GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > In Car Entertainment, Electronics, Navigation, Phone (Audio / Video / Electronics / Etc..)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2017, 11:24 PM   #1
darkGTI
Touring Car Champion
 
Drives: VW GTI MK6
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: GSE NJ
Posts: 236
"Please check tires" light always on

So just recently I got this light that says "please check tires", and it's always on. I've tried putting more air, but all wheels are at 38 PSI, all have TPMS, and all those TPMS working fine. I'm out of solutions, any ideas?
__________________
APR Stage 2|Unitronic Custom Intake|R8 Redtops|HPA SS|SPULEN Coilovers|SPM 3'' CBE|AWE Downpipe |034Motosports CatchCan|Unibrace XB|Unibrace UB|GFB DV+|Neuspeed TOP|BSH TBP|Godspeed IC|HSTuning RSR clutch|Wavetrac LSD |Fluidampr Crank Pulley|Polar FIS|PTP Turbo Blanket|H&R Sway Bar 26mm front sway bar|034Motosports 25.4mm rear sway bar|TyrolSport Front and Rear Deadset|NSQBBK|SuperPro
darkGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:32 PM   #2
GtiJase
Go Kart Champion
 
Drives: 2012 golf gti
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkGTI View Post
So just recently I got this light that says "please check tires", and it's always on. I've tried putting more air, but all wheels are at 38 PSI, all have TPMS, and all those TPMS working fine. I'm out of solutions, any ideas?
You need to reset them.

Try this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN4xEXtdx5M
GtiJase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 08:04 AM   #3
notovicrious
Formula 5000 Driver
 
notovicrious's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 GTi 2.0T
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by GtiJase View Post
You need to reset them.

Try this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN4xEXtdx5M


I have this button but I know some models donít, like the 2010 I believe. If you donít have the button maybe disconnect battery for 2 minutes?
notovicrious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 09:53 AM   #4
nvturbo
Formula 2 Driver
 
nvturbo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 VW VERSA hatchback
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,378
If you aren't able to reset the code, at least one of the sensors is bad.
__________________
....used to own a MK6 GTI
nvturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 11:19 AM   #5
Orient Express
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2010 Mk6 GTI
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 260
One possible clue

If you have a 2010 car and recently disconnected your battery, then the TPMS system lost it's settings, and is back to its default. You will need to use a VAG-COM to re-input the correct values. The other possible cause is that you have a bad TPMS sensor in one of the tires.
Orient Express is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 03:30 PM   #6
zrickety
Formula 2 Driver
 
zrickety's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 GTI CSG DSG K04 4DR 142k+
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA 31015
Posts: 5,069
The TPMS batteries do die. As others have said, it could be a bad one but if you have access to VCDS you can check them that way. You can also turn the TPMS off completely, that's what I did. I have aftermarket wheels and I check pressures regularly anyway.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rs999 View Post
He's a real straight shooter, no monkey business, and the wheel swap at the Kohl's parking lot was quick and easy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTI_likeurmom View Post
Well i did use a breaker bar to snug up that nut instead of a torque wrench.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreasyGinzo View Post
my subframe has been out twice without replacing any bolts and I don't have subframe clunks and my world hasn't ended and my car hasn't blown up.
zrickety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 11:58 AM   #7
lukesGTI
Autocross Newbie
 
lukesGTI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI 6spd Manual Black 2DR
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 11581 www.lukekaminski.com http://luxgti.blogspot.com/
Posts: 85
The culprit
lukesGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.