GOLFMK8
GOLFMK7
GOLFMK6
GOLFMKV
VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com



Go Back   VW GTI MKVI Forum / VW Golf R Forum / VW Golf MKVI Forum / VW GTI Forum - Golfmk6.com > Technical Topics > GTI 2.0T Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Tunes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2018, 10:07 PM   #1
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Stage 2 died at light

Strange things, driving car moderately stop at light. Go to take off realize no rpm and battery light. I tow it home and try to crank it starts right up. I have apr 2 , new tensioner and chain. Its a 2011 with 120k miles. I took it to my friend at the dealership( cel never came on) and they hooked it to pc ran log. Told me it went into limp mode because it was revved to 7500 rpm! I said no way!!! It runs solid with the exception of oil pressure light and a gnarly whine that wasnt present before. Tech told me the loud whine is the turbo dying, but why oil light?
He told me the pressure was fine but the light keeps beeping. I grounded the sensor wire as i have been driving 2 days and its fine it seems. Any advice? HALP!!!!
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 10:23 PM   #2
GroceryGTIer
Rally Car Newbie
 
Drives: 2013 black Wolfsburg
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Tri-state
Posts: 316
The turbo dying? Lol
GroceryGTIer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 11:10 PM   #3
Lazer 100
Go Kart Newbie
 
Lazer 100's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
My stage II went into limp mode sometimes a while back, usually under acceleration though. There is a wiring harness in front of the intake manifold/throttle body and the wires leading to it are too short, so when the engine moves it shorts goes into limp mode. It was covered under a service bulletin for the mk v's, but a lot of mk vi's have he same issue. When I took it to the dealership instead of replacing the harness, Volkswagen wanted dealerships to modify whats there, which probably took twice as long, and they wanted to charge me $800 for it (cheap asses). My service tech was cool enough to pretty much give me a script for when I called vagusa, and after after some rather passive aggressive phone calls, I ended up only paying half. Still sucked though.

Here's a link to the Mk V TSB...

http://www.golfmkv.com/forums/attach...5&d=1304102965
Lazer 100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 01:20 AM   #4
Bheit
Drag Race Newbie
 
Drives: 12 GTI Autobahn
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Winston Salem Nc
Posts: 45
After my engine rebuild I got the oil pressure light that kept coming on at idle. The shop replaced the sensor and it didnt help, then they did the above and the light hasnt been on since.
Bheit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 09:18 AM   #5
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Thanks for reply guys. I have to drive the car for work today as i have no choice. I grounded the wire so i dont have to hear it go off all day..
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 02:39 PM   #6
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Ok, i checked the oil pressure and its extremely low at idle and rev. You can hear it starving when driving. Guess first thing is pull pan and check tube.? About to do that..then if tube isnt gunked i assume throw new oil pump in there..?
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 03:54 PM   #7
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 03:56 PM   #8
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Ok, so there are some alum shavings and a magnetic chunk in the oil pan...an ideas?? Wtf maybe previous owner put magnet in there. Car drives fine minus oil pressure. Clean the shit out clean pick up tube carry on?HALP!!
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:34 PM   #9
GreyGti1990
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 816
I'm no professional but I would say thats A LOT of metal shavings lol.

Did the guy check the cam bridge screen to see if that was blown out when they did the tensioner/chains?
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:43 PM   #10
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
Dunno, but i will ask..
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:47 PM   #11
GreyGti1990
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 816
I heard that the cam bridge screen can blow out (common problem from what I hear) and if you can't find the screen it can get stuck in places and prevent oil from moving around properly.

May not be the case but I heard oil starvation and thats the first thing I thought of.
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:48 PM   #12
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
My buddy ran it and there was a "soft" code for cam position..
Car still runs fine, mine bottled...i just checked he said they always do cam bridge screen
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:50 PM   #13
GreyGti1990
FIA GT Newbie
 
Drives: 2011 Gti 4-door
Join Date: May 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 816
yea man, you got me... I wouldn't know what else to check. Maybe someone more knowledgeable will chime in soon.
__________________
2011 4-door CSG 6-speed GTi - Sigma Six, Boost gauge, AWE TOP/CTS Throttle, APR Carbonio, Revo 2, GFB DV+,SB st3 Daily(485ft lbs), VWR FSB, DG Springs, WALK, Collar Kit, Fluidampr, APR downpipe, 225/45/17 PSS, Sparco Assetto Gara, Stoptech slotted rotors/pads, Uni Intercooler, BFI Knob, USP SS lines, ATE fluid, Beluga Cat-back, LED Tails, New Tensioner.
Soon to Come: Tints, R Bumper, Headlights, Pendulum Mount, Rear sway
GreyGti1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 05:38 PM   #14
Allchokedup
Autocross Champion
 
Drives: 2011 gti stage 2 /stg2 sb daily
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dallas
Posts: 115
I cleaned everything up real spiffy. Oil tube pan ect..going to reassemble
Allchokedup is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.