cruise control doesn’t work (nothing happens when I turn on the switch).

Anyone else have this problem with their tunes?

Mark
Staver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 10:05 AM   #2
brobst
Formula 5000 Champion
 
brobst's Avatar
 
Drives: CSG mk6 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,345
Call the shop that did the flash and ask for the file with cc available.
I have had this happen before myself in different files

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________
K04 P&P E30 blend | 356whp/355wtq | Beyond Superior Interior | Brobst's Build
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGTI View Post
Superior interior is like 500hp at the wheels doe
brobst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 11:41 AM   #3
Staver
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2012 MKVI Golf - 2.5L
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobst View Post
Call the shop that did the flash and ask for the file with cc available.
I have had this happen before myself in different files

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Thank you very much for this - I had been in touch with Performance By IE - but it was only the sales department and they assured me that it was 100% on my end and said that I would need to flash the car back to stock before they could do anything.... so it is good to hear that I'm not the only one who has had this problem.

I've pushed back and asked for confirmation as to if Cruise Control was enabled or not in the Stage 1 tune that I used.

I'll keep the thread updated.

Thanks,
Mark
Staver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 01:11 AM   #4
FlowMK6
Touring Car Champion
 
FlowMK6's Avatar
 
Drives: Golf 2.5 6speed MT
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: QC, Canada
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staver View Post
Thank you very much for this - I had been in touch with Performance By IE - but it was only the sales department and they assured me that it was 100% on my end and said that I would need to flash the car back to stock before they could do anything.... so it is good to hear that I'm not the only one who has had this problem.

I've pushed back and asked for confirmation as to if Cruise Control was enabled or not in the Stage 1 tune that I used.

I'll keep the thread updated.

Thanks,
Mark
Have you tried to unplug your battery and wait a few minutes then plug it back ? When I got my UM tune, I couldn't see my rpm and by unplugging the battery, it fixed my issue, might you give it a try
FlowMK6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 11:19 PM   #5
Wascally Wabbit
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: Rabbit Diesel/TDI/2.5L
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 277
Ordered this tune yesterday and will install it when I get it on Saturday. Curious if I will have the same issue.
Wascally Wabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 01:52 AM   #6
MLue1
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 976
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wascally Wabbit View Post
Ordered this tune yesterday and will install it when I get it on Saturday. Curious if I will have the same issue.
Chance are you will be fine, just take your time turn off all accessories including the radio and remember to hook up a battery charger before you start the tune, as both radiator fans will run for a long time, a really good wifi connection with nobody on it is recommended as well.

Good luck
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 03:33 AM   #7
Wascally Wabbit
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: Rabbit Diesel/TDI/2.5L
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 277
Cruise control was good for me after the tune.
Wascally Wabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 09:34 AM   #8
Naffy
Ready to race!
 
Drives: 2012 Golf 2.5
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 20
i haven't had cruise control since stage 1 tune...now on stage 2 and don't have it. Not like i use it anyway. Just an FYI....
__________________
2012 Golf 2.5L 5MT, JOM Blueline Coilovers, Spulen Dogbone Mount Insert, OEM GTI catback-exhaust, Stoptech Street Pads, Integrated Engineering Short Runner Manifold, IE stage 2 tune, Hacked USP Intake,R8 coil packs.
Naffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 12:18 AM   #9
Wascally Wabbit
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: Rabbit Diesel/TDI/2.5L
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 277
I wonder if it got turned off and you can turn it back on wth Vagcom.
Wascally Wabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 12:38 AM   #10
MLue1
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 976
You should have gotten this sorted before you upgraded, the Stage 2 took the settings of Stage 1.
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 07:28 PM   #11
Staver
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2012 MKVI Golf - 2.5L
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLue1 View Post
You should have gotten this sorted before you upgraded, the Stage 2 took the settings of Stage 1.
Bit of and update - people from Integrated Engineering have been working on me - just working through confirming a few more things - looks like the cruise control bits within the ECU got flipped somehow. My dealer changed them for me and I'm confirming with Integrated Engineering that it didn't do anything to the Tune.

Wish I could do the Stage 2 Tune, but since I've got an automatic trans, I won't see any of the gain.

Mark
Staver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 08:55 PM   #12
Wascally Wabbit
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: Rabbit Diesel/TDI/2.5L
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 277
Personally, after going from stage 1 to the IE intake manifold and stage 2 I am on the fence with the stage 2 upgrade. For a daily driver I think I liked stage 1 better. Stage 2 brought back some of the touchy throttle issues stage 1 fixed (I am having rpm hang again at low rpm only though) and the loss of low end torque really is noticeable. Long story short don't be too bummed. Stage 1 is still a pretty nice upgrade and definitely the best bang for the buck.

Last edited by Wascally Wabbit; 04-21-2018 at 09:20 PM.
Wascally Wabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 12:48 PM   #13
Wascally Wabbit
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: Rabbit Diesel/TDI/2.5L
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 277
Hey. Guess what I lost today. You guessed it cruise control. Got a big fat error with the cruise control symbol and a ! No more cruise control. I immediately thought of this thread and just had to laugh. Turned the car off and restarted no dice. Did it again and cruise control on again. Last night had a similar issue with a headlight out error. No lights out anywhere. Turned the car off and on still there. Did it agajn gone. Is there something with turning the car off and on twice to clear a fault or something?
Wascally Wabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 10:35 PM   #14
MLue1
FIA GT Champion
 
Drives: 2010 Golf 2.5 CW 5sp / 2009 Tiguan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: ON your tail with my slow a$$ 2.5
Posts: 976
Good observation, maybe you found a "bug" in the IE Tune.
MLue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.